Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour

2010-11 NBCC-CCNB entry scholarships awarded (10/07/19)

NB 1237

July 19, 2010

FREDERICTON (CNB) - Seventy-one high school graduates from across the province have received entry scholarships to attend the New Brunswick Community College (NBCC) or the

Collège communautaire du Nouveau-Brunswick (CCNB). Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour Minister Donald Arseneault made the announcement today.

"I am pleased to see so many students across the province participate actively in their education by enrolling in our post-secondary institutions," said Arseneault. "By giving each a $1,000 scholarship, we wish to make post-secondary education even more accessible and to ensure that a greater number of New Brunswickers can benefit. This initiative will also bring us closer to our goal of self-sufficiency by 2026."

To be eligible for the $1,000 scholarships, recipients must be accepted into one of the province's six NBCC campuses, five CCNB campuses or the New Brunswick College of Craft and Design. Each high school was responsible for selecting its applicant. Selection was based on academic achievement, extracurricular activities and financial need.

Scholarships are awarded in two installments: a $500 reduction in tuition fees at the beginning of the school year; and a further $500 reduction at the beginning of the second semester upon the successful completion of first semester courses. The awards are non-renewable.


EDITOR'S NOTE: A list of the recipients follows. MEDIA CONTACT: Thomas Lizotte, communications, Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour, 506-453-8617.

This year's NBCC-CCBB entry scholarship recipients:

CCNB, Bathurst campus

CCNB, Campbellton campus

CCNB, Dieppe campus

CCNB, Edmundston campus

CCNB, Acadian Peninsula campus

NBCC, Fredericton campus

NBCC, Miramichi campus

NBCC, Moncton campus

NBCC, Saint Andrews campus

NBCC, Saint John campus

NBCC, Woodstock campus

New Brunswick College of Craft and Design