Natural Resources

Six new members appointed to New Brunswick Wildlife Council (08/12/03)

NB 1763

Dec. 3, 2008

FREDERICTON (CNB) - Six new members have been added to the New Brunswick Wildlife Council, Natural Resources Minister Wally Stiles announced today.

They are André Carrier of Charlo; Stephen R. Clayden of Saint John; Gilles Girard of Kedgwick; Gerald Hallihan of Renous; Karle Scott of Southampton; and Ron Wilson of Fredericton. Each will serve three-year terms expiring in September 2011.

"I wish to welcome each of these newest members to the council," Stiles said. "Protecting New Brunswick's wildlife is an important responsibility, and I commend and sincerely appreciate the hard work of the council volunteers as they tackle various projects."

Stiles thanked outgoing council members Renald Arseneault, Gart Bishop, Don Boucher and Muriel MacKenzie.

The other council members are Philip Boucher, Brenda Cormier, Stan Donovan, Gordon Gallant, Jacques Héroux, Paul Leahey, Charles Neveu, David R. Oley, Hank Scarth and Jim Sinclair.

The council, established in 1997, is responsible for the distribution of funding under the New Brunswick Wildlife Trust Fund.

Since its inception, the fund has distributed almost $11 million to support 896 projects undertaken by many of the province's non-profit groups and associations. Projects include inventories of endangered species, deer habitat evaluation, education programs and watercourse rehabilitation.

The fund is made up of revenues received from conservation fees added to the cost of hunting, angling and trapping permits, including fees on special conservation licence plates.

For more information, visit the New Brunswick Wildlife Trust Fund at


MEDIA CONTACT: Chrystiane Mallaley, communications, Department of Natural Resources, 506-453-2614.