CNB News Releases
Economic Development, Tourism and Culture

Recipients of arts grants (99/05/06)

NB 652

May 6, 1999

FREDERICTON (CNB) - The results of the latest juried competition for grants in the arts were announced today in Fredericton. Economic Development, Tourism and Culture Minister Roly MacIntyre announced the names of the grant recipients in three programs: arts scholarship, artist-in-residence, and New Brunswick arts-by-invitation.

"I am very impressed by the quality and commitment of the artists who applied under this latest juried competition," MacIntyre said. "These artists, both students and professionals, represent the best creative talent that our province has to offer. We are proud to be helping them to develop as artists."

The arts scholarships are for both students and professional artists seeking further education or training in the arts. The artist-in-residence grants are for organizations that wish to host professional artists in order to enable them to pursue specific projects and the New Brunswick arts-by-invitation program is designed to promote New-Brunswick's best artists to present work by invitation at out-of-province established arts events of national or international renown.

Under the arts scholarships programs, a total of 95 applications qualified for the juried competition and a total of $52,500 was awarded to the 24 successful applicants.

Creative Writing: Emily Bruhier, Fredericton, $2,500; Sarah Venart, Elgin, $2,500.

Music: Gregory Gallagher, Rothesay, $1,000; Measha Gosman, Fredericton, $2,500; Jeremy Thompson, Lepreau, $2,500; Stepan Arman, Saint John, $2,500; Jean-Francois Breau, Tracadie-Sheila, $1,000; Julien LeBlanc, Cocagne, $2,500; Lac-Hong Phi, Moncton, $2,500; Benjamin Harding, Dipper Harbour, $2,500; Robert MacDonald, Lower Brighton, $2,500; Stacey Lynn Read, Sackville, $1,000.

Theatre: Deborah Judah, Upper Kingsclear, $2,500; Érica Germain, Moncton, $2,500.

Craft: Darren Emenau, Fredericton, $1,000.

Visual Arts: Philip Iverson, Fredericton, $2,500; Monique François, Moncton, $2,500;

Shannon Cunningham, Fredericton, $2,500; Crystal Fournier, Sheffield, $2,000; Lisa Pearson, Sussex, $2,000.

Dance: Mylène Savoie, Moncton, $2,500; Kelley Buckley, Riverview, $2,500; Tessa McKim, Keswick Ridge, $2,500; Aleza Gratian, Hillsborough, $2,000.

Under the artist-in-residence programs, a total of $62,194 was awarded to the 10 successful applicants.

Craft: New Brunswick College of Craft and Design, Fredericton, for Vita Plume, $5,000; English Literary Arts: University of New Brunswick, Fredericton, for Colleen Wagner, $10,000.

Music: Université de Moncton, Moncton, for the Quatuor Arthur-LeBlanc, $16,000; University of New Brunswick, Fredericton, for Richard Raymond, $10,000; University of New Brunswick, Saint John, for the Saint John String Quartet, $5,250.

Theatre: Théâtre L'Escaouette, Moncton, for Philippe Soldevila, $2,750; Théâtre populaire d'Acadie, Caraquet, for Christianne St-Pierre, $4,200; Université de Moncton, Moncton, for Herménégilde Chiasson, Gracia Couturier, France Daigle and Gerald LeBlanc, $2,000.

Visual Arts: IMAGO, Moncton, for Elizabeth Dupond and Otis Tamasaukas, $3,425;
Struts Gallery, Sackville, for Deborah Margo, $3,569.

Under the arts-by-invitation programs, a total of six applications qualified for the juried competition and a total of $9,160 was awarded to the four successful applicants.

Music: Hillsborough Girls Choir, Riverview, $5,000.

Theatre: Moncton High School Drama Dept., Moncton, $1,000.

Visual Arts: Anne-Marie Sirois, Moncton, $500; Dan Steeves, Sackville, $2,660.

The juried programs are administrated by the New-Brunswick Arts Board and financed through the Arts Development Trust Fund. The deadline for application was January 31,1999. The jurors were selected from a list approved by the New Brunswick Arts Board. The multidisciplinary jury met on March 29, 30 and 31, 1999, and evaluated the applications according to the program criteria. The applications receiving the highest evaluations were submitted to the minister for approval.

Jury members for this competition included: Linda Brine, Fredericton, craft; Annette Brison, Memramcook, theatre; Rosi Jory, Saint John, creative writing; Wendy Nielsen, Cambridge Narrows, music; Renée Rioux, Memramcook, dance; Charles Thériault, Nigadoo, film and video; Terry Graff, Charlottetown, PEI, visual arts and out-of-province juror.


MEDIA CONTACT: Craig Chouinard, communications, Economic Development, Tourism and Culture, 506-444-5916; Charlotte Glencross, Arts Development Branch, Department of Economic Development, Tourism and Culture, 506-453-4307.