Justice and Consumer Affairs / Attorney General

2009 Queen's counsel appointments named (09/11/12)

NB 1789

Nov. 12, 2009

FREDERICTON (CNB) - Eleven of New Brunswick's most distinguished lawyers have been appointed Queen's counsel.

This year's appointments are Catherine Berryman, Craig Carleton, Sharon Cupples, Heather Maynes, Henry Murphy, David Nicholson, Gerald O'Brien, Guy Richard, Lucie Richard, Pierre Roussel and Douglas Young.

"These individuals have approached their work with commitment and have made great contributions to our province's legal system," said Justice and Consumer Affairs Minister Michael Murphy, who is also attorney general. "I am pleased to recognize their achievements and congratulate them on their appointment as Queen's counsel."

Queen's counsel is awarded to experienced lawyers in recognition of their commitment to the principles of the legal profession and contributions to their communities. To be eligible for the award, lawyers must be members of the Law Society of New Brunswick and have at least 15 years' experience in the practice of law. No more than one per cent of the bar may be appointed Queen's Counsel in any one year.

This year's ceremony will be held at 11 a.m. on Saturday, Nov. 14, at the legislative assembly in Fredericton.

Recipients of Queen's counsel are chosen by a committee comprised of the chief justice of New Brunswick, the attorney general and the president of the law society.


MEDIA CONTACT: Mary Moszynski, communications, Department of Justice and Consumer Affairs, 506-444-3153.