NB Power

Term ends for chair of NB Power (10/04/01)

NB 466

April 1, 2010

FREDERICTON (CNB) - The following statement was released today by Francis McGuire following the end of his term as chair of NB Power:

It has been an honour to serve as chair of the board of NB Power from September 2007 to March 31, 2010. During this time I have had the opportunity to work with a dedicated team of employees on a variety of files to improve operations and services for our customers.

The board of directors has an important role to play in the future development of our province's energy future and I am proud of the highly-qualified members overseeing the operations of the utility. I want to thank my fellow board members, president and chief executive officer (acting) Gaëtan Thomas, past president and chief executive officer David Hay, and all employees for their commitment to serving the customers of New Brunswick.

It is evident now, more than ever, that significant challenges face NB Power. However, I have the utmost confidence that the team we have in place will help guide the utility through these challenges, keeping the best interests of New Brunswickers at the forefront of the future direction of NB Power.


MEDIA CONTACT: Marianne Limpert, 506-458-6731, mlimpert@nbpower.com.