Public Safety / Local Government

Five northwest municipalities sign emergency measures reciprocal agreement (09/06/26)

NB 923

June 26, 2009

CLAIR (CNB) - Five municipalities in the Madawaska region have signed an emergency measures reciprocal agreement that will put a plan in place to protect residents in case of an emergency. It is the first formal agreement for emergency preparedness in this region

Local Government Minister Bernard LeBlanc and Public Safety Minister and Solicitor General John W. Foran witnessed the signing today in Clair.

"After the floods of 2008, the provincial government commissioned a thorough review of the province's performance during that time," said LeBlanc. "The report found that smaller communities require some assistance with their emergency programs and, as a government, we have provided that assistance to these communities.

"I commend these municipalities for working together on this agreement that will put a plan in place to protect residents in the event of an emergency. This is a great example of the regional collaboration that is necessary if New Brunswick is to become self-sufficient by 2026."

The municipalities involved are Saint-François, Clair, Lac Baker, Baker Brook and Saint-Hilaire. They worked with the Department of Public Safety's New Brunswick Emergency Measures Organization and the Department of Local Government on the agreement, which provides the communities with an action plan in the event of a flood or other crisis.

The municipalities will work together in the event of an emergency by sharing resources and information and the costs associated with these events.

"Everyone shares in the responsibility for emergency preparedness," Foran said. "This spring, we launched a public awareness campaign to remind people about the importance of preparedness, and we are very pleased to see how New Brunswickers took action to protect their families and homes. The safety and security of our residents is crucial to a self-sufficient and sustainable community."


MEDIA CONTACT: Communications, Department of Local Government, 506-453-3700.