Mandate

In order to determine whether the workplace health, safety and compensation system is functioning appropriately and to its fullest potential, consideration must be given to what a New Brunswick worker faces when an injury occurs. To address this, two questions have emerged. Is the workplace health, safety and compensation system adequate compared to its Canadian counterparts? Does the Workplace Health, Safety and Compensation Commission provide appropriate coverage within the New Brunswick economic and social context?

The following mandate was developed to ensure the Review Panel arrives at a comprehensive and well-founded response to these questions, within a reasonable timeframe. The Review Panel's mandate comprises the following five elements:

  1. Independent and Comprehensive Review
  2. Parameters of the Review
  3. Time Frame
  4. Panel Members
  5. Deliverables

1. Independent and Comprehensive Review

The work of the Review Panel must be independent from the undue influence of any one interest group. The independence of the Review Panel will be fostered through independent research and respectful consultations and dialogue among interested parties.


2. Parameters of Review

It is suggested the review be conducted in the following four phases:

Phase I
Phase I will entail an open-ended and comprehensive examination of the workplace health, safety and compensation environment, allowing the Review Panel to pursue identified and unidentified areas of potential concern. The Review Panel will conduct an environmental scan of workplace health, safety and compensation to ascertain the current workplace environment, including the administration of the Workplace Health Safety and Compensation Commission and the services it provides.

The environmental scan may involve formal and informal discussions with officials from the Workplace Health, Safety and Compensation Commission and service providers involved in the delivery of workplace health, safety and compensation programs and services.

Phase II
Activities in Phase II will be based on the outcomes from Phase I. The Review Panel will develop a strategy for inter-jurisdictional consultations, which shall include a thorough analysis of the New Brunswick workplace health, safety and compensation system in comparison with equivalent systems currently in place in all other Canadian jurisdictions. The Review Panel will develop appropriate consultation tools (e.g., questionnaire) to ensure the completion of a comprehensive and effective comparative analysis.

Without prejudicing the outcomes of Phase I, at a minimum, the following questions will be addressed in Phase II:


  I .

How well does the Workplace Health Safety and Compensation Commission's legislated scope of coverage compare to other Canadian jurisdictions, including: number of workers covered; benefits offered to injured workers; treatment of workers while on benefits, and back-to-work activity reports.

 II.

How well does the Workplace Health Safety and Compensation Commission compare to other Canadian jurisdictions in terms of financial performance, including the degree of security for benefits offered; stability of assessment rates, and governance of the financial management.

III.

How well does the Workplace Health, Safety and Compensation Commission address prevention of injuries, including occupational health and safety education; resources allocated to education, and results achieved, such as measures of accident frequency?

IV.

How well does the Workplace Health, Safety and Compensation Commission compare to other Canadian jurisdictions in terms of the structure of the board of governance, policy development and foresight, and stakeholder input.

 V.

How well does the New Brunswick workplace health, safety and compensation appeal system compare in terms of processes, cost and efficiency.

VI.

How well does the New Brunswick Workplace Health, Safety and Compensation Commission's relationship with healthcare and income support providers compare to the relationships held by other Canadian workplace health, safety and compensation groups and their providers?


Phase III
In Phase III, the Review Panel will develop and execute a targeted consultation to engage key stakeholders and obtain feedback on the findings from Phases I and II. Stakeholder perspectives and recommendations will be sought.

Phase IV
In Phase IV, the Review Panel will develop a Final Report summarizing the findings and analytical conclusions drawn from Phases I, II and III, as well as the methodology used for each stage.

The Final Report will detail specific recommendations for changes to the New Brunswick Workplace Health, Safety and Compensation Commission and will provide a detailed rationale for each recommendation.

The Final Report will also detail possible benchmarks, including detailed rationale for each.

The Final Report will be submitted by the Review Panel Chair, on behalf of the Review Panel, to the Workplace Health, Safety and Compensation Commission and the Minister of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour.


3. Timeframe

The Review Panel will commence in May 2007 and will complete its mandate no later than January 2008.


4. Review Panel Members

The Review Panel comprises three members appointed by government to carry out the mandate. One member is appointed as Chair.

Review Panel members include a representative of labour and a representative of employers. The Chair is a neutral third party.

All Review Panel members will be highly respected individuals, with prior knowledge of how workers' compensation systems function and an understanding of the fragile environment in which these agencies operate.

At least one Review Panel member will be fluent in each official language.

The Review Panel will be supported by an Executive Co-ordinator who will oversee all phases and provide support as needed, including drafting the final report under the direction of the Review Panel.

The Review Panel will strive for consensus in all matters.

The Chair will be tasked with the overall direction and co-ordination of the review. As such, s/he will be responsible for ensuring the mandate of the Review Panel is clearly respected.


5. Deliverables

The deliverables include a Final Report which will be released publicly in both official languages.

In the Final Report, the Review Panel should detail the methodology adopted for each phase, findings and analysis, specific and realistic recommendations for possible changes to the New Brunswick Workplace Health, Safety and Compensation Commission.

The Review Panel will establish benchmarks in key areas (determined through the review process) and provide a rationale for their selection.

The Final Report will be submitted simultaneously to the Workplace Health. Safety and Compensation Commission and the Minister of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour no later than January 2008.


Independent Review Panel
Disclaimer | Privacy Statement

Mandat

Pour déterminer si le régime de la CSSIAT fonctionne correctement et à son plein potentiel, il faut prendre en compte ce que doit affronter un travailleur du Nouveau-Brunswick lorsqu'il se blesse. Pour aborder cette question, deux interrogations se posent. Le régime de la CSSIAT est-il adéquat lorsqu'il est comparé à ses contreparties canadiennes? À l'heure actuelle, la CSSIAT
offre-t-elle une protection suffisante dans le contexte socioéconomique du Nouveau-Brunswick?

Le mandat suivant a été élaboré afin de s'assurer que le Comité d'étude en arrive à une réponse complète et bien fondée à ces questions dans un délai raisonnable. Le mandat du comité comporte les cinq éléments suivants :

  1. une étude indépendante et complète
  2. les paramètres de l'étude
  3. un calendrier
  4. les membres du comité
  5. les travaux livrables
  1. Étude indépendante et complète
   

Les travaux du comité doivent être à l'abri de l'influence indue de tout groupe d'intérêt.

'indépendance du comité sera favorisée grâce à des recherches indépendantes et à des consultations, et à un dialogue respectueux au sein des parties intéressées.


  2. Paramètres de l'étude
   

Il est recommandé que l'étude ait lieu en quatre étapes :

Première étape
La première étape comportera un examen ouvert et complet de l'environnement de la CSSIAT, permettant au comité d'approfondir les domaines potentiels de préoccupation cernés et non cernés. Le comité mènera une analyse conjoncturelle de la CSSIAT afin de définir l'actuel environnement du milieu du travail, y compris l'administration de la CSSIAT et les services qu'elle offre.

L'analyse conjoncturelle peut comprendre des discussions officielles et non officielles avec des représentants de la CSSIAT et des fournisseurs de services participant à la prestation de programmes et de services de la CSSIAT.

Deuxième étape
Les activités de la deuxième étape s'appuieront sur les résultats de la première étape. Le comité mettra au point une stratégie pour les consultations intergouvernementales, ce qui inclura une analyse minutieuse du régime de la CSSIAT du Nouveau-Brunswick en comparaison avec des régimes équivalents actuellement en place dans d'autres instances gouvernementales canadiennes. Le comité mettra au point des outils de consultation appropriés (p. ex. un questionnaire) afin d'assurer la réalisation d'une analyse comparative complète et efficace.

ans préjuger des résultats de la première étape, à tout le moins, les questions suivantes seront abordées dans la deuxième étape :

      I.

Dans quelle mesure la portée légiférée de la protection de la CSSIAT se compare-t-elle aux autres provinces et territoires canadiens, notamment le nombre de travailleurs couverts, les prestations offertes aux travailleurs blessés, les soins dispensés aux travailleurs pendant qu'ils touchent leurs prestations et les rapports d'activités une fois les travailleurs retournés au travail?

     II.

Dans quelle mesure la CSSIAT se compare-t-elle aux autres provinces et territoires canadiens sur le plan de son rendement financier, notamment le degré de sécurité par rapport aux prestations offertes, la stabilité de ses taux de cotisation et son mode de gestion financière dans son ensemble?

    III.

Dans quelle mesure la CSSIAT s'occupe-t-elle de la prévention des blessures, notamment de l'éducation en matière de santé et de sécurité au travail, des ressources affectées à l'éducation et des résultats atteints tels que les mesures de la fréquence des accidents?

    IV.

Dans quelle mesure la CSSIAT se compare-t-elle à d'autres provinces et territoires canadiens sur le plan de la structure du conseil de gouvernance, de l'élaboration des politiques et de la prévoyance ainsi que de la contribution des intervenants?

     V.

Dans quelle mesure le système d'appel de la CSSIAT du Nouveau-Brunswick se compare-t-il sur le plan des processus, du coût et de l'efficacité du système?

    VI.

Dans quelle mesure le lien de la CSSIAT avec ses fournisseurs de soins de santé et d'aide au revenu se compare-t-il avec les liens entretenus par d'autres CSSIAT canadiennes et leurs fournisseurs?

   

Troisième étape
Dans la troisième étape, le comité mettra en place et en œuvre une consultation ciblée comme moyen de mobiliser les principaux intervenants afin d'obtenir leur rétroaction sur les conclusions de la première et la deuxième étape. Les points de vue et les recommandations des intervenants seront sollicités.

Quatrième étape
Dans la quatrième étape, le comité préparera un rapport final résumant les constatations et les conclusions analytiques des étapes 1, 2 et 3 ainsi que la méthodologie utilisée pendant chaque étape.

Le rapport final présentera des recommandations bien précises préconisant des modifications à apporter à la CSSIAT du Nouveau-Brunswick et fournira une justification détaillée motivant chaque recommandation.

Le rapport final présentera également des points de repère possibles, y compris une justification détaillée de chacun.

Le président remettra le rapport final à la CSSIAT et au ministre, au nom du comité.


  3. Calendrier
   

Le comité commencera son travail en mai 2007 et terminera son mandat au plus tard en janvier 2008.


  4. Membres du comité
   

Le comité sera composé de trois membres nommés par le gouvernement afin d'exécuter le mandat, dont un des membres sera nommé président.

Les membres du comité incluront un représentant syndical et un représentant patronal. Le président du comité sera une tierce partie neutre.

les membres du comité seront des personnes hautement respectées, possédant un bagage de connaissances sur le fonctionnement des régimes d'indemnisation des accidents du travail et une compréhension de l'environnement fragile dans lequel évoluent ces organismes.

Au moins un membre du comité parlera couramment les deux langues officielles.

Le comité sera appuyé par un coordonnateur général qui supervisera les étapes et fournira du soutien au besoin, y compris la rédaction du rapport final sous la direction du comité.

Le comité tentera de dégager un consensus sur toutes les questions.

Le président se verra confier la tâche de la direction et de la coordination générales de l'étude. Comme tel, il veillera à ce que le mandat du comité soit clairement respecté.


  5. Travaux livrables
   

Les travaux livrables incluront un rapport final qui sera rendu public dans les deux langues officielles.

Dans le rapport final, le comité doit présenter la méthodologie adoptée dans chaque étape, les conclusions et l'analyse ainsi que des recommandations bien précises et réalistes préconisant des modifications possibles à la CSSIAT du Nouveau-Brunswick.

Le comité établira également des points de repère dans des domaines clés (comme il sera établi dans le processus d'étude) et fournira une justification de ses choix.

Le rapport final sera remis simultanément à la CSSIAT et au ministre de l'Éducation postsecondaire, de la Formation et du Travail au plus tard en janvier 2008.


Comité d'étude indépendant
Décharge
| Déclaration de confidentialité