New NB Power board members appointed (09/11/30)

NB 1901

Nov. 30, 2009

FREDERICTON (CNB) - The provincial government has reappointed two persons to NB Power's board of directors and has appointed three others to fill vacancies, effective immediately, Energy Minister Jack Keir has announced.

Norm Betts and Shirley Mears have been reappointed; both have served on the board since October 2004. Joining them will be the three new appointees: David Ferguson, clerk of the executive council and secretary to cabinet; John Mallory, deputy minister of finance; and David Johnstone, deputy minister of transportation.

"I am confident that these board members will provide NB Power with the required expertise as our government continues negotiations on our proposed energy agreement with Hydro-Québec," said Keir. "It is the intent of the New Brunswick government to finalize the proposed energy agreement with Hydro-Québec by the end of this fiscal year. To help guide this process and ensure it unfolds smoothly, Premier Shawn Graham has asked the three senior civil servants to serve on the board of the utility."

The new members fill vacancies being left following the expiration of terms and resignations of board members.

Lise Caissie, has resigned due to a conflict of interest. Her employer was acquired by NB Power's auditing firm, Ernst and Young.

Two members from outside New Brunswick, Patricia Merrin Best and Graham Brown, have decided they will no longer serve on the board following the end of their terms this fall, given the complex and highly energized debate taking place over the proposed energy agreement.

"I thank the three outgoing members for their tremendous commitment and hard work on behalf of NB Power and the people of New Brunswick," Keir said. "I understand and respect their decision to no longer serve on the board."


MEDIA CONTACT: Bonnie Doyle-Creber, communications, Department of Energy, 506-658-2410.