Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour

2009-10 New Brunswick Community College entry scholarships awarded (09/07/07)

NB 961

July 7, 2009

FREDERICTON (CNB) - Entry scholarships from the New Brunswick Community College (NBCC) and the Collège communautaire du Nouveau-Brunswick (CCNB) have been given to 72 graduates of anglophone and francophone high schools around the province, Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour Minister Donald Arseneault announced today.

"These scholarships reward students with additional funding to allow them to continue their work toward a post-secondary education," said Arseneault. "Assisting financially through these scholarships further demonstrates the Government of New Brunswick's commitment to make post-secondary education more affordable and accessible."

The scholarships are worth $1,000. To be eligible, recipients must already be accepted into one of the province's 12 NBCC-CCNB campuses. Each high school was responsible for selecting its own successful applicant, with selection based on academic achievement, extracurricular activities and financial need.

Scholarships are awarded in two installments: a $500 reduction in tuition fees at the beginning of the school year; and a $500 reduction in tuition fees at the beginning of the second semester, upon the successful completion of first semester courses. The awards are non-renewable and are funded by the community colleges.

"I would like to congratulate all recipients, and wish them success as they begin their education at our community colleges," said Arseneault. "As we move forward with Be Inspired. Be Ready. Be Better. The Action Plan to Transform Post-Secondary Education in New Brunswick, we have worked to increase the number of accessible spaces available in community colleges, while promoting an affordable education for students."

The scholarship recipients are:

CCNB - Campus de Bathurst

CCNB - Campus de Campbellton

CCNB - Campus de Dieppe

CCNB - Campus d'Edmundston

New Brunswick College of Craft and Design

NBCC - Miramichi Campus

NBCC - Moncton campus

NBCC - St. Andrews campus

NBCC - Saint John campus

NBCC - Woodstock campus

NBCC - Fredericton campus


MEDIA CONTACT: Sheri Strickland, communications, Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour, 506-453-8617.