Prizes awarded at closing ceremony of 20th annual Provincial French Pride Week (09/03/20)

NB 366

March 20, 2009

CARAQUET (CNB) - Prizes have been awarded to 20 people and schools for various contests organized in conjunction with the 20th annual Provincial French Pride Week. Wellness, Culture and Sport Minister Hédard Albert, who is also minister responsible for the Francophonie, awarded the prizes on behalf of himself and Education Minister Kelly Lamrock during the event's closing ceremony at Polyvalente Louis-Mailloux in Caraquet.


"On this International Francophonie Day I congratulate the winners and all those who participated in the various contests directly or indirectly associated with the 20th Provincial French Pride Week," said Albert. "The co-operation and efforts of school employees, the community, the school districts, and the organizing and steering committees have contributed to a greater feeling of pride in the French language and a strong cultural identity among our young people."

Thirteen students from francophone schools won prizes in the art contest. Their art was used in the production of the annual Provincial French Pride Week calendar. They won a framed version of their work, a T-shirt, and several other prizes.

L'École Académie Assomption will receive a laminated poster as winner of the contest for the best slogan: Francophones de tous les pays, venez fêter en Acadie. A laminated poster also went to École secondaire Nepisiguit of Bathurst, in recognition of the work of art teacher Lucie St-Pierre and her 17 students, who created the poster for this year's event, and to artist Jean-Sébastien Roy, of Nigadoo, the artist who collaborated with St-Pierre's students.

Albert recognized the contributions of community schools Terre-des-Jeunes in Paquetville, and Polyvalente Louis-Mailloux, as hosts of the opening and closing ceremonies, by presenting them with a souvenir prize.

The Association canadienne d'éducation de langue française awarded the prestigious Actifs et fiers prize to Polyvalente Louis-Mailloux. The prize is awarded annually to a school that has distinguished itself for educational projects and activities that foster the development of a feeling of belonging to the Francophonie, and identity-building among the students.

Three Grade 12 students were winners of the literary creation contest. Each will receive a $1,000 scholarship to continue their studies at one of the three campuses of the Université de Moncton.

In 2010, École Samuel-de-Champlain in Saint John will host the opening ceremony of Provincial French Pride Week, and École Mathieu-Martin in Dieppe will host the closing ceremony.


EDITOR'S NOTE: Following is a list of winners of the various Provincial French Pride Week contests. MEDIA CONTACT: Johanne Le Blanc, communications, Department of Education, 506-444-4714.

Provincial French Pride Week contest winners

Art contest for K-Grade 3 students

Alexandre Paquette, École Champlain, Moncton, District 1
Troy Desroches, École Saint-Jacques, Saint-Jacques, District 3
Alexa Daly, Académie Notre-Dame, Dalhousie, District 5
Chelsey-Lynn Rousselle, École La Ruche, Tracadie-Sheila, District 9
Jacob Melanson, École Notre-Dame, Notre-Dame-de-Kent, District 11

Art contest for grades 4-8 students

Zoé Pitre, École des Bâtisseurs, Fredericton, District 1
Lauréanne Thériault, École Mgr-Martin, Saint-Quentin, District 3
Ken Mcintyre, Académie Notre-Dame, Dalhousie, District 5
Sarah Godin, École Ola-Léger, Bertrand, District 9
Gaétane Johnson, École W.-F.-Boisvert, Rogersville, District 11

Art contest for grades 9-12 students

Vanessa Lebourque, École polyvalente A.-J.-Savoie, Saint-Quentin, District 3
Marilyn LeBlanc, École Aux quatre vents, Dalhousie, District 5
Gabrielle Ranger, École polyvalente W.-A.-Losier, Tracadie-Sheila, District 9

High school literary creation contest

Maryline Allard-Bourque, École Mathieu-Martin, Dieppe, District 1
Amélie Hendricks, Cité-des-Jeunes-A.-M.-Sormany, Edmundston, District 3
Marie-Pier Lagacé, École polyvalente Roland-Pépin, Campbelton, District 5