Communications New Brunswick
 
Legislative Assembly
Select Committee on Public Automobile Insurance

Summary of Recommendations

1. The Committee recommends the made-in-New Brunswick model of public automobile insurance, in the event a decision is made to move to a public system, that offers extensive coverage at an affordable rate for all drivers with:

  • no reference to age, gender, marital status, territory, payment history or lapses in insurance to determine insurance costs;

  • rates to be determined by driving record, vehicle usage, vehicle make and model, optional coverage purchased;

  • oversight of the public utilities board for mandatory and optional insurance rates.

  • pure, no-fault injury benefits with no option to sue;

  • drivers licences to continue to be sold by Service New Brunswick;

  • vehicle registration and insurance sold through brokers and agents at a 7 per cent commission;

  • mandatory vehicle coverage, additional injury and income replacement benefits, third-party liability coverage and collision, theft and comprehensive sold by the Crown corporation through private sector agents and brokers; and

  • additional injury and income replacement benefits and third-party liability coverage are sold by private insurers in competition with the Crown corporation.

2. The Committee recommends a scale for safe drivers that offers a discount of 4 per cent for each year of claims and offence-free driving to a maximum discount of 40 per cent.Vehicle owners with a 10-year clean driving record would receive a discount of 40 per cent as compared to a new driver who would get a 4 per cent discount after the first year of safe driving.

3. The Committee recommends a scale for a poor driving record to include a modest $25 for each of the first two positions on the scale, followed by sharp increases in costs as demerit points are accumulated.The objective is to collect higher premiums from drivers who have poor driving records.The exact scale, including demerit points for traffic offences, must be set out in the appropriate legislation.

4. The Committee recommends under the proposed model that a significant amount of resources be dedicated to road safety initiatives to reduce collisions, injuries, deaths and claims. NBPI in partnership with relevant organizations and institutions such as governments, law enforcement agencies, seniors organizations and schools develop a series of safety initiatives targeted to the needs of New Brunswick drivers.

5. The Committee recommends an Act to establish a public automobile insurance Crown corporation, mandate, governance structure, benefit levels, operating policies and whatever is necessary to establish in law such a corporation in a timely manner.

6. The Committee recommends that the public automobile insurance corporation be required to submit insurance rates to the public utilities board for approval. Rate changes are subject to review and hearings where public participation and scrutiny are encouraged.

7. The Committee recommends the public automobile insurance corporation appear before the Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick’s Standing Committee on Crown Corporations as required.

8. The Committee recommends the public automobile insurance Crown corporation issue an annual report with audited financial statements at an annual general public meeting.

9. The Committee recommends that the Province of New Brunswick work closely with the Government of Canada to ensure the proposed public automobile insurance model meets all obligations under international trade agreements.

10. The Committee recommends a team be put in place to begin the pre-operating phase of the public automobile insurance system as soon as the Crown corporation has been established.

11. The Committee recommends that a specific date be chosen for the move from the private to a public automobile insurance system. All policies sold under the present system would be converted to the public system on that date.

12. The Committee recommends that the public automobile insurance Crown corporation establish advisory committees to include stakeholders to explain the public system and determine how it will operate.These stakeholders include insurance brokers and agents, private insurance companies, medical professionals, vehicle repair professionals and other such parties to the
insurance process.

13. The Committee recommends that the public automobile insurance Crown corporation work closely with private sector employers and the Department of Training and Employment Development to ensure that a worker transition strategy is developed and that all reasonable efforts are undertaken to assist displaced automobile insurance workers in making a successful
work transition.

Download PDF


Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick
P.O. Box 6000
Fredericton, N.B.
E3B 5H1
Tel.: (506) 453-5914
Fax: (506) 453-7154

Communications New Brunswick
 
Assemblée législative
Comité spécial de l'assurance automobile publique

Sommaire des recommandations

1. Le comité recommande le modèle néo-brunswickois d’assurance automobile publique, s’il est décidé de passer à un régime public; le modèle offre à tous les conducteurs et conductrices une garantie complète à prix abordable et prévoit ce qui suit :

  • tarification sans égard à l’âge, au sexe, à l’état civil, au lieu de résidence, aux antécédents de paiement ni aux déchéances de garantie;

  • tarification en fonction du dossier de conduite, de l’usage, de la marque et du modèle du véhicule et de la garantie facultative souscrite;

  • surveillance, par la Commission des entreprises de service public, des tarifs de l’assurance obligatoire et des garanties facultatives;

  • indemnisation des dommages corporels entièrement sans égard à la responsabilité et sans possibilité d’intenter des poursuites;

  • continuation de la délivrance des permis de conduire par Services Nouveau-Brunswick;

  • immatriculation et assurance des véhicules auprès des courtiers et agents, qui touchent une commission de 7 %;

  • souscription par la SAPNB, par l’intermédiaire d’agents et courtiers du secteur privé, d’une part, de l’assurance obligatoire pour les véhicules et, d’autre part, de garanties facultatives au titre du remplacement du revenu, des dommages corporels, de la responsabilité civile, des collisions, du vol et des accidents sans collision ni versement;

  • souscription, par les assureurs privés, de garanties facultatives au titre des dommages corporels, du remplacement du revenu et de la responsabilité civile.


2. Le comité recommande un barème de conduite sécuritaire prévoyant un rabais de 4 % pour chaque année sans sinistre ni infraction, jusqu’à concurrence de 40 %. Les propriétaires de véhicules ayant un dossier de conduite vierge au bout de 10 années recevraient un rabais de 40 %. Par comparaison, les conducteurs et conductrices novices recevraient un rabais de 4 % après une première année de conduite sécuritaire.

3. Le comité recommande un barème pour les mauvais dossiers de conduite, qui prévoirait une modeste somme de 25 $ pour chacun des deux premiers niveaux, puis de fortes augmentations des tarifs au fur et à mesure que des points d’inaptitude sont accumulés. L’objectif est de percevoir des primes plus élevées auprès des conducteurs et conductrices qui ont de mauvais dossiers de conduite. Le barème exact, y compris les points d’inaptitude pour les infractions relatives à la conduite, doit figurer dans la mesure législative pertinente.

4. Le comité recommande, en application du modèle proposé, que d’importantes ressources soient consacrées à des initiatives de sécurité routière en vue de réduire le nombre de collisions, de blessures, de décès et de demandes de règlement. Le comité recommande que la SAPNB, en partenariat avec des organisations et des institutions pertinentes telles que des gouvernements, des organismes chargés de l’application des lois, des organisations de personnes âgées et des écoles,élabore une série d’initiatives de sécurité adaptées aux besoins des conductrices et conducteurs néo-brunswickois.

5. Le comité recommande une loi constituant la Société d’assurance publique et énonçant sa mission, sa structure de gouvernance, les niveaux des prestations, les politiques de fonctionnement et tout autre élément nécessaire pour constituer rapidement cette corporation.

6. Le comité recommande que la Société d’assurance publique soit tenue de soumettre les tarifs d’assurance à l’approbation de la Commission des entreprises de service public. Les modifications de tarifs feront l’objet d’un examen et d’audiences où le public sera encouragé à participer et à faire
une étude approfondie.

7. Le comité recommande que la Société d’assurance publique comparaisse au besoin devant le Comité permanent des corporations de la Couronne de l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick.

8. Le comité recommande que la Société d’assurance publique publie chaque année, pour son assemblée générale annuelle publique, un rapport d’activité qui comprendra des états financiers vérifiés.

9. Le comité recommande que la province du Nouveau-Brunswick collabore étroitement avec le gouvernement du Canada pour veiller à ce que le modèle d’assurance automobile publique proposé respecte toutes les obligations au titre des ententes commerciales internationales.

10. Le comité recommande qu’une équipe soit formée pour amorcer la période de préfonctionnement du régime d’assurance automobile publique dès la constitution de la société.

11. Le comité recommande qu’une date précise soit choisie pour la transition du système d’assurance automobile privée au régime d’assurance automobile publique.Toutes les polices souscrites dans le système actuel seront converties au régime d’assurance automobile publique à cette date.

12. Le comité recommande que la Société d’assurance publique forme des comités consultatifs auxquels siégeront des parties prenantes afin d’expliquer le régime public et de déterminer la façon dont il fonctionnera. Les parties prenantes comprendront des courtiers et agents d’assurance, des compagnies d’assurance privée, des professionnels en médecine, des professionnels en réparation de véhicules ainsi que d’autres intervenants dans le monde de l’assurance.

13. Le comité recommande que la Société d’assurance publique collabore étroitement avec les employeurs du secteur privé et le ministère de la Formation et du Développement de l’emploi afin qu’une stratégie de transition soit élaborée pour le personnel et que les efforts nécessaires soient déployés pour aider le personnel déplacé du secteur de l’assurance automobile à opérer une heureuse transition professionnelle.

Télécharger (PDF)


Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick
C.P. 6000 (706, rue Queen)
Fredericton (N.-B.)
CANADA E3B 5H1
téléphone : (506) 453-2506
télécopieur: (506) 453-7154