Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour

New chair and members appointed to Minimum Wage Board (08/10/22)

NB 1542

Oct. 22, 2008

FREDERICTON (CNB) - New appointments to the independent Minimum Wage Board were announced today by Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour Minister Ed Doherty. Among the appointments is Mary-Eileen Flanagan, the first woman chair to the board.

"Ms. Flanagan brings to the Minimum Wage Board a wealth of experience with her law background and extensive community service," Doherty said. "I am confident that she will provide the ideal balance as chair to a new board that features broader representation of our stakeholders. The new board is scheduled to meet later this fall, and will continue to meet at least once a year, as committed in the Charter for Change."

Flanagan is a former naval lieutenant with the Department of National Defence - Primary Naval Reserve. In recent years she practised law in Saint John, and is currently a partner with Sherwood and Flanagan. She is a past director of Festival by the Sea, the Saint John Legal Centre, the South End Community Daycare and the Credit Counselling Service of Atlantic Canada.

Doherty also appointed five new members to the board: Rita Boucher of Bas-Caraquet; Deborah McInnis of Moncton; Ron Oldfield of Quispamsis; Frank Scott of Fredericton; and Daryll Stothart of Bathurst. Boucher, Oldfield and McInnis will join current member Gary Ritchie of Fredericton as members representing employees, while Scott and Stothart join current members Jane A. Higgins of Saint John and William A. Dixon of Moncton as members representing employers.

The Minimum Wage Board is responsible for providing advice and recommendations to government respecting New Brunswick's minimum wage, which is currently $7.75 an hour. The new appointments are effective immediately and are for a four-year term.

"I trust that this newly expanded board will provide a broader perspective on the social and economic issues pertaining to both workers and employers with regard to the minimum wage, particularly from the point of view of the food service industry and the non-profit sector," said Doherty. "I also want to take this opportunity to commend outgoing chair George Filliter and outgoing member Louise Guerette Winchester for their service and the expertise they provided over the years to the board."

For information about the minimum wage, paid public holidays, and the Employment Standards Act contact the Employment Standards Branch of the Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour at 1-888-452-2687, or visit the Employment Standards Branch website.


MEDIA CONTACT: Elaine Bell, Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour, 506-453-2568.