Wellness, Culture and Sport

Members appointed to New Brunswick Museum board of directors (09/06/09)

NB 823

June 9, 2009

FREDERICTON (CNB) - Six new members representing various geographic regions and community-interest groups have been appointed to the board of directors of the New Brunswick Museum. Wellness, Culture and Sport Minister Hédard Albert made the announcement today.

The new appointments are Kathryn Hamer (Sackville), Vincent L. Duff (Hampton), Maurice Basque (Moncton), Jimmy Abud (Dalhousie), Donna Mulholland (Fredericton), and Frederick Page (St. Andrews).

"The appointment of these members strengthens provincial geographic representation on the board," said Albert. "The museum's work lets New Brunswickers truly appreciate the richness of the province's history, natural environment and culture. I am confident that this board will accomplish great things to ensure the continued success of the museum."

Two current board members have been reappointed. They are Judith Baxter (Clifton Royal) and Louis Lavoie (Edmundston).

The New Brunswick Museum is New Brunswick's provincial museum, and is Canada's oldest continuing museum. It is responsible for the preservation, understanding, management and interpretation of the natural and human heritage of New Brunswick.

The museum operates two facilities in Saint John - the Collections Centre on Douglas Avenue, and the Exhibition Centre at Market Square) - as well as a provincial outreach program. More information on the New Brunswick Museum is available online.


EDITOR'S NOTE: Brief biographies of the new members follow. MEDIA CONTACT: Danielle Phillips, communications, Department of Wellness, Culture and Sport, 506-457-6445.

Biographies of new members

Kathryn Hamer is the former vice-president of the University of New Brunswick Saint John. She retired from that position in June 2008, and currently acts as a consultant to the University of New Brunswick on international initiatives. Prior to becoming vice-president, she was dean of arts at Mount Allison University. She has published a number of academic publications, and has won several awards. She is an active member of the community, and has served on a number of regional and provincial boards and committees.

Vincent L. Duff is a retired chartered accountant. He was formerly a partner in Grant Thornton LLP, responsible for insolvency assignments for New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island, as well as managing partner and audit partner in several offices. Since 2002, Duff has been a consultant to Grant Thornton LLP in its insolvency and restructuring practice in Atlantic Canada. He currently serves as vice-chair of the New Brunswick Insurance Board, and is involved in several community groups.

Maurice Basque is director of the Acadian Studies Institute at the Université de Moncton. Prior to that, he served as director of the Acadian Studies Program at Université de Moncton, and was responsible for the Centre d'études acadiennes and the Musée Acadien. He has been a professor in the department of history and geography at the Université de Moncton; a researcher; an author and producer for CBC and Radio Canada and other organizations; and has written many academic publications. He has been involved in a number of Acadian cultural, heritage and community organizations, and has won several awards for his work.

Jimmy Abud is owner/operator of the Best Western Hotel and the Abud Department Store in Dalhousie. He is an accomplished musician and a member of several musical groups. He is vice-president (Atlantic provinces) of the Forum Francophone des Affaires, and has been involved in a number of community organizations.

Donna Mulholland is a former civil servant who most recently served as acting assistant deputy minister responsible for policy, labour market analysis and transition, with the Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour. Prior to that appointment, she held several positions with the Department of Health and Wellness, and related organizations. Mulholland has been involved in several community organizations. She holds a diploma in radiologic technology, an undergraduate degree in business administration, and a masters degree in health services administration.

Frederick Page is a federal civil servant with the Department of Fisheries and Oceans Canada. He is director of the National Centre for Integrated Aquaculture Science, as well as section head of the Coastal Ocean Research Section, and research scientist in oceanography at the biological station in St. Andrews. He has published extensively in technical and academic publications, and has served on a number of Canadian and international aquaculture and marine committees. Page is an adjunct professor at University of New Brunswick Saint John.