Agriculture, Pêche et Aquaculture
 
Department of Agriculture, Aquaculture and Fisheries
New Brunswick's Provincial Flower:  The  Violet  (Viola  cucullata) New Brunswick's Provincial Bird:  The  Chickadee  (Parus  atricapillus)
  Organic production




Organic production is a system whose ultimate goal is the preservation of the environment and the production of healthy and safe foods. Practitioners follow specific growing, handling and processing standards from the soil to the consumer's table leading to the production of "certified" organic products.

The key objectives of this production system are the preservation of soil life, the sustenance of soil humus, the protection of ground water, the elimination of synthetic or "chemical" fertilizers and synthetic pesticides from the food supply, and maintaining the health and economic welfare of farmers. Not only does this system prohibit the use of highly soluble fertilizers, "chemical" fertilizers and synthetic pesticides but it also prohibits the use of synthetically compounded hormones, growth regulators, antibiotics, irradiation as a food preservation technique and genetically modified organisms (GMO). There are also very strict regulations on the use of manure and compost.

In New Brunswick, there are some certification bodies that ensure organic produce and processed foods are grown and processed according to organic standards. These organizations will permit the product to be labeled "Certified Organic" when appropriate procedures are followed. Independent inspectors are also involved to verify the integrity of the organic production system. Growers participate in audit trails that track the inputs, raw materials and procedures used in the growing and processing of certified products.

Certification agencies active in NB:

OCIA-NB: Organic Crop Improvement Association - New Brunswick Chapter
Contact : Susan Tyler
Address : 2002 Cedar Camp Rd., South Branch NB, E4E 5E7
Phone: (506) 433-3935
Fax: (506) 432-9435
Web: http://www.ocia.org/
Courriel: ocianb@nbnet.nb.ca

Atlantic Certified Organic Co-operative Ltd.
Contact: Heather Mackenzie
Address: 200 Harmony Road, Salmon River, NS, B6L 3P6
Tel.: 1-888-375-9190
Fax: 902-897-4247
Web: http://www.atlanticcertifiedorganic.ca
Email: aco@ns.aliantzinc.ca

Ecocert Canada
Contact: France Gravel
Address: Lévis, Québec
Tel: (418) 838-6941
Web: http://www.garantiebioecocert.qc.ca/eng/index_eng.html
Email: INFO@ecocertcanada.com

OCPP/Pro-Cert Canada Inc.
Eastern Office
Contact: Dave Lockman
Address: 2311 Elm Tree Road, P.O.Box 74, Cambray, ON KOM 1E0
Tel.: (705) 374-5602
Fax: (705) 374-5604
Web: http://www.ocpro.ca/
Email: ocpp@lindsaycomp.on.ca


On June 30, 2009, the Federal Government implemented the Organic Products Regulations. These regulations have a direct impact on the Canadian organic certification system. Canadian organic producers and processors that are involved with inter-provincial and export/import trade must comply with the Regulations and consequently must meet the Canadian Organic Standards.

The objectives of the Organic Products Regulations are to facilitate international market access; provide protection to consumers against deceptive and misleading labelling practices through a uniform approach to organic product certification and labelling; and support the further development of the domestic market. These regulations also make provision for a national label "Canada Organic" which can be used by certified organic operators who meet the Regulations. The Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) is responsible for monitoring and enforcing the Regulations. Furthermore, Canada and the United States have reached an equivalency agreement which will facilitate organic product trade between the two countries. The Canadian Organic Products Regulations are available at : http://www.gazette.gc.ca/rp-pr/p2/2009/2009-06-24/html/sor-dors176-eng.html

The Canadian General Standards Board (CGSB), with the collaboration of many organic industry stakeholders, has developed the Canadian Organic Standards. The Standards are comprised of two documents: the General Principles and Management Standards (CAN/CGSB-32.310-2006), and the Permitted Substance Lists (CAN/CGSB-32.311-2006). The Standards are revised regularly and can be found on the CGSB website at: http://www.tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca/ongc-cgsb/programme-program/norms-standards/internet/bio-org/index-eng.html

The New Brunswick Department of Agriculture and Aquaculture has an organic specialist on staff. This individual's responsibilities range from providing support to the existing industry, to facilitating growth and identifying new opportunities. This specialist will also provide technical advice to producers who plan to initiate a transition from conventional to organic farming.

Useful Websites

  • Atlantic Canadian Organic Regional Network(http://www.acornorganic.org)
  • Organic Agriculture Centre of Canada, Truro, NS (http://www.organicagcentre.ca)
  • Canadian Organic Growers (http://www.cog.ca/)
  • Agri-Réseau / Agriculture biologique du Québec: http://www.agrireseau.qc.ca/agriculturebiologique/  (French only)

  • Agriculture, Aquaculture and Fisheries
    E-mail | Contacts | Disclaimer | Privacy Statement

Agriculture, Pêche et Aquaculture
 
Ministère de l'Agriculture, l'Aquaculture et des Pêches
New Brunswick's Provincial Flower:  The  Violet  (Viola  cucullata) New Brunswick's Provincial Bird:  The  Chickadee  (Parus  atricapillus)
  Agriculture biologique




L'agriculture biologique est un système de production dont le but ultime est la préservation de l'environnement et la production d'aliments sains et sécuritaires. Les praticiens doivent suivre des normes spécifiques de production, de manutention et de transformation du sol jusqu'à la table des consommateurs, menant à la production de produits " certifiés " biologiques.

Les objectifs principaux de ce mode de production sont la préservation de la vie du sol, la gestion saine de l'humus du sol, la protection des eaux souterraines, l'élimination des engrais chimiques de synthèse et des pesticides de synthèse de notre régime alimentaire tout en permettant de maintenir la santé et le mieux-être économique des agriculteurs. Non seulement ce système interdit l'utilisation de fertilisants hautement solubles et d'engrais "chimiques" et pesticides de synthèse, mais également d'hormones, de régulateurs de croissance, l' antibiotiques, de procédés d'irradiation pour la conservation des aliments, et l'organismes génétiquement modifiés (OGM). Il existe aussi une règlementation stricte sur l'utilisation des fumiers et compost.

Au Nouveau-Brunswick, il existe des agences de certification qui veillent à ce que les produits et aliments à valeur ajoutée soient produits et transformés selon les normes biologiques. Lorsque ces normes sont respectées, ces agences permettent l'utilisation de leur étiquette " produit biologique ". Des inspecteurs indépendants sont impliqués pour vérifier l'intégrité biologique du système de production. Les producteurs doivent également garder un cahier de charges qui fait mention des intrants, matériaux bruts et des processus utilisés lors de la production et la transformation des produits certifiés biologiques.

Agence de certification active au N.-B.:

OCIA-NB : Organic Crop Improvement Association - New Brunswick Chapter
Contact : Susan Tyler
Adresse : 2002 Cedar Camp Rd., South Branch NB, E4E 5E7
Tél. : (506) 433-3935
Télécopieur : (506) 432-9435
Site web : http://www.ocia.org   (anglais seulement)
Courriel: ocianb@nbnet.nb.ca

Atlantic Certified Organic Co-operative Ltd.
Contact: Heather Mackenzie
Adresse: 100 chemin Harmony, Salmon River, NS, B6L 3P6
Tél.: 1-888-375-9190
Télécopieur: 902-897-4247
Site web: http://www.atlanticcertifiedorganic.ca
Courriel:aco@ns.aliantzinc.ca

Ecocert Canada
Contact: France Gravel
Adresse: Lévis, Québec
Tél: (418) 838-6941
Site Web : http://www.ecocertcanada.com/eng/index_eng.html
Courriel: INFO@ecocertcanada.com

OCPP/Pro-Cert Canada Inc,
Bureau de l'est canadian
Contact: Dave Lockman
Adresse: 2311 Elm Tree Road, C.P. 74, Cambray, ON K0M 1E0 Cambray ON
Tél.:(705) 374-5602
Télécopieur : 705-374-5604
Site Web : http://www.ocpro.ca/   (anglais seulement)
Courriel: ocpp@lindsaycomp.on.ca

Le 30 juin 2009, le gouvernement Fédéral a adopté un règlement sur les produits biologiques. Ce règlement a un effet direct sur le système de certification biologique du Canada. Les producteurs et transformateurs biologiques canadiens qui font des échanges commerciaux inter-provinciaux ou encore de l'exportation et importation de produits biologiques doivent rencontrer les exigences de ce règlement et par conséquence doivent se conformer aux normes biologiques canadiennes.

En plus de favoriser l'expansion du marché national, les objectifs du règlement comprennent la facilitation de l'accès aux marchés internationaux, et d'une protection pour le consommateur contre les pratiques d'étiquetage trompeuses et mensongères, grâce à une démarche uniforme de certification et d'étiquetage des produits biologiques. Ce règlement prévoit un nouvel étiquette national "Biologique Canada" que peuvent utiliser les entrepreneurs qui produisent des produits certifiés biologiques qui rencontrent les exigences du règlement. L'agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments (ACIA) est responsable du suivi et de l'application du règlement. De plus, le Canada et les États-Unis ont conclu une entente d'équivalence qui facilitera les échanges commerciaux de produits biologiques entre ces deux pays. Le règlement des produits biologiques est disponible au : http://www.gazette.gc.ca/rp-pr/p2/2009/2009-06-24/html/sor-dors176-fra.html

L'Office des normes générales du Canada (ONGC) avec la collaboration des intervenants du secteur biologique ont développé les normes biologiques nationales du Canada. Les normes sont composées de deux documents , soit les Principes généraux et normes de gestion (CAN/CGSB-3232.310-2006), de même que les Listes des substances permises (CAN/CGSB-32.311-2006). Ces normes sont révisées régulièrement et disponibles sur le site Web de l'ONGC à l'adresse suivante : http://www.tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca/ongc-cgsb/programme-program/normes-standards/comm/32-20-agriculture-fra.html

Le ministère de l'Agriculture et de l'Aquaculture du N.-B. emploie un spécialiste en production biologique qui offre un soutien à l'industrie existante, en facilitant l'expansion de l'industrie et en identifiant de nouvelles possibilités. Ce spécialiste offre aussi une assistance technique aux producteurs et transformateurs qui veulent débuter une transition de l'agriculture conventionnelle vers l'agriculture biologique

Sites web utiles, certains d'eux sont seulement en anglais :
  • Atlantic Canadian Organic Regional Network (http://www.acornorganic.org)   (anglais seulement)
  • Centre d'agriculture biologique du Canada, Truro, N.-É. (http://www.oacc.info/index_e.asp)  
  • Canadian Organic Growers (http://www.cog.ca/)   (anglais seulement)
  • Agri-Réseau / Agriculture biologique du Québec: (http://www.agrireseau.qc.ca/agriculturebiologique/)