|
|
|
Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick

Background Information

  1. Origins
  2. Function
  3. Components
  4. Legislative Office
  5. Business Office
  6. Historic Site

The origins of the Office of the Legislative Assembly can be traced to the 14th century in England when Parliament elected its first Speaker and appointed its first Clerk. In New Brunswick, the Office of the Clerk can be traced to 1833, and may have originated with the first session of the Assembly held in 1786.

Today, the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly is the head of the office and the Clerk of the Legislative Assembly serves as the deputy head, responsible for administrative matters. The Speaker is the Member elected by the House to serve as its spokesperson and to preside over its proceedings. In particular, he or she is responsible for maintaining order and decorum. As Chair of the Legislative Administrative Committee, the Speaker oversees the administration of the House. The Clerk of the House is also the chief procedural advisor to the Speaker and Members of the Legislative Assembly. Section 33 of the Legislative Assembly Act establishes the Office of the Legislative Assembly and makes its current name official.

The most common misconception about the Legislative Assembly Office is that it is a branch of government and that staff are government employees. In fact, in the parliamentary system, the government is the executive branch and is responsible for applying and enforcing the laws. The Legislative Assembly is part of the legislative branch and is responsible for establishing the laws of the province.

The main function of the Legislative Assembly Office is to support and assist the Speaker and Members of the Legislative Assembly in the performance of their constitutional and parliamentary duties by ensuring the proper and efficient functioning of the Assembly and its committees.

The staff of the Legislative Assembly Office are answerable to the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly for administrative purposes and ultimately responsible to the Members of the Assembly.

The Legislative Assembly Office provides various support services to the entire Assembly including Members of opposition and government parties alike.

The Office resembles in general the normal structure of a government department with the Speaker at the head. Although the Office has sometimes been called the Speaker's department, it is not a government department and the Speaker does not belong to Cabinet, he or she cannot be asked questions during Question Period and cannot participate in the Assembly's debates. The Speaker does have administrative authority and responsibility similar to that of a minister of a government department, while the Clerk is the Speaker's chief administrative deputy and has authority and responsibilities similar to that of a deputy minister of a government department.

The components or branches of the Legislative Assembly Office are: the Clerk's Office, the Hansard Office, Debates Translation, and the Legislative Library. Also under the umbrella of the Office of the Legislative Assembly are the Government Members' Office, the Office of the Official Opposition and the Third Party or Independent Member's Office. Lastly, the Legislative Administration Committee, chaired by the Speaker and composed of Members of each political party represented in the Legislative Assembly, is responsible for administrative and financial matters concerning the Legislative Assembly and Members of the Assembly.

The role of staff is to provide impartial and confidential advice and services to all Members. The word services covers a broad spectrum:

  1. Procedural and administrative advice from the Clerks-at-the-Table.
  2. Communication and translation services through the Hansard and Debates Translation Offices.
  3. Library Services through the Legislative Library.
  4. Security and visitor information services through the Sergeant-at-Arms.
  5. Financial, technical and human resource services through the Clerk's Office.

The other components of the office are the caucus offices: the Government Members' Office, the Office of the Official Opposition and the Third Party or Independent Member's Office. Each party grouping or caucus of elected Members is a branch of the Legislative Assembly Office. Although theoretically, the Speaker has authority over the administration of each caucus office, for obvious reasons, these branches operate with considerable autonomy.

The Clerk of the Assembly is the chief administrative officer and the Clerk's Office is primarily responsible for the operation of the Legislative Assembly Office. It operates on three different levels:

1. As a Legislative Office

The Clerk's Office provides professional, impartial advice on Parliamentary law, procedure and practice to the Speaker and Members of the Legislative Assembly. The Office prepares all parliamentary documents related to the proceedings of the House, committees, and ceremonial functions.

Since 1786, the Office has been charged with preparing, maintaining and archiving the parliamentary records of the province. The Office is a storehouse of documents and the central distribution centre of annual reports, sessional papers and all House documents. In addition to maintaining paper copies of documents, the Office maintains current electronic versions at this web site.

The Office maintains close connections with other Canadian legislatures and almost daily exchanges of information on procedural developments and changes to existing legislation affecting Members. The Office frequently receives visiting delegations from other legislatures. The Office provides information on the role and function of the Legislative Assembly to Members and staff, to government departments, and school groups. The Office fulfills an educational role and daily responds to inquiries from the public, the press and from other parliamentary jurisdictions.

Each year, the Office conducts a student legislative seminar designed to teach young citizens the function of government and to promote language diversity in a bilingual province.

2. As a Business Office

The Clerk's Office administers payments to Members and ensures that the services provided comply with the Legislative Assembly Act and other relevant statutes, regulations, guidelines and directives. The Office provides personnel and human resource services to all branches constituting the Office of the Legislative Assembly.

3. As an Historic Site

The Clerk's Office operates the Legislative Building as a protected historic site and maintains the exterior and interior of the building. The artifacts throughout the Complex are treated in a manner that reflects conservation and environmental policies. The Office facilitates tours for visitors, provides information on the history of the building, and accommodates a broad range of functions and visits every year.

DISCLAIMER

|
|
|
Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick

Renseignements généraux

  1. Origines
  2. Fonction
  3. Composantes
  4. Bureau législatif
  5. Bureau d'affaires
  6. Lieu historique

Les origines du Bureau de l'Assemblée législative remontent au 14e siècle en Angleterre, lorsque le Parlement a élu son premier président et nommé son premier greffier. Au Nouveau-Brunswick, le bureau du greffier remonte à 1833 et pourrait même remonter à la première session de l'Assemblée qui s'est tenue en 1786.

De nos jours, le président de l'Assemblée législative est l'administrateur du bureau, et le greffier de l'Assemblée législative agit à titre d'administrateur général responsable des questions administratives. Le président est un député élu par la Chambre pour agir comme son porte-parole et présider à ses délibérations. En particulier, le président est responsable de maintenir l'ordre et le décorum. En tant que président du Comité d'administration de l'Assemblée législative, le président voit à l'administration de la Chambre. Le greffier de la Chambre est aussi conseiller principal à la procédure auprès du président et des parlementaires. L'article 33 de la Loi sur l'Assemblée législative établit le Bureau de l'Assemblée législative et officialise son nom actuel.

L'idée fausse la plus répandue à propos du Bureau de l'Assemblée législative est qu'il est une direction du gouvernement et que son personnel est à l'emploi du gouvernement. En réalité, dans le système parlementaire, le gouvernement est le pouvoir exécutif et a la responsabilité d'administrer et de faire appliquer les lois. L'Assemblée législative fait partie du pouvoir législatif et a la responsabilités d'établir les lois de la province.

La fonction principale du Bureau de l'Assemblée législative est d'appuyer et d'aider le président et les parlementaires, pour qu'ils s'acquittent de leurs tâches constitutionnelles et parlementaires, en veillant au fonctionnement convenable et efficient de l'Assemblée législative et de ses comités.

Le personnel du Bureau de l'Assemblée législative est comptable au président de l'Assemblée législative à des fins administratives et, en dernier ressort, aux parlementaires.

Le bureau procure une gamme de soutiens divers à l'ensemble de l'Assemblée ainsi qu'aux parlementaires des partis de l'opposition et du gouvernement.

Le bureau ressemble en général à la structure habituelle d'un ministère, et le président en est le responsable. Bien que le bureau soit parfois appelé le ministère du président, ce n'est pas un ministère et le président ne siège pas au Cabinet. Aucune question ne peut lui être posée pendant la période des questions, et il ne peut pas participer aux débats de l'Assemblée. Le président de l'Assemblée législative a une autorité et des responsabilités administratives similaires à celles des ministres des divers ministères. Le greffier est sous-ministre principal et a une autorité et des responsabilités similaires à celles des sous-ministres du gouvernement.

Les composantes ou directions du Bureau de l'Assemblée législative sont les suivantes : bureau du greffier, Bureau du hansard, Traduction des débats et bibliothèque de l'Assemblée législative. Le bureau chapeaute aussi le Bureau des député(e)s du gouvernement, le Bureau de l'opposition officielle et le bureau du troisième parti ou des parlementaires indépendants. En dernier lieu, le Comité d'administration de l'Assemblée législative, présidé par le président et composé de membres de chaque parti politique représenté à l'Assemblée législative, est chargé des questions administratives et financières relatives à l'Assemblée législative et aux parlementaires.

Le personnel a comme rôle d'assurer des conseils et des services objectifs et confidentiels à tous les parlementaires. L'expression « services » couvre une large gamme.

  1. Conseils des greffiers au bureau en matière de procédure et d'administration.
  2. Services de communication et de traduction par l'intermédiaire des bureaux du hansard et de Traduction des débats.
  3. Services de bibliothèque par l'intermédiaire de la bibliothèque de l'Assemblée législative.
  4. Services de sécurité et d'information touristique par l'intermédiaire du sergent d'armes.
  5. Services en matière de finances, de technique et de ressources humaines, par l'intermédiaire du bureau du greffier.

Les autres volets du bureau sont les bureaux de caucus : le Bureau des député(e)s du gouvernement, le Bureau de l'opposition officielle et le bureau du troisième parti ou des parlementaires indépendants. Chaque groupe ou caucus composé de parlementaires élus constitue une direction du Bureau de l'Assemblée législative. Bien que, en théorie, le président ait l'autorité sur l'administration de chacun des bureaux de caucus, pour des raisons évidentes, ces directions fonctionnent avec beaucoup d'autonomie.

Le greffier de l'Assemblée législative est l'administrateur principal, et le bureau du greffier est surtout responsable du fonctionnement du Bureau de l'Assemblée législative. Le bureau fonctionne à trois niveaux.

1. Bureau législatif

Le bureau du greffier donne au président et aux parlementaires des conseils professionnels et objectifs sur le droit, la procédure et la pratique parlementaire. Le bureau prépare tous les documents parlementaires liés aux travaux de la Chambre, des comités et des fonctions protocolaires.

Depuis 1786, le bureau est chargé de préparer, de maintenir et d'archiver les dossiers parlementaires de la province. Le bureau est une mine de documents et le centre de distribution des rapports annuels, des documents parlementaires et de tous les documents de la Chambre.

En plus de conserver des copies papier des documents, le bureau conserve des versions électroniques à son site Web.

Le bureau entretien des liens étroits avec d'autres assemblées législatives du Canada et échange presque quotidiennement des renseignements sur les nouveautés dans le domaine de la procédure et les modifications aux mesures législatives qui touchent les parlementaires. Le bureau accueille fréquemment des délégations d'autres assemblées législatives. Il fournit des renseignements sur le rôle et les responsabilités de l'Assemblée législative aux parlementaires et au personnel, à des ministères et à des groupes scolaires. Le bureau remplit un rôle éducatif et répond quotidiennement à des demandes du public, de la presse et d'autres autorités parlementaires.

Chaque année, le bureau organise un colloque législatif pour les élèves qui vise à enseigner aux jeunes les rouages du gouvernement et à promouvoir la diversité linguistique dans une province bilingue.

2. Bureau d'affaires

Le bureau du greffier administre le traitement des parlementaires et veille à ce que les services assurés soient conformes à la Loi sur l'Assemblée législative et à d'autres lois, règlements, lignes directrices et directives connexes. Le bureau assure des services de personnel et de ressources humaines à toutes les directions du Bureau de l'Assemblée législative.

3. Lieu historique

Le bureau du greffier administre l'édifice législatif en tant que lieu historique protégé et s'occupe de l'entretien extérieur et intérieur de l'édifice. Les objets de l'ensemble du complexe sont traités de manière à refléter les politiques de conservation et d'environnement. Le bureau facilite les visites pour les touristes, donne des renseignements sur l'historique de l'édifice et s'occupe d'une vaste gamme de cérémonies et de visites chaque année.

DÉCHARGE