Natural Resources

Seven new members appointed to New Brunswick Wildlife Council (09/11/23)


Nov. 23, 2009

FREDERICTON (CNB) - Seven new members have been appointed to the New Brunswick Wildlife Council, and a new chairman has been named. Natural Resources Minister Wally Stiles made the announcement today.

The new members are:

Each will serve three-year terms expiring in September 2012.

"I welcome each of these newest members to the council," Stiles said. "Protecting New Brunswick's wildlife is an important responsibility, and I commend and sincerely appreciate the hard work of the council volunteers as they tackle various projects."

Stiles thanked outgoing-council members Philip Boucher, Brenda Cormier, Paul Leahey, Charles Neveu, Hank Scarth (the outgoing chairperson) and Jim Sinclair for their time and effort during their tenure.

The other council members are André Carrier, Stephen Clayden, Stan Donovan, Gordon Gallant, Gilles Girard, Gerald Hallihan, Jacques Héroux, David R. Oley, Karle Scott and Ron Wilson. Gallant succeeds Scarth as chairperson.

The council, established in 1997, is responsible for the distribution of the New Brunswick Wildlife Trust Fund. Since its inception, the trust fund has distributed more than $11 million to support 998 projects undertaken by many of the province's non-profit groups and associations. Projects have included inventories of endangered species, deer habitat evaluation, education programs and watercourse rehabilitation.

The trust fund is made up of revenues received from conservation fees added to the cost of hunting, angling and trapping permits as well, as fees for conservation licence plates. More information about the trust fund is online.


MEDIA CONTACTS: Matt Jones, communications, Department of Natural Resources, 506-453-2614, e-mail,; Anne Bull Monteith, communications, Department of Natural Resources, 506-453-2614, e-mail,