Untitled Document
Provincial Court

Provincial Court Judges

In order to be appointed to the Provincial Court, candidates must have been members in good standing of the New Brunswick Bar for at least 10 years and have undergone a screening process conducted by a committee comprised of members of the public, the practicing Bar, and the judiciary. Provincial Court judges are appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council.

Once appointed, the judge will preside over matters until retirement, generally at age 65. Judges who are eligible to retire may choose either to continue sitting as judges on a supernumerary basis until age 75 or to preside on a "per diem" (as needed) basis.

The Provincial Court of New Brunswick presently consists of a Chief Judge, an Associate Chief Judge, 22 judges, 9 supernumerary judges and 2 per diem judges.

Chief Judge Pierre W. Arseneault

I was born in 1954 in Dalhousie, N.B., where I attended elementary and high school.  In 1976, I graduated with distinction from the University of New Brunswick with a Bachelor of Arts (Economics), and in 1978, I obtained a Bachelor of Laws degree.  During my law studies, I held a Lord Beaverbrook Scholarship.  I then worked for two years in the practice of D. Paul Hayes before joining the law firm of McIntyre & McIntyre, where I worked until my appointment to the Provincial Court in 1988.  I participated in various community groups, especially in the field of health, as a member of the Board of Directors of St. Joseph’s Hospital in Dalhousie for a number of years.  I sat as Provincial Court Judge in the Judicial District of Campbellton until 2003, when I accepted a transfer to Moncton. On several occasions, I have been a lecturer for the Law Society of New Brunswick course in penal law.  I have also acted as chair of the compensation committee for the New Brunswick Provincial Court Judges Association.  In December 2006, I was appointed Associate Chief Judge and on January 17, 2014 I was appointed Chief judge of the Provincial Court.


2004
Provincial Court of New Brunswick
(click here for a list  of Provincial Court locations)

Juge en chef du Nouveau-Brunswick
Cour provinciale

Juges de la Cour provinciale

Pour être nommés à la Cour provinciale, les candidats doivent être membres en règle du Barreau de la province depuis au moins 10 ans et avoir subi un processus de sélection mené par un comité composé de représentants du public, du Barreau et de la magistrature. Les juges de la Cour provinciale sont nommés par le gouvernement provincial.

Une fois qu'ils sont nommés, les juges entendent des causes jusqu'à leur retraite, généralement à l'âge de 65 ans. Les juges à la retraite peuvent choisir de continuer à siéger comme juges à titre surnuméraire jusqu'à l'âge de 75 ans ou d'entendre les causes sur une base journalière ou au besoin.

La Cour provinciale du Nouveau-Brunswick comprend actuellement un juge en chef, un juge en chef associé, 22 juges, 9 juges surnuméraires et 2 juges sur une base journalière.

Le juge en chef Pierre W. Arseneault

Le juge en chef associé Pierre Arseneault est né à Dalhousie NB en 1954 où il a fait ses études primaires et secondaires. Par la suite. il a obtenu un baccalauréat ès arts avec distinction en économie en 1976 et un baccalauréat en droit à l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick en 1978. Durant ses études en droit, il était détenteur d’une bourse Lord Beaverbrook. Il a ensuite travaillé pendant deux ans au cabinet de Me. D. Paul Hayes avant de se joindre au cabinet McIntyre et McIntyre jusqu’à sa nomination à la Cour provinciale en 1988. Il a participé à différents organismes communautaires particulièrement dans le domaine de la santé à l’hôpital St. Joseph de Dalhousie comme membre du conseil d’administration pendant plusieurs années. Il a siégé en tant que juge de la Cour provinciale dans le district judiciaire de Campbellton jusqu’en 2003 avant d’accepter un transfert à Moncton. Il a agi à titre de conférencier au cours du barreau du Nouveau-Brunswick dans le domaine du droit pénal à plusieurs reprises. Il a aussi agi à titre de président du comité de compensation pour l’Association des juges de la Cour provinciale du Nouveau-Brunswick. Il a été nommé juge en chef associé en décembre 2006 et juge en chef le 17 janvier 2014.


2004
La Cour
provinciale du Nouveau-Brunswick
(Cliquer ici pour la liste des bureaux de la Cour
provinciale)