New Brunswick Courts
New Brunswick Courts
New Brunswick Courts

Languages in New Brunswick 

New Brunswick’s Unique Legal Feature: Language Rights

The Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms

16. (1) English and French are the official languages of Canada and have equality of status and equal rights and privileges as to their use in all institutions of the Parliament and government of Canada.

16. (2) English and French are the official languages of New Brunswick and have equality of status and equal rights and privileges as to their use in all institutions of the legislature and government of New Brunswick.

16.1. (1) The English linguistic community and the French linguistic community in New Brunswick have equality of status and equal rights and privileges, including the right to distinct educational institutions and such distinct cultural institutions as are necessary for the preservation and promotion of those communities.

19. (2) Either English or French may be used by any person in, or in any pleading in or process issuing from, any court of New Brunswick.

20. (2) Any member of the public in New Brunswick has the right to communicate with, and to receive available services from, any office of an institution of the legislature or government of New Brunswick in English or French.

A feature unique to New Brunswick ’s Legal System:
Two Official Languages and Two Official Linguistic Communities

An Act Recognizing the Equality of the Two Official Linguistic Communities in New Brunswick

1 Acknowledging the unique character of New Brunswick, the English linguistic community and the French linguistic community are officially recognized within the context of one province for all purposes to which the authority of the Legislature of New Brunswick extends, and the equality of status and the equal rights and privileges of these two communities are affirmed.

2 The Government of New Brunswick shall ensure protection of the equality of status and the equal rights and privileges of the official linguistic communities and in particular their right to distinct institutions within which cultural, educational and social activities may be carried on.

3 The Government of New Brunswick shall, in its proposed laws, in the allocation of public resources and in its policies and programs, take positive actions to promote the cultural, economic, educational and social development of the official linguistic communities.

The Official Languages Act

The sections of the Official Languages Act of New Brunswick that pertain to the “Administration of Justice” provides as follows:

16 English and French are the official languages of the courts.

17 Every person has the right to use the official language of his or her choice in any matter before the courts, including all proceedings, or in any pleading or process issuing from a court.

18 No person shall be placed at a disadvantage by reason of the choice made under section 17.

19 (1) A court before which a matter is pending must understand, without the assistance of an interpreter or any process of simultaneous translation or consecutive interpretation, the official language chosen under section 17 by a party to the matter.

19 (2) A court before which a matter is pending must understand both official languages, without the assistance of an interpreter or any process of simultaneous translation or consecutive interpretation, if both English and French are the languages chosen by the parties to the proceedings.

20 (1) A person who is alleged to have committed an offence under an Act or a regulation of the Province or under a municipal by-law has the right to have the proceedings conducted in the language of his or her choice and shall be informed of that right by the presiding judge before entering a plea.

20 (2) A person who is alleged to have committed an offence within the meaning of subsection (1), has the right to be understood by the court, without the assistance of an interpreter or any process of simultaneous translation or consecutive interpretation, in the official language chosen by the person.

21 Every court has the duty to ensure that any witness appearing before it can be heard in the official language of his or her choice and upon the request of one of the parties or the witness, the court has the duty to ensure that services of simultaneous translation or consecutive interpretation are available to the person who made the request.

22 Where Her Majesty in right of the Province or an institution is a party to civil proceedings before a court, Her Majesty or the institution concerned shall use, in any oral or written pleadings or any process issuing from a court, the official language chosen by the other party.

23 Where the parties to civil proceedings, other than Her Majesty in right of the Province or an institution, do not choose or fail to agree on the official language to be used in the proceedings, Her Majesty or the institution concerned shall use such official language as is reasonable, having regard to the circumstances.

24 (1) Any final decision, order or judgment of any court, including any reasons given therefore and summaries, shall be published in both official languages where

(a) it determines a question of law of interest or importance to the general public, or

(b) the proceedings leading to its issuance were conducted in whole or in part in both official languages.

24 (2) Where a final decision, order or judgment is required to be published under subsection (1), but it is determined that to do so would result in a delay or injustice or hardship to a party to the proceedings, the decision, order or judgment, including any reasons given, shall be published in the first instance in one official language and, thereafter, at the earliest possible time, in the other official language.

25 All decisions of the Court of Appeal are deemed to fall within the scope of section 24.

26 Sections 24 and 25 shall not be construed so as to prevent the pronouncement of a judgment, including the reasons in support of the judgment, in either official language and in such a case, the judgment is not invalid by reason only that it was pronounced in one official language.

Legislation

Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms

Official Languages Act (Canada)

Official Languages Regulations (Canada)

An Act Recognizing the Equality of the Two Official Linguistic Communities in New Brunswick

Official Languages Act (New Brunswick)

Services and Communications Regulation - Official Languages Act (New Brunswick)

LINKS

Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages, Government of Canada

Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages for New Brunswick

La Cours Provinciale Du Nouveau-Brunswick
Les Cours du Nouveau-Brunswick
Les Cours du Nouveau-Brunswick

Droits linguistiques au Nouveau-Brunswick 

Le caractère juridique distinctif du Nouveau-Brunswick : les droits linguistiques

Charte canadienne des droits et libertés

16. (1) Le français et l'anglais sont les langues officielles du Canada; ils ont un statut et des droits et privilèges égaux quant à leur usage dans les institutions du Parlement et du gouvernement du Canada.

16. (2) Le français et l'anglais sont les langues officielles du Nouveau-Brunswick; ils ont un statut et des droits et privilèges égaux quant à leur usage dans les institutions de la Législature et du gouvernement du Nouveau-Brunswick.

16.1. (1) La communauté linguistique française et la communauté linguistique anglaise du Nouveau-Brunswick ont un statut et des droits et privilèges égaux, notamment le droit à des institutions d'enseignement distinctes et aux institutions culturelles distinctes nécessaires à leur protection et à leur promotion.

19. (2) Chacun a le droit d'employer le français ou l'anglais dans toutes les affaires dont sont saisis les tribunaux du Nouveau-Brunswick et dans tous les actes de procédure qui en découlent.

20. (2) Le public a, au Nouveau-Brunswick, droit à l'emploi du français ou de l'anglais pour communiquer avec tout bureau des institutions de la législature ou du gouvernement ou pour en recevoir les services.  

Une caractéristique propre à l'appareil judiciaire du Nouveau-Brunswick :
deux langues officielles et deux communautés linguistiques officielles

Loi reconnaissant l'égalité des deux communautés linguistiques officielles au Nouveau-Brunswick

1. Reconnaissant le caractère unique du Nouveau-Brunswick, la communauté linguistique française et la communauté linguistique anglaise sont officiellement reconnues dans le contexte d'une seule province à toutes fins auxquelles s'étend l'autorité de la Législature du Nouveau-Brunswick; l'égalité de statut et l'égalité des droits et privilèges de ces deux communautés sont affirmées.

2. Le gouvernement du Nouveau-Brunswick assure la protection de l'égalité de statut et de l'égalité des droits et privilèges des communautés linguistiques officielles et en particulier de leurs droits à des institutions distinctes où peuvent se dérouler des activités culturelles, éducationnelles et sociales.

3. Le gouvernement du Nouveau-Brunswick, dans les mesures législatives qu'il propose, dans la répartition des ressources publiques et dans ses politiques et programmes, encourage, par des mesures positives, le développement culturel, économique, éducationnel et social des communautés linguistiques officielles.

Loi sur les langues officielles

Voici le libellé des dispositions de la Loi sur les langues officielles du Nouveau-Brunswick qui traitent de l'administration de la justice :

16 Le français et l'anglais sont les langues officielles des tribunaux.

17 Chacun a le droit d'employer la langue officielle de son choix dans toutes les affaires dont sont saisis les tribunaux, y compris toute procédure, pour les plaidoiries et dans les actes de procédure qui en découlent.

18 Nul ne peut être défavorisé en raison du choix fait en vertu de l'article 17.

19 (1) Il incombe au tribunal saisi d'une affaire de comprendre, sans l'aide d'un interprète ou de toute technique de traduction simultanée ou d'interprétation consécutive, la langue officielle choisie en vertu de l'article 17 par une partie à cette affaire .

19 (2) Il incombe également au tribunal saisi d'une affaire de comprendre, sans l'aide d'un interprète ou de toute technique de traduction simultanée ou d'interprétation consécutive, les deux langues officielles lorsque les parties ont opté pour que l'affaire soit entendue dans les deux langues officielles.

20 (1) Une personne accusée d'une infraction à une loi ou à un règlement de la province, ou à un arrêté municipal, a droit au déroulement des procédures dans la langue officielle de son choix, et elle doit être informée de ce droit par le juge qui préside avant d'enregistrer son plaidoyer.

20 (2) La personne accusée au sens de l'article (1), a le droit lorsqu'elle a fait son choix de langue, de se faire comprendre par le tribunal, sans l'aide d'un interprète ou de toute technique de traduction simultanée ou d'interprétation consécutive.

21 Il incombe au tribunal de veiller à ce que tout témoin qui comparaît devant lui puisse être entendu dans la langue officielle de son choix et sur demande d'une partie ou du témoin, à ce que soit offert des services de traduction simultanée ou d'interprétation consécutive, le cas échéant .

22 Dans une affaire civile dont est saisi un tribunal et à laquelle est partie Sa Majesté du chef du Nouveau-Brunswick ou une institution, Sa Majesté ou l'institution utilise, pour les plaidoiries orales et écrites et pour les actes de procédure qui en découlent, la langue officielle choisie par la partie civile.

23 Lorsque les parties à une affaire civile, autre que Sa Majesté du chef du Nouveau-Brunswick ou une institution, ne peuvent s'accorder sur le choix de la langue ou qu'elles omettent de faire un choix, Sa Majesté ou l'institution concernée utilise la langue officielle la plus justifiée dans les circonstances.

24 (1) Les décisions ou ordonnances définitives des tribunaux, exposés des motifs et sommaires compris, sont publiés dans les deux langues officielles

a) si le point de droit en litige présente de l'intérêt ou de l'importance pour le public; ou

b) lorsque les procédures se sont déroulées, en tout ou en partie, dans les deux langues officielles.

24 (2) Dans les cas visés par le paragraphe (1) ou lorsque la publication d'une version bilingue entraînerait un retard qui serait préjudiciable à l'intérêt public ou qui causerait une injustice ou un inconvénient grave à une des parties au litige, la décision, exposé des motifs compris, est publiée d'abord dans l'une des langues officielles, puis dans les meilleurs délais, dans l'autre langue officielle .

25 Les décisions de la Cour d'appel sont réputées satisfaire aux critères de l'article 24.

26 Les articles 24 et 25 n'ont pas pour effet d'interdire le prononcé, dans une seule langue officielle, d'une décision ou de l'exposé des motifs auquel cas la décision n'est pas invalide pour autant .

Mesures législatives

Charte canadienne des droits et libertés :

Loi sur les langues officielles du Canada 

Règlement sur les langues officielles - communications avec le public et prestation des services (Canada) :

Loi reconnaissant l'égalité des deux communautés linguistiques officielles au Nouveau-Brunswick :.

Loi sur les langues officielles du Nouveau-Brunswick :

Règlement sur les services et communications - Loi sur les langues o fficielles (Nouveau-Brunswick) :

LIENS

Commissariat aux langues officielles du Canada :

Commissaire aux langues officielles du Nouveau-Brunswick :


Communiquer avec les Cours du Nouveau-Brunswick