New Brunswick Conflict of Interest Commissioner
Annual Reports

Annual Report 2005-2006

Province of New Brunswick  

CONFLICT OF
INTEREST COMMISSIONER  

The Honourable Patrick A.A. Ryan, Q.C.  

ANNUAL REPORT
2005-2006

PO Box 6000 , Fredericton , NB , E3B 5H1
Tel: (506) 457-7890
Fax: (506) 444-5224
www.gnb.ca/legis/conflict

March 31, 2006

The Honourable Michael J. Malley
Speaker of the Legislative Assembly
Legislative Building
Fredericton , New Brunswick
E3B 5H1

Dear Mr. Speaker:

The honour of submitting this, my first report, the sixth Annual Report of the Office of the Conflict of Interest Commissioner comes with an acknowledgement that the previous five reports were submitted by my predecessor in office, the Honourable Stuart G. Stratton, Q.C., a retired Chief Justice of the Province.

Commissioner Stratton's last report covered a period of eleven months. The reason for the reduction in time was due to his pending retirement from office and just before the reins of office were transferred to me on appointment by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council on recommendation of the Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick. I retired as a Justice of the Court of Appeal of New Brunswick April 10 and was sworn in as Commissioner May 5, 2005.

I am respectful of Commissioner Stratton's leadership in developing the parameters of the office, his precedents on issues and his recommendation while in office, particularly to the pragmatic and functional recommendation that Deputy Ministers, executive staff members and heads of Crown corporations be made subject to the provisions of the Members' Conflict of Interest Act. This would mean a change in the thrust of the Act.

This report, uniquely, covers thirteen months and is submitted pursuant to section 31 of the Members' Conflict of Interest Act, R.S.N.B. 1973, c. M-7.01.

Respectfully,


__________________________________
The Honourable Patrick A.A. Ryan, Q.C.
Conflict of Interest Commissioner
for the Province of New Brunswick

COMMISSIONER'S REMARKS

This is the sixth Annual Report of the Office of the Conflict of Interest Commissioner. It is also my first Report and, distinctively, spans a period of thirteen months.

The previous Commissioner, The Honourable Stuart G. Stratton, Q.C., provided reports for the first five years under the present legislation. In his fifth and final Annual Report, he expressed his sincere thanks for the cooperation received from all the members of the Legislative Assembly during the period when the process creating the legislation was implemented, including the drafting of documents and various amendments along the way. He also gave thanks to the Legislative staff for their invaluable assistance particularly Loredana Catalli Sonier, Esqe., Clerk of the Legislative Assembly; Gisèle Osborne, Office Manager; Peter Wolters, C.A., Director of Finance and Human Resources; and Shayne Davies, Esq, Clerk Assistant and Committee Clerk.

The previous Commissioner considered it essential, as do the members themselves, that observance of the Act demonstrates accountability and transparency, thus increasing awareness of the need for ethics in decision-making by provincial politicians. I join with him and the members in subscribing to the ethical principle advanced.

In my opinion, the public is entitled to a performance of duties and responsibilities by its elected representatives that reflect a high standard of ethics and integrity. In so doing, elected representatives earn the confidence of the public. A lesser standard diminishes the good work of all members in general.

ENDORSEMENT

In the fifth Annual Report the Commissioner made a recommendation that consideration be given to a change in the administration of the two conflict of interest Acts: Members' Conflict of Interest Act and Conflict of Interest Act . The recommendation is that this office administers the legislation that now comes under the jurisdiction of two separate commissioners. If the recommendation is accepted as suggested there would be one Act serving the members of the Legislative Assembly as well as executive staff members, Deputy Ministers, heads of Crown corporations and others. The previous Commissioner recommended as follows:

By a recent amendment to the Members' Conflict of Interest Act , a section was added to provide for the mandatory review of the Act every five years to monitor its effectiveness and to determine whether public attitudes about standards of conduct in public life have changed.

Although the next review of the Act is not required to be undertaken until 2008, I would like to record a suggestion for a revision to the Act for consideration by the review committee. At the present time, there are two conflict of interest acts on the books. One, of course, is applicable to [m]embers of the Legislature while the other, presently administered by a designated judge of the Court of Queen's Bench, has application to Deputy Ministers, executive staff members, and heads of Crown corporations. I express the opinion that the latter group could conveniently be made subject to the provisions of the Members' Conflict of Interest Act and report annually to the Commissioner, rather than to a designated judge.

The recommendation makes eminently good sense for several reasons other than simply the convenience mentioned by the previous Commissioner. For example, (1) there would be consistency in decision making; (2) executive staff members could be accorded the benefit of advice in order to avoid conflicts before the fact rather than obtaining ineffective and obsolete advice after the fact; (3) as it now stands, the secondary legislation for executive staff and others, comes under the aegis of a Justice of the Court of Queen's Bench who must interrupt the Justice's judicial responsibilities or, alternatively, postpone any accommodation of the staff member's conflict of interest problem until a time convenient to the court. David Lloyd George, in a speech at the Paris Peace Conference in 1919, said: The finest eloquence is that which gets things done; the worst is that which delays them.

These few examples flesh out and illustrate the point that this Commissioner and the previous Commissioner make with the recommendation for unifying the legislation and which is again advanced for consideration.

DECISIONS

During the period of thirteen months of this report no complaints were filed against any member of the Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick. The Members' Conflict of Interest Act is not only designed to receive and act on complaints from a wide range of claimants but is also designed to discourage frivolous allegations of conflict as well as allegations that lack substance on their face or cannot be substantiated.

Section 36 of the Act details the procedure for an investigation into any alleged breach of the Act by a member. It is important to note that an allegation that a member has breached the Act may be brought before the Commissioner by any person. There is no restriction on who may refer the complaint to the Commissioner. The “restriction”, as such, lies in the procedure. The request by a person for an investigation into an alleged conflict must be in the form of an affidavit and it is mandatory that the contents of the affidavit set out the grounds for the belief that the member is in conflict and shall set out the nature of the alleged breach. By way of exception to this procedure, the Assembly has reserved to itself the right to “request that the Commissioner investigate any matter respecting an alleged breach of the Act by a member”.

Various matters were referred to me by the members themselves for decision. The vast majority of these were intermingled with a request for advice which will be dealt with separately and discreetly in this report.

The matters of general application that came before me during the thirteen months of this report related to affairs that involved all the members. These were dispatched by way of recommendation to all members without indicating any connection to individual members.

ADVICE

The most active service rendered by this office was by way of advice with respect to responsibilities of office as related directly to the provisions of the Members' Conflict of Interest Act. I cannot emphasize too strongly that the Act has two distinct aspects, one of which is the investigation of breaches. Without minimizing the importance of this aspect, it is one that arises after the fact. The Act has an underlying theme devoted to preventing breaches. This aspect is directed at advice , an aspect that is before the fact instead of after the fact of a breach.

Several sections of the Act highlight the offer of advice to all members and to members of the Executive Council. I am pleased to report that a substantial number of members at both levels took advantage of the right to advice and benefited by it.

In addition to the general and specific advice given as requested by members, two new members of the Legislative Assembly were assisted in familiarizing themselves with the conflict of interest legislation.

As a result of a change in portfolios, five new cabinet ministers were interviewed and informed of their additional responsibilities as members of the Executive Council. The new Speaker was also requested to file a current disclosure statement.

Members should keep in mind that advice is available to those leaving office or deciding not to re-offer; it is not just for those holding electoral seats or office. Again, I emphasize that the advice and recommendations of the Commissioner are confidential unless released by or with the consent of the person requesting the advice.

I am also open to giving informal information to persons considering offering for public office. In fact, this was done in this the first year of my term of office.

GIFTS AND PERSONAL BENEFITS

The area of fees, gifts and personal benefits is always an area of some interest because most tangible expressions of gratitude are of such minor value and, over the period of a year, lapse into a basket of inattentive remiss. As a result, a member may fail to appreciate the necessity of being conscientious in reporting these tributes such as tickets to events or golf passes for example. Section 8 of the Act , however, is unrelenting:

Gifts

8 (1) A member shall not accept a fee, gift or personal benefit, except compensation authorized by law, that is connected directly or indirectly with the

performance of the member's duties of office.

8 (2) Subsection (1) does not apply to a gift or personal benefit that is received as an incident of the protocol or social obligations that normally accompany the responsibilities of office.

8 (3) Where a gift or personal benefit mentioned in subsection (2) is greater than two hundred and fifty dollars in value, or where the total value received from one source in any twelve month period is greater than two hundred and fifty dollars, the member shall file a gift disclosure statement with the Commissioner without delay.

8 (4) The gift disclosure statement shall

(a) be in the form prescribed by the Commissioner, and

(b) indicate the nature of the gift or personal benefit, its source and the circumstances under which it was given and accepted.

Section 8 is interpreted as including any gift or personal benefit which the member receives but decides to pass on to someone else whether that person is a member of the family, a neighbour, another member or a constituent, in other words, anyone else . If the member gives the gift or benefit away, it is the same as though the member used it personally.

DISCLOSURES

For the first time since the inauguration of the Members' Conflict of Interest Act all members have filed their Private Disclosure forms within the time limits fixed by the Office of the Commissioner under the legislation. For this precedent setting effort, I commend the members.

It may well be that since a number of members exercised the right to seek advice and recommendations from the Office of the Commissioner that this prompted a closer understanding of the members' responsibilities under the Act . In any event, it was a welcome change from previous years.

The public disclosure statements of the members were filed with the Clerk of the Legislative Assembly for the year on November 25, 2005 where they are available for public inspection during normal business hours of the office of the Clerk. Copies are also available to any person who pays the copying fee fixed by the Clerk.

There are two areas of concern that I now address. They relate to the filing of Private Disclosure Statements and are: (1) self-administered registered retirement saving plans and (2) closed mutual funds. These two categories of investments must be disclosed to the Office of the Commissioner. To make certain that each member understands this obligation, it would be a cautionary move for the member to ask the agent where the investments are held whether the member's registered retirement savings plan is self-administered and whether any of the investments contain closed mutual funds . This information should, ideally, be given in writing by the agent to the member. By getting it in writing, the member is protected from any allegation that the member has not complied with the Act upon the filing of the member's Private Disclosure Statement. Registered Retirement Savings Plans that are not self-administered need not be disclosed in a Private Disclosure Statement.

APPRECIATION

Throughout my thirteen months of this my first report I was guided by a succession of temporary office assistants during the changeover and until permanent staff was engaged to oversee the office. I therefore want to identify the persons who so willingly gave me administrative assistance starting with Michèl Michaud, Nicholas Ouelette and Louise Larlee. Throughout the summer and until the end of 2005, Shayne Davies, Esq. and Gisèle Osborne were called to duty frequently and until the appointment of an Administrative Assistant, Jacqueline Boyer, in December, 2005. I owe a debt of gratitude to all these people who so ably assisted this office in successfully completing the first term. In addition to their regular duties, they bridged the gap while the search was on for permanent staff.

I also want to recognize the able assistance of others at a different level including the Clerk of the Legislative Assembly with whom all Public Disclosure Statements are filed, Loredana Catalli Sonier, Esqe. and Peter Wolters, C.A. , Director of Finance and Human Resources.

CONCLUSION

During the fiscal period ended March 31, 2006 expenditures of the Commissioner's office for salaries and benefits, office equipment and supplies total $100,005.03. This compares with $113,709.26 in the previous fiscal year. In December of 2005, an Administrative Assistant was engaged on a full time weekly basis for half days. This employment change results in the Office of the Conflict of Interest Commissioner being more accessible to the members and has expedited the delivery of services to the members.

Dated at Fredericton this 31 st day of March, 2006

 

__________________________________
The Honourable Patrick A.A. Ryan, Q.C.
Conflict of Interest Commissioner for the
Province of New Brunswick


Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick
Email | Contacts |
Disclaimer

Commissaire aux conflits d'intérêts du Nouveau-Brunswick
Rapports Annuel

Rapport Annuel 2005-2006

Province du Nouveau-Brunswick

COMMISSAIRE AUX
CONFLITS D'INTÉRÊTS

L ' hon. Patrick A.A. Ryan, c.r.

RAPPORT ANNUEL
2005-2006

C.P. 6000, Fredericton (Nouveau-Brunswick)  E3B 5H1
Tél. : (506) 457-7890
Téléc. : (506) 444-5224
http://www.gnb.ca/legis/conflict/index-f.asp

le 31 mars 2006

L'honorable Michael J. Malley
Président de l'Assemblée législative
Édifice de l'Assemblée législative
Fredericton (Nouveau-Brunswick)  E3B 5H1

Monsieur le président,

J'ai l'honneur de vous présenter mon premier rapport, sixième rapport annuel du bureau du commissaire aux conflits d'intérêts, et je souligne le fait que les cinq rapports précédents ont été présentés par mon prédécesseur, l'hon. Stuart G. Stratton, c.r., juge en chef à la retraite de la province.

Le dernier rapport du commissaire Stratton a porté sur une période de 11 mois. Le rapport visait une période plus courte en raison de la retraite imminente du commissaire, peu avant que la charge me soit confiée par nomination du lieutenant-gouverneur en conseil sur la recommandation de l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick. J'ai pris ma retraite le 10 avril 2005 à titre de juge de la Cour d'appel du Nouveau-Brunswick et j'ai été assermenté en tant que commissaire le 5 mai 2005.

J'éprouve du respect pour le leadership dont a fait preuve le commissaire Stratton en élaborant le cadre de fonctionnement du bureau, pour sa jurisprudence et pour les recommandations qu'il a formulées pendant son mandat, en particulier la recommandation pragmatique et fonctionnelle portant que la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts des députés et des membres du Conseil exécutif s'applique aux sous-ministres, aux adjoints ministériels et adjointes ministérielles et aux présidences des corporations de la Couronne, ce qui aurait pour effet de changer la portée de la loi.

Le présent rapport, exceptionnellement, traite une période de 13 mois et est présenté en application de l'article 31 de la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts des députés et des membres du Conseil exécutif, L.R.N.-B. 1973, c. M-7.01.

Je vous prie d'agréer, Monsieur le président, l'assurance de mes sentiments les plus distingués.

Le commissaire aux conflits d'intérêts du Nouveau-Brunswick,

 

________________________________
L ' hon. Patrick A.A. Ryan, c.r.

OBSERVATION DU COMMISSAIRE

Le présent rapport est le sixième rapport annuel du bureau du commissaire aux conflits d'intérêts. Il s'agit aussi de mon premier rapport, et, par exception, il porte sur une période de 13 mois.

L'hon. Stuart G. Stratton, c.r., ancien commissaire, a présenté les rapports pour les cinq premières années aux termes de la loi en vigueur. Dans son cinquième et dernier rapport annuel, il a exprimé ses remerciements sincères à tous les parlementaires pour la coopération dont ils ont fait preuve pendant le processus d'élaboration de la loi, y compris la rédaction de documents et diverses modifications au fil des ans. Il a aussi remercié le personnel de l'Assemblée législative de son aide inestimable, tout particulièrement Loredana Catalli Sonier, greffière de l'Assemblée législative, Gisèle Osborne, gestionnaire du bureau, Peter Wolters, C.A., directeur des finances et des ressources humaines, et Shayne Davies, greffier adjoint de la Chambre et greffier aux comités.

L'ancien commissaire considérait, comme c'est le cas pour les parlementaires eux-mêmes, qu'il est essentiel que la loi soit observée en toute responsabilité et transparence, afin d'accroître la sensibilisation à la nécessité de probité dans la prise de décisions par la classe politique provinciale. Comme l'ancien commissaire et les parlementaires, j'adhère à ce principe éthique.

À mon avis, la population a le droit de s'attendre à ce que ses représentantes et représentants élus s'acquittent de leurs fonctions et responsabilités de façon irréprochable et intègre. C'est ainsi que les titulaires de charges électives peuvent mériter la confiance populaire. Des normes moins rigoureuses déprécieraient l'exercice honorable du mandat parlementaire en général.

APPUI

Dans le cinquième rapport annuel, le commissaire a recommandé qu'une modification soit envisagée à l'égard de l'application des deux lois sur les conflits d'intérêts, soit la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts des députés et des membres du Conseil exécutif et la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts. Il a recommandé que le bureau du commissaire aux conflits d'intérêts applique ces lois, qui relèvent à l'heure actuelle de deux commissaires distincts. Si la recommandation proposée était acceptée, une seule loi s'appliquerait aux parlementaires ainsi qu'aux adjoints ministériels et adjointes ministérielles, aux sous-ministres, aux présidences des corporations de la Couronne et à d'autres. L'ancien commissaire a recommandé ce qui suit :

La Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts des députés et des membres du Conseil exécutif a récemment été modifiée par l'ajout d'un article prévoyant une révision obligatoire de la loi tous les cinq ans afin de surveiller son efficacité et de déterminer si les attitudes du public ont changé à l'égard des normes de conduite dans la vie publique.

Bien que la prochaine révision de la loi ne doive pas être effectuée avant 2008, j'aimerais présenter une suggestion de révision de la loi au comité de révision. À l'heure actuelle, deux lois sur les conflits d'intérêts sont en vigueur. L'une, bien sûr, s'applique aux parlementaires tandis que l'autre, administrée actuellement par un juge désigné de la Cour du Banc de la Reine, s'applique aux sous-ministres, au personnel cadre et aux directeurs des corporations de la Couronne. J'estime que la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts des députés et des membres du Conseil exécutif pourrait très bien s'appliquer au dernier groupe, qui rendrait compte au commissaire chaque année, plutôt qu'à un juge désigné.

La recommandation est tout à fait judicieuse pour plusieurs raisons, à part l'aspect pratique mentionné par l'ancien commissaire. À titre d'exemple, 1) la prise de décisions serait plus cohérente ; 2) les adjoints ministériels et adjointes ministérielles pourraient bénéficier d'une information préalable afin d'éviter les conflits plutôt que de recevoir après coup des avis inefficaces et dépassés ; 3) à l'heure actuelle, la deuxième loi, qui s'applique aux adjoints ministériels et adjointes ministérielles et à d'autres personnes, relève d'un juge de la Cour du Banc de la Reine, qui doit mettre de côté ses responsabilités judiciaires ou reporter l'examen du problème lié au conflit d'intérêts du membre du personnel à une date qui convienne à la cour. David Lloyd George, dans un discours prononcé à la Conférence de la paix de Paris en 1919, a dit que l'éloquence la plus belle est celle qui inspire des réalisations ; la pire, celle qui les retarde.

Les quelques exemples que j'ai donnés viennent renforcer la thèse soutenue par l'ancien commissaire et moi-même quant à la recommandation portant que les deux lois soient fusionnées, recommandation qui est encore une fois proposée aux fins d'examen.

DÉCISIONS

Au cours de la période de 13 mois qui fait l'objet du présent rapport, aucune plainte n'a été déposée contre une ou un parlementaire provincial du Nouveau-Brunswick. La Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts des députés et des membres du Conseil exécutif vise non seulement à permettre la réception et le traitement de plaintes émanant d'une vaste gamme de sources, mais aussi à décourager les allégations vexatoires de conflits ainsi que les allégations qui n'ont pas apparence de droit suffisante ou dont le bien-fondé ne peut être établi.

L'article 36 de la loi expose en détail la procédure pour une investigation sur une contravention possible à la loi par un ou une parlementaire. Il est important de noter que toute personne peut saisir le commissaire d'une allégation de contravention à la loi. Aucune restriction ne s'applique aux sources des plaintes. La seule restriction comme telle ressortit à la procédure : la demande d'investigation d'un conflit reproché doit être établie sous la forme d'un affidavit et indiquer les motifs de la personne et la nature de la contravention alléguée. Par contre, l'Assemblée se réserve le droit de demander, par voie de résolution, que le commissaire mène une investigation sur toute affaire relative à une contravention alléguée de la loi par un ou une parlementaire.

Diverses questions m'ont été soumises par les parlementaires eux-mêmes pour qu'elles soient tranchées. La grande majorité des questions étaient assorties de demandes d'avis, qui seront traitées séparément et discrètement dans le présent rapport.

Les questions de portée générale dont j'ai été saisi pendant la période de 13 mois qui fait l'objet du présent rapport avaient trait à des affaires touchant tous les parlementaires. Ces questions ont été traitées par voie de recommandations communiquées à l'ensemble des parlementaires, sans particularisation.

AVIS

Le service le plus demandé que fournit le bureau consiste à donner des avis sur l'exercice du mandat parlementaire sous le régime de la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts des députés et des membres du Conseil exécutif . Je ne saurais trop insister sur le fait que la loi présente deux volets distincts, dont l'un consiste à enquêter sur les contraventions. Il ne faudrait pas minimiser l'importance de ce volet, mais il ne s'enclenche qu'après coup. La loi compte un dispositif différent visant à prévenir les contraventions. Ce dispositif porte sur les avis , qui interviennent au préalable plutôt qu'après coup.

Plusieurs articles de la loi mettent en évidence l'offre d'avis aux parlementaires. J'ai le plaisir de signaler qu'un nombre important soit de simples députés soit de ministres se sont prévalus du droit d'obtenir des avis et en ont bénéficié.

Outre les avis d'ordre général et précis donnés sur demande, deux nouveaux députés ont reçu de l'aide pour se familiariser avec la législation sur les conflits d'intérêts.

À la suite d'un remaniement, cinq nouveaux ministres ont été rencontrés et informés de leurs responsabilités additionnelles en tant que membres du Conseil exécutif. En outre, il a été demandé au nouveau président de l'Assemblée de déposer un état de divulgation à jour.

Les parlementaires devraient se rappeler que des avis peuvent être obtenus dans l'après-mandat ; les parlementaires et titulaires de charge en exercice ne sont pas les seuls qui peuvent demander avis. Je répète que les avis et les recommandations du commissaire sont confidentiels à moins d'être divulgués par la personne qui les a demandés ou avec son consentement.

Je suis prêt, aussi, à donner des renseignements exploratoires aux personnes qui envisagent de faire acte de candidature à des élections. De fait, j'en ai donné pendant la première année de mon mandat.

DONS ET AVANTAGES PERSONNELS

La question des honoraires, des dons et des avantages personnels est toujours d'intérêt, car la plupart des témoignages tangibles de reconnaissance sont d'une valeur si faible que, après une année, ils tombent aux oubliettes. En conséquence, un ou une parlementaire peut négliger de faire rapport consciencieusement de dons tels que des billets pour un spectacle ou une autre manifestation ou un abonnement à un club de golf, par exemple. Toutefois, l'article 8 de la loi est formel :

Dons

8 (1) À l'exception de toute rémunération autorisée par la loi, il est interdit à un député ou à un membre du Conseil exécutif d'accepter des honoraires, des dons ou des avantages personnels liés directement ou indirectement à l'exécution de ses fonctions de député ou de membre du Conseil exécutif. 

8 (2) Le paragraphe (1) ne s'applique pas aux dons ou aux avantages personnels reçus par le député ou le membre du Conseil exécutif dans le cadre normal du protocole ou des obligations sociales de ses fonctions.

8 (3) Lorsque la valeur d'un don ou d'un avantage personnel mentionné au paragraphe (2) dépasse deux cent cinquante dollars, ou lorsque la valeur totale reçue d'une source unique au cours d'une période quelconque de douze mois dépasse deux cent cinquante dollars, le député ou le membre du Conseil exécutif doit sans retard déposer auprès du Commissaire un état de divulgation de don.

8 (4) L'état de divulgation de don doit

a) être établi selon la formule prescrite par le Commissaire, et

b) indiquer la nature du don ou de l'avantage personnel, sa source et les circonstances dans lesquelles il a été donné et accepté.

L'interprétation donnée à l'article 8 est qu'il vise aussi tout don ou avantage personnel qu'un ou une parlementaire reçoit mais décide de transmettre à autrui, que ce soit un membre de sa famille, un voisin, un autre parlementaire ou quelqu'un de sa circonscription C autrement dit, à toute autre personne . Transférer le don ou l'avantage équivaut à s'en servir personnellement.

DIVULGATION

Pour la première fois depuis l'entrée en vigueur de la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts des députés et des membres du Conseil exécutif, l'ensemble des parlementaires ont déposé leurs formules de divulgation privée dans les délais fixés en application de la loi par le bureau du commissaire. Je félicite les parlementaires pour l'effort sans précédent.

Étant donné qu'un certain nombre de parlementaires ont exercé leur droit de demander des avis et des recommandations au bureau du commissaire, il se peut bien que cela ait suscité une meilleure compréhension des responsabilités des parlementaires aux termes de la loi. Quoi qu'il en soit, c'était un heureux changement par rapport aux années précédentes.

Les états de divulgation publique des parlementaires pour l'année ont été déposés le 25 novembre 2005 au bureau du greffier de l'Assemblée législative, où ils sont à la disposition du public pour fins d'inspection pendant les heures normales d'ouverture du bureau du greffier. En outre, toute personne peut en obtenir des copies moyennant paiement des droits de copie fixés par le bureau.

Je passe maintenant à deux sources de préoccupations liées au dépôt des états de divulgation privée  : 1) les régimes enregistrés d'épargne-retraite autogérés et 2) les fonds communs de placement à capital fixe. Les placements des deux catégories doivent être divulgués au bureau du commissaire. Afin que chaque parlementaire respecte son obligation à cet égard, il serait prudent qu'il ou elle demande à son service de placements si son régime enregistré d'épargne-retraite est autogéré et si ses placements comprennent des fonds communs de placement à capital fixe . Le service devrait idéalement informer le ou la parlementaire par écrit, par mesure de protection contre toute allégation d'inobservation de la loi quant au dépôt de l'état de divulgation privée. Les régimes enregistrés d'épargne-retraite qui ne sont pas autogérés n'ont pas à figurer dans un état de divulgation privée.

REMERCIEMENTS

Tout au long des 13 mois qui font l'objet de mon premier rapport, j'ai été aidé par des personnes qui se sont successivement occupées du bureau, à titre temporaire, au cours de la période de transition, jusqu'à ce qu'une employée permanente soit recrutée pour prendre la relève. Je salue donc les personnes qui m'ont fourni si volontiers leur aide administrative : Michèle Michaud, Nicholas Ouellette puis Louise Larlee. Tout au long de l'été et jusqu'à la fin de 2005, les services de Shayne Davies et de Gisèle Osborne ont fréquemment été requis, jusqu'à la nomination d'une adjointe administrative, Jacqueline Boyer, en décembre 2005. Je suis très reconnaissant envers ces personnes qui ont aidé de façon si compétente le bureau à terminer avec succès le premier mandat. En plus de leurs fonctions habituelles, elles ont prêté main-forte pendant la dotation d'un poste permanent.

Je tiens aussi à saluer d'autres personnes qui, à d'autres échelons, ont prêté un concours efficace, notamment Loredana Catalli Sonier, greffière de l'Assemblée législative, auprès de qui sont déposés les états de divulgation publique, et Peter Wolters, C.A., directeur des finances et des ressources humaines.

CONCLUSION

Pour la période financière terminée le 31 mars 2006, les dépenses du bureau du commissaire, au chapitre des traitements, des avantages sociaux ainsi que du matériel et des fournitures de bureau, se chiffrent à 100 005,03 $, en comparaison de 113 709,26 $ pour l'année financière précédente. En décembre 2005, une adjointe administrative a été recrutée pour travailler des demi-journées, cinq jours par semaine, ce qui rend le bureau du commissaire aux conflits d'intérêts plus accessible aux parlementaires et facilite la prestation des services.

Fait à Fredericton le 31 mars 2006.

Le commissaire aux conflits d'intérêts du Nouveau-Brunswick,

 

____________________________________
L'hon. Patrick A.A. Ryan, c.r.


Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick
Courrier électronique | Coordonnées | Décharge