Environmental Leadership Award recipients honoured (09/11/03)

NB 1732

Nov. 3, 2009



CAMBRIDGE-NARROWS (CNB) - A ceremony was held this afternoon in Cambridge-Narrows to honour Robena Weatherley and the Canaan-Washademoak Watershed Association, recipients of the 2009 Environmental Leadership Award. Weatherley is the recipient in the Lifetime Achievement category, and the association is the recipient in the Communities, Groups and Organizations category.

Environment Minister Rick Miles presented each of the recipients with a framed pewter medal and a certificate for a tree to be planted to commemorate their achievements.

"Robena has demonstrated her commitment to the environment throughout her life," said Miles. "Most recently she has worked on behalf of the environment in New Brunswick as the founding member of the Canaan-Washademoak Watershed Association, and has co-published educational booklets on watershed conservation efforts."

Weatherley also volunteers at schools and with community groups to increase awareness of the forest and stream ecology.

"The Canaan-Washademoak Watershed Association aims to protect and enhance the ecological structure and function of waterways, and in doing so to connect people in the region with these valuable aquatic resources," said Miles. "This group does some great work on behalf of the environment in our province."

Some of the association's activities include programs for monitoring water quality, fish populations, forest biodiversity, and riparian conditions.

"These recipients are certainly very deserving of their Environmental Leadership Awards," said Miles. "As residents of this beautiful province, we should follow their example and accept our responsibility to conserve and protect the environment around us. If New Brunswick is to be self-sufficient by 2026, we will need to be partners in ensuring environmental sustainability."

The Environmental Leadership Awards are presented annually to individuals, groups and businesses that demonstrate exceptional leadership in the enhancement and protection of the environment. A panel of independent judges selects the recipients.

Information about the Environmental Leadership Awards is available online.


MEDIA CONTACT: Jennifer Graham, public affairs, Department Environment, 506-453-3700.