Wellness, Culture and Sport

New Brunswick women's basketball team named for Canada Games (09/06/04)

NB 792

June 4, 2009

ROTHESAY (CNB) - The 12 members of the women's basketball team that will represent New Brunswick at the 2009 Canada Summer Games were announced today by Basketball New Brunswick.

The team members are: Louise Chiasson, of Rothesay; Leanne Davis, of Willow Grove; Brittany Gilliss, of Fredericton; MacKenzie Gray, of Woodstock; Julie Hatcher, of Riverview; Rachel Jefferson, of Quispamsis; Jenna Jones, of Riverview; Laura McCaffrey, of Rothesay; Courtney Thompson, of Saint John; Tamara Tompkins, of Lakeville; Kaylee Kilpatrick, of Saint John; and Vanessa Pickard, of Riverview. The alternate is Madyson Williams, of Dalhousie.

The head coach is Bill Mayberry, of Rothesay, and assistants are Lori Wall and Jason Peters, both from Saint John. The manager is Ryan Daye, of Oak Bay.

The Games will take place in Prince Edward Island in August. Women's basketball will be presented during the first week of the Games, from Aug. 15-22, in the Summerside area.


MEDIA CONTACTS: Danielle Phillips, communications, Department of Wellness, Culture and Sport, 506-457-6445; Normand Léger, communications, Team New Brunswick / 2009 Canada Games, 506-877-7918.