Background

New Brunswick Workplace Health, Safety and Compensation Commission (WHSCC)

General

The WHSCC is responsible for the administration of the Workplace Health, Safety and Compensation Commission Act, the Workers' Compensation Act, the Occupational Health and Safety Act and corresponding regulations.

The affairs of the WHSCC are administered by a Board of Directors, comprising a part-time Chairperson, full-time President and Chief Executive Officer, full-time Chairperson of the Appeals Tribunal, one part-time member representing the interests of the general public, and a minimum of six additional part-time members, equally representative of workers and employers.

The responsibilities of the Board of Directors span several areas. Board members are mandated to advance the principle that every worker is entitled to a safe and healthy work environment; promote an understanding of, acceptance of, and compliance with the laws relating to the Workplace Health, Safety and Compensation Commission, and develop and conduct educational programs.

By legislation ( WHSCC Act , s.7) the WHSCC Board has the specific responsibility to:

(a)

Undertake research on matters related to workers' health, safety and compensation;

(b)

Advise the Minister on developments in the field of workers' health, safety and compensation principles in other jurisdictions;

(c)

Propose legislation, policies and practices to promote workers' health, safety and compensation; and,

(d)

Recommend changes in this Act, the Workers' Compensation Act, the Occupational Health and Safety Act, and the regulations, in order to promote better service by the commission.

The WHSCC administers no-fault workplace accident and disability insurance for employers and workers, funded solely through assessments on employers. In providing this insurance coverage, the WHSCC is required by legislation to maintain a fully-funded program, so benefits promised to injured workers are secure going into the future.

Recent History of the Workplace Health, Safety and Compensation, including legislative change

In the 1970s and 80s, all Canadian Workers' Compensation systems and most in the United States underwent a fundamental change from awarding benefits according to a schedule for the loss of a body part or function, to a wage-loss insurance system.

It was a difficult transition, primarily due to the complexity of projecting appropriate assessment levels for employers. Most jurisdictions seriously underestimated the cost of benefits and slipped into an unfunded position very quickly. New Brunswick was no exception. The New Brunswick wage-loss system was introduced in 1982 and by 1985 the system had an unfunded liability of $50 million. In 1990, the projected unfunded liability for 1992 was in excess of $100 million.

To address this crisis, a joint labour-management committee was established to make recommendations on how to save the system from inevitable collapse. The underlying principal of the reforms proposed by the committee was that an injured worker should not receive more earnings while on claim, than while working.

In summary, the 1993 reforms included:

  • Reducing wage recovery from 90% of average net earnings, to 80%;
  • Disallowing employers to “top up” compensation benefits; and,
  • Introducing a three-day waiting period for benefits (reimbursable after 30 days on claim)

In 1996, the Workplace Health, Safety and Compensation Commission established a second joint committee, comprising labour and management representatives, to “examine the service benefits and assessment issues facing the Commission as it approaches fiscal stability .” After meeting with interested groups throughout the province, the Committee made recommendations to the Workplace Health, Safety and Compensation Commission with respect to “strategic solutions and direction.”

In summary, the 1998 reforms included:

  • Increasing wage recovery from 80% of average net earnings, to 85%;
  • Removing the three-day wait when an injured worker is hospitalized and where the injury is recurrent; and,
  • Reimbursing the three-day wait after 20 days on claim, rather than 30.

Since 2003, additional changes to the Workers' Compensation Act have been implemented, including:

  • Expansion of “right to refuse” unsafe work;
  • Updated first aid requirements at workplaces, and
  • Mandatory training for members of joint health and safety committees.

Conclusion 

Recognizing the 25 years of ongoing reform to the New Brunswick workers' compensation system, and reforms brought forward to compensation systems across Canada and internationally, the government has called for an independent and comprehensive review of the Workplace Health, Safety and Compensation System by a three-member panel. The Review Panel will determine how well the current system compares to the workers' compensation systems across Canada and identify key considerations for the future.


Independent Review Panel
Disclaimer | Privacy Statement

Contexte

Commission de la santé, de la sécurité et de l'indemnisation des accidents au travail (CSSIAT) du Nouveau-Brunswick

Généralités

La CSSIAT est responsable de l'administration de la Loi sur la Commission de la santé, de la sécurité et de l'indemnisation des accidents au travail, de la Loi sur les accidents du travail, de la Loi sur l'hygiène et la sécurité au travail et de ses règlements d'application.

Les affaires de la CSSIAT sont administrées par un conseil d'administration composé d'un président à temps partiel, d'un président-directeur général à temps plein, d'un président du tribunal d'appel à temps plein, d'un membre à temps partiel représentant les intérêts du grand public et d'au moins six autres membres à temps partiel, représentant également les travailleurs et les employeurs.

Les responsabilités du conseil d'administration portent sur plusieurs domaines. Les membres du conseil sont mandatés de faire la promotion du principe que chaque travailleur a droit à un milieu de travail sain et sécuritaire, d'encourager la compréhension, l'acceptation et la conformité à l'égard des lois relatives à la CSSIAT et de mettre au point et en œuvre des programmes éducatifs à cet effet.

En vertu de la loi ( Loi sur la CSSIAT , art. 7), le conseil d'administration de la CSSIAT est chargé précisément des fonctions suivantes :

  (a)

entreprendre des recherches sur des questions liées à la santé, à la sécurité et à l'indemnisation des accidents du travail;

  (b)

informer le ministre sur les développements liés aux principes régissant la santé, la sécurité et l'indemnisation des accidents au travail dans d'autres instances gouvernementales;

  (c)

proposer des lois, des politiques et des pratiques visant à promouvoir la santé, la sécurité et l'indemnisation des accidents au travail;

  (d)

recommander des modifications à la Loi sur la CSSIAT , à la Loi sur les accidents du travail et à la Loi sur l'hygiène et la sécurité au travail et à leurs règlements d'application, afin d'assurer un meilleur service de la Commission.

La CSSIAT administre une assurance en cas d'accident et d'invalidité au travail sans égard à la responsabilité pour les employeurs et leurs travailleurs, financée uniquement par les cotisations prélevées auprès des employeurs. En offrant cette couverture d'assurance, la CSSIAT est tenue, en vertu de la loi, de maintenir un programme entièrement capitalisé, afin que les prestations promises aux travailleurs blessés soient assurées pour l'avenir

Historique récent de la CSSIAT, y compris les modifications législatives

Dans les années 1970 et 1980, la plupart des régimes d'indemnisation des accidents du travail ont fait l'objet d'un changement fondamental en passant d'une attribution des prestations fondée sur un barème lié à la perte d'une partie ou d'une fonction corporelle à un régime d'assurance-salaire.

La transition a été difficile en raison surtout de la complexité de la projection des taux de cotisation appropriés des employeurs. La plupart des instances gouvernementales ont grandement sous-estimé le coût des prestations et se sont rapidement retrouvées dans une situation de non-capitalisation. Le Nouveau-Brunswick ne faisait pas exception. Le régime d'assurance-salaire du Nouveau-Brunswick a été adopté en 1982, et dès 1985, il essuyait une dette non provisionnée de 50 millions de dollars. En 1990, la dette non provisionnée prévue pour 1992 dépassait 100 millions de dollars.

Pour parer à cette crise, un comité mixte syndical-patronal a été constitué afin de faire des recommandations sur la façon d'empêcher le régime de sombrer dans un effondrement inévitable. Le principe sous-jacent des réformes proposées par le comité stipulait que les gains retirés des prestations par un travailleur blessé ne devaient pas être supérieurs à ceux qu'il touche lorsqu'il travaille.

Bref, les réformes de 1993 incluaient les mesures suivantes :

  • faire passer le recouvrement du salaire de 90 % de la moyenne des gains nets à 80 %;
  • empêcher les employeurs « d'ajouter un supplément » aux prestations d'indemnisation;
  • imposer une période d'attente de trois jours pour toucher les prestations (remboursable après 30 jours de versement des prestations).

En 1996, la CSSIA a créé un deuxième comité mixte, encore une fois composé de représentants syndicaux-patronaux, afin « d'examiner les services de prestations et les questions de cotisations auxquels est confrontée la Commission au fur et à mesure qu'elle se rapproche de la stabilité financière . » Après avoir rencontré les groupes intéressés dans toute la province, le comité a formulé des recommandations à la CSSIAT en ce qui a trait aux « solutions et à l'orientation stratégiques ».

Bref, les réformes de 1998 incluaient les mesures suivantes :

  • faire passer le recouvrement du salaire de 80 % de la moyenne des gains nets à 85 %;
  • enlever la période d'attente de trois jours lorsqu'un travailleur blessé est hospitalisé et lorsque la blessure est récurrente;
  • rembourser la période d'attente de trois jours après 20 jours de versement des prestations au lieu de 30.

Depuis 2003, des modifications supplémentaires ont été apportées à la Loi sur les accidents du travail , dont :

  • l'élargissement du « droit de refuser » du travail non sécuritaire;
  • la mise à jour des exigences en matière des premiers soins dans les milieux de travail;
  • la formation obligatoire pour les membres des comités mixtes d'hygiène et de sécurité.

Conclusion

Compte tenu des 25 ans de réforme continue au régime d'indemnisation des accidents au travail du Nouveau-Brunswick et des réformes apportées aux régimes d'indemnisation à l'échelle nationale et internationale, le gouvernement a demandé un examen indépendant et complet de la CSSIAT par un comité composé de trois membres. Ce comité d'étude déterminera dans quelle mesure le système actuel se compare aux régimes d'indemnisation des accidents au travail du Canada et établira les principales considérations pour l'avenir.


Comité d'étude indépendant
Décharge
| Déclaration de confidentialité