Efficiency NB

Premier recognizes leaders in energy efficiency (10/05/14)

NB 731

May 14, 2010

FREDERICTON (CNB) - The second annual Premier's Awards for Energy Efficiency were presented to 13 recipients by Premier Shawn Graham in Fredericton.

The awards were developed by Efficiency NB to recognize innovation and leadership in energy efficiency.

Graham said that, based on the number and quality of the submissions this year, there is great deal to celebrate in the field of energy efficiency.

"The impressive accomplishments of our award winners demonstrate that New Brunswickers are increasingly aware of the benefits of becoming more energy efficient," he said. "When businesses and individuals do so, they help reduce greenhouse gas emissions and achieve lower energy costs, support local businesses, and promote the development of energy efficient products and services that will help grow the economy and create opportunities for our young people to stay here at home."

Awards were presented to the best performers in six of Efficiency NB's energy efficiency incentive programs. They were:

A public call was issued for nominations and Energy Efficiency Champion awards were presented in six categories:

The Community Award for Outstanding Energy Efficiency Achievement was presented to EOS Eco-Energy of Sackville and accepted by its board chair, Roland Chiasson.

The event was sponsored by NB Power and Brunswick News and award categories were sponsored by Enbridge Gas New Brunswick Inc., Kent Building Supplies, MCW Maricor and Marbek.

Information about the awards and the award winners is at the Efficiency NB website.



MEDIA CONTACT: Tracey Somers, Efficiency NB, 506-643-2860, cell, 506-639-8951.