Premier's Council on the Status of Disabled Persons

SENSORY MOTOR INSTRUCTIONAL LEADERSHIP EXPERIENCE (SMILE)

Marie-Eve Laforest
Université de Moncton
Moncton Campus
Moncton, NB E1A 3E9
Telephone : (506) 858-4463
Fax : (506) 858-4017
E-mail : marie-eve.laforest@umoncton.ca

A unique community service program offered for children aged 5 to 13 years with special needs. The volunteers are students from the School of Nursing & School of Kinesiology and Recreation, at the Université de Moncton.

The program seeks to improve the "total development" of children with special needs by enhancing vital physical and motor skills and patterns.  In addition, the program stresses the improvement of self-esteem by strengthening the emotional-social aspects of a child's personality through success at play. To achieve the goals of each child's individual educational plan, experiences include water orientation for all children and physical activities in the gymnasium.

The program includes 10 2-hour weekly sessions, starting in January and finishing in April. Annual registration takes place in November through the department of Recreation, Parks & Culture (City Hall).  Services are available in English and French.


Contact Us

Conseil du Premier ministre sur la condition
des personnes handicapées

SENSORY, MOTOR, INSTRUCTIONAL, LEADERSHIP, EXPÉRIENCE (SMILE)

Marie-Eve Laforest
Université de Moncton
Campus de Moncton
Moncton (NB) E1A 3E9
Téléphone : (506) 858-4463
Télécopieur : (506) 858-4017
Courriel : marie-eve.laforest@umoncton.ca

Un programme communautaire unique proposé aux enfants âgés entre 5 et 13 ans qui ont des besoins exceptionnels. Les moniteurs sont des étudiants de l’École de sciences infirmières et de l’École de kinésiologie et de récréologie de l'Université de Moncton motivés à travailler dans ce programme.

Le programme a pour but d'améliorer l'épanouissement des enfants à besoins exceptionnels en mettant en valeur leurs habiletés et leurs tendances tant sur le plan physique que moteur. De plus, on met l'accent sur le renforcement de l'estime de soi en développant les aspects socio-affectifs de la personnalité d'un enfant par le biais du jeu. Pour atteindre les buts du plan éducatif propre à chaque enfant, les expériences comprennent des activités aquatiques pour tous les enfants ainsi que des activités dans le gymnasium.

Le programme comprend 10 sessions de 2 heures et se déroule du mois de janvier au mois d’avril. L’inscription ce fait au mois de novembre de chaque année, au service Loisirs, Parcs, Tourisme et Culture de la Ville de Moncton. Services sont offerts en français et en anglais.

Pour nous joindre