Tourism and Parks

Free admission to provincial parks on New Brunswick Day (09/07/29)

NB 1057

July 29, 2009

FREDERICTON (CNB) - Admission to all provincially operated parks will be free this New Brunswick Day, Aug. 3, Tourism and Parks Minister Stuart Jamieson announced today.

"New Brunswick Day presents a great opportunity for local residents, as well as visitors, to take advantage of the free entry and explore the beautiful scenery, recreational activities, and top-notch camping offered at each of our provincial parks," said Jamieson.

The parks offer a wide variety of activities, including camping, hiking, boating, golfing and swimming. More than 750,000 people visit the parks each year.

The Department of Tourism and Parks is responsible for the operation of nine provincial parks: de la République, Herring Cove, Mactaquac, Mount Carleton, Murray Beach, New River Beach, Parlee Beach, Sugarloaf, and The Anchorage.

More information on New Brunswick's provincial parks, including the location and features that each has to offer, may be found on the NB Parks website.


MEDIA CONTACT: Ryan Donaghy, communications, 506-457-6445,