Local Government

Name changes for eight New Brunswick communities (09/09/09)

NB 1295

Sept. 9, 2009

FREDERICTON (CNB) - The names of eight New Brunswick communities have been officially changed, Local Government Minister Bernard LeBlanc announced today. The changes came into effect July 23.

"Historically, in accordance with the justice system in place, New Brunswick municipalities were named in English," said LeBlanc. "However, with today's reality, and with New Brunswick now having the status of an officially bilingual province, it is only logical that we adapt municipal names to reflect this status."

The Municipalities Act provides the authority for a municipality to seek a name change through a resolution of its council. LeBlanc received resolutions from a number of municipalities seeking name changes. As a result, the lieutenant-governor in council has approved the following changes:


MEDIA CONTACT: Mark Barbour, communications, Department of Local Government, 506-444-4693.