Social Development

Final Forum to adopt a poverty reduction plan for New Brunswick (09/11/09)

NB 1777

Nov. 9, 2009

FREDERICTON (CNB) - Representatives from various sectors of the province will meet in Saint John on Nov. 12 and 13 to adopt New Brunswick's first plan to reduce poverty.

Premier Shawn Graham, sponsor of Bringing the pieces together, released today the names of the participants in the Final Forum, the third and last phase of the public consultation process to reduce poverty in New Brunswick.

"The participants for the Final Forum have been selected because of the respect they command within their sectors or as members of society-at-large," said Graham. "With their contributions and all the input received during phases I and II, we can now proceed with the development and implementation of real actions for the benefit of our more vulnerable residents."

Participants in the Final Forum will include representatives of the provincial and municipal governments, business sectors, labour unions, post-secondary education institutions, community non-profit organizations and residents exposed to poverty.

"This jointly led initiative will help establish a new covenant on poverty," said Social Development Minister Kelly Lamrock, a co-chair of the initiative. "If communities and residents take on a little more responsibility, if business provides a little more opportunity, and if government does what it takes to give people more dignity, then together we can succeed in lifting people out of poverty."

Participants in the Final Forum will have the task of adopting all components of a poverty reduction plan for New Brunswick, including an overarching vision, a global objective, priority actions and indicators, as well as an accountability and monitoring mechanism.

"During the last several months, thousands of New Brunswickers have contributed to this important public engagement process," said co-chair Gerry Pond, a representative from the business community. "This process is unique in Canada because it is the first time that government has been working with the business and non-profit communities to address the issue of poverty."

Launched in the fall of 2008, Bringing the pieces together involves three parts: a dialogue phase; a round table phase; and a Final Forum phase. Following public dialogue sessions last winter, round table participants produced a series of options to be submitted to the Final Forum so that a plan to reduce poverty in New Brunswick will be completed and adopted.

"The contribution provided by all sectors of our society will be highly beneficial to the work of the final forum," said co-chair Léo-Paul Pinet, a representative from the non-profit sector. "The adoption of a strong poverty reduction plan will make a real difference in the lives of many individuals and families."


EDITOR'S NOTE: Following is a list of individuals and government departments participating in the Final Forum. MEDIA CONTACT: Robert Duguay, Poverty Reduction Initiative, Department of Social Development, 506-444-2155.


Individuals participating in the Final Forum on poverty

Premier Shawn Graham
Social Development Minister Kelly Lamrock 
Gerry Pond, co-chair
Léo-Paul Pinet, co-chair
Annette Vautour MacKay
Barbara Losier
Beverly Wilcox
Cathy Wright
Chief George H. Ginnish
Christyne Allain
Leader of the Official Opposition David Alward
Debbie McInnis
Derek Oland
Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour Minister Donald Arseneault
Eddy Campbell
Supply and Services Minister Ed Doherty
Eric Tusz-King
Fernand Arsenault
Francine Landry
Ginette Arsenault
Finance Minister Greg Byrne
Wellness, Culture and Sport Minister Hédard Albert
James Kenneth Irving
Jean Allain
Jean-Claude Savoie
Jennifer Melanson
Juanita Black
Judge Michael McKee
Krista Carr
Liette Holmes
Lisa Murphy
Lise Ouellette
Louis-Philippe Gauthier
Marilyn Tremholme Counsell
Mark Haines-Lacey
Health Minister Mary Schryer
Michael O'Brien
Monique Richard
Pam Coates
Peter Oram
Randy Hatfield
Roger Doiron
Roger Lessard
Education Minister Roland Haché
Sr. Auréa Cormier
Terry Malley
Tom Mann
Wendy Papadopoulos