New Brunswick Courts
New Brunswick Courts
New Brunswick Courts

Overview

The Court of Appeal
of New Brunswick
The Court of Appeal is the highest court in this province; hears appeals in criminal and civil matters. It hears appeals from the Court of Queen's Bench, Probate Court, Provincial Court (indictable offences) and various administrative tribunals, for example, the appeals tribunal under the Workplace Health, Safety and Compensation Commission Act. The court sits in Fredericton, although it may sit elsewhere if the Chief Justice of New Brunswick so directs.

The Court of Queen's Bench
of New Brunswick
The Probate Court
of New Brunswick
The Court of Queen’s Bench hears all matters within the domain of family law. The Court of Queen’s Bench also has original jurisdiction in major civil and criminal cases. In addition, it has appellate jurisdiction over summary conviction offences from the Provincial Court. The Court of Queen’s Bench is divided into two divisions:
          • Family Division
          • Trial Divison
The Probate Court deals with matters involving wills and estates of deceased persons. Judges from the Court of Queen’s Bench preside over the Probate Court.

The Provincial Court
of New Brunswick
This court is the entry point for all persons charged with offences under the Criminal Code or other federal or provincial legislation. The Provincial Court has jurisdiction over almost all criminal matters involving both youth and adults. Even in cases where the accused chooses to be tried by the Court of Queen’s Bench, the Provincial Court still may be required to hold a hearing to determine whether the accused is to be detained in custody, or to hold a Preliminary Inquiry to determine whether the accused is to stand trial.

La Cours Provinciale Du Nouveau-Brunswick
Les Cours du Nouveau-Brunswick
Les Cours du Nouveau-Brunswick

Vue d'ensemble

La Cour d’appel du
Nouveau-Brunswick

La Cour d’appel du Nouveau-Brunswick a compétence en appel en matières pénales et civiles. Elle entend les pourvois en appel des décisions de la Cour du Banc de la Reine, de la Cour des successions, de la Cour provinciale (actes criminels) et de divers tribunaux administratifs, notamment du Tribunal d’appel établi en vertu de la Loi sur la Commission de la santé, de la sécurité et de l’indemnisation des accidents du travail. La Cour siège à Fredericton, mais elle peut tenir des audiences ailleurs si le juge en chef le décide.


La Cour du Banc de la Reine du
Nouveau-Brunswick
La Cour des successions du
Nouveau-Brunswick
La Cour du Banc de la Reine entend tous les litiges en droit de la famille. Elle a aussi compétence en première instance dans les affaires civiles et pénales d’envergure. De plus, elle est compétente en appel dans les dossiers de poursuites sommaires. La Cour du Banc de la Reine se compose des deux divisions suivantes :
          • Division de la famille
          • Division de première instance
La Cour des successions s’occupe des affaires qui mettent en cause le testament et les biens des personnes décédées. Ce sont les juges de la Cour du Banc de la Reine qui président les audiences de la Cour des successions.

La Cour provinciale du
Nouveau-Brunswick
Cette cour est le point d’entrée pour toutes personnes accusées d’infractions en vertu du Code criminel ou autres lois fédérales ou provinciales. La Cour provinciale à compétence sur la presque totalité des matières criminelles impliquant les accusés adolescents et adultes. Même dans les instances où l’accusé choisit d’être jugé par la Cour du Banc de la Reine, la Cour provinciale peut être appelée à présider une audience à savoir si l’accusé doit être détenu en attendant son procès ou pour statuer, dans le cadre d’une Enquête préliminaire, si l’accusé doit être renvoyé pour subir son procès.

Communiquer avec les Cours du Nouveau-Brunswick