Environmental Leadership Award recipients honoured (09/01/23)

NB 59

Jan. 23, 2009

WOODSTOCK (CNB) - Three recipients of 2008 Environmental Leadership Awards were honoured at a ceremony today at Woodstock Centennial Elementary School.


Joseph Creagh and Lliam Box of Woodstock were winners in the Individual Youth category, and Carl Faulkner of Woodstock was the winner in the Individual category.

Environment Minister Roland Haché presented the winners with framed pewter medals. Recipients were also presented with a gift certificate for a tree which can be planted to commemorate their accomplishments.


"These recipients are very deserving of the awards," Haché said. "They have certainly demonstrated their commitment to environmental stewardship and have shown their dedication to improving Carleton County."

Creagh and Box, both Grade 4 students, made their community cleaner by picking up garbage during their walk to their after-school daycare. They brought enough bags so that everyone in their class could pick up litter on the way from school.

Faulkner, founding director of the Meduxnekeag River Association, spearheaded the association's decision to buy the 52-hectare (130-acre) Wilson Mountain property, which became Phase 1 of the Meduxnekeag Valley Nature Preserve. He also led the purchase of the Leonard Woods and Bell Forest properties, which were added to the preserve.

Faulkner has promoted Wilson Mountain as an outdoor classroom, and he has taken a lead role in organizing the construction of walking trails used by hundreds of schoolchildren each year.

"I commend these individuals for working on behalf of this community and thank them for their interest in environmental protection," Haché said. "It is up to us as residents of New Brunswick to conserve and protect the environment around us. If New Brunswick is to be self-sufficient by 2026, we will need to be partners in ensuring environmental sustainability."

The Environmental Leadership Awards are presented annually to individuals, groups and businesses that demonstrate exceptional leadership in the enhancement and protection of the environment. A panel of independent judges selects the recipients.

Information about the Environmental Leadership Awards is available online.


MEDIA CONTACT: Jennifer Graham, communications, Department of Environment, 506-453-3700.