New Brunswick Courts
New Brunswick Courts
New Brunswick Courts

The Chief Justice of New Brunswick

The Chief Justice of New Brunswick serves at the apex of the court structure established by the Legislature and exercises this responsibility in addition to the adjudicative and administrative duties that fall to the chief judicial officer of the Province. By statute, the Chief Justice of New Brunswick is sworn or affirmed into office by the Lieutenant-Governor, administers the oath or affirmation of office to the Chief Justice of the Court of Queen’s Bench and to the other justices of the Court of Appeal, and has rank and precedence over all other judges of the courts of the Province. The Chief Justice is a member of the Canadian Judicial Council. As well, he or she acts as Administrator of the Province and signs all Orders-in-Council in the Lieutenant-Governor’s absence.

Judicial Matters

The Honourable J. Ernest Drapeau, Chief Justice of New Brunswick, is a judge of the Court of Appeal and exercises the adjudicative duties attached to that office as part of a team that comprises five other regular judges: J.C. Marc Richard, Kathleen A. Quigg, Bradley V. Green, Barbara L. Baird and Raymond T. French, as well as two supernumerary judges, Margaret E.L. Larlee and Alexandre Deschênes. The Chief Justice is charged with the responsibility of administering the Court of Appeal, a responsibility that includes chairing the meetings of the Court, as well as coordinating and apportioning the work of the judges of the Court of Appeal.

In addition, the Chief Justice has the power to determine the general policy of the Court of Appeal and the Court of Queen’s Bench in judicial matters.

Traditionally, the Chief Justice is consulted by government before any decision is taken that might significantly affect the administration of justice in the Province.

General Matters

The Chief Justice of New Brunswick is called upon to serve in several other ways, including: (1) chairing the committee invested with the responsibility of considering applications for appointment to the Provincial Court of New Brunswick; (2) chairing the committee responsible for the selection of Queen’s Counsel; (3) chairing the Statutory Rules Committee, which may inquire into and examine the administration and functioning of the Courts, the Judicature Act and the Rules of Court, the working of and arrangements governing the performance of duties by the officers of the Courts and the procedure of the Courts; (4) presiding over Bar Admission and Queen’s Counsel ceremonies; and (5) chairing the committee tasked with recommending Order of New Brunswick recipients.

La Cours Provinciale Du Nouveau-Brunswick
Les Cours du Nouveau-Brunswick
Les Cours du Nouveau-Brunswick

Juge en chef du Nouveau-Brunswick

Le juge en chef du Nouveau-Brunswick siège au sommet de la structure judiciaire mise sur pied par le pouvoir législatif, et il assume cette responsabilité en sus des fonctions juridictionnelles et administratives qui incombent au principal officier de justice de la province. En vertu de la loi, le juge en chef du Nouveau-Brunswick prête serment ou fait l'affirmation d'office devant le lieutenant-gouverneur, il fait prêter serment ou souscrire l'affirmation d'office au juge en chef de la Cour du Banc de la Reine et aux autres juges de la Cour d'appel et il a préséance sur tous les autres juges des tribunaux de la province. Le juge en chef est membre du Conseil canadien de la magistrature. En outre, il agit comme administrateur de la province et il signe tous les décrets en l'absence du lieutenant-gouverneur.

Affaires judiciaires

L’honorable J. Ernest Drapeau, juge en chef du Nouveau-Brunswick, est un juge de la Cour d'appel qui exerce les fonctions juridictionnelles liées à son poste au sein d'une équipe qui se compose de cinq autres simples juges, les  J.C. Marc Richard, Kathleen A. Quigg, Bradley V. Green, Barbara L. Baird et Raymond T. French ainsi que de deux juges surnuméraires, les juges Margaret E.L. Larlee et Alexandre Deschênes. Il incombe au juge en chef d'administrer la Cour d'appel, notamment en présidant les assemblées de la Cour, ainsi que de coordonner et de répartir le travail des juges de la Cour d'appel.

De plus, le juge en chef a le pouvoir de déterminer la politique générale de la Cour d'appel et de la Cour du Banc de la Reine en matière judiciaire.

La tradition veut que le gouvernement consulte le juge en chef avant de prendre toute décision qui pourrait avoir des répercussions importances sur l'administration de la justice dans la province.

Affaires générales

Le juge en chef du Nouveau-Brunswick remplit plusieurs autres fonctions, dont les suivantes : 1) il préside le comité qui est chargé de passer en revue les candidatures à la Cour provinciale du Nouveau-Brunswick; 2) il préside le comité qui est chargé de choisir les conseillers de la reine; 3) il préside le comité sur les règles légales qui peut passer en revue et examiner l'administration et le fonctionnement des tribunaux, de la Loi sur l'organisation judiciaire et des règles établies sous son régime, l'exécution et l'encadrement des tâches des fonctionnaires des tribunaux ainsi que la procédure devant les tribunaux; 4) il préside les cérémonies d'admission au Barreau et de prestation du serment par les conseillers de la reine; 5) il préside le comité qui est chargé de recommander les futurs récipiendaires de l'Ordre du Nouveau-Brunswick.


Communiquer avec les Cours du Nouveau-Brunswick