|
|
|
Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick
Home | Français

Part III - The Stages of a Public Bill

STAGES OF A PUBLIC BILL

Before a Bill becomes law, it goes through the following stages:

DRAFTING STAGE

A Minister of the Crown is requested by his department to introduce legislation with respect to a specific area of their responsibilities. A draft of the Bill is prepared by the staff of the Department of Justice. The draft Bill is then presented by the Minister to his colleagues in cabinet and caucus and subject to their approval is forwarded to the Queen's Printer for printing. Copies of the Bill are prepared by the Queen's Printer and delivered to the Minister.

A Private Member's Public Bill is drafted by the member with the assistance of the staff of the Legislative Assembly and does not have to be presented to the member's caucus or to the executive. The member wishing to introduce the Bill forwards the Bill to the Queen's Printer for printing and the copies are returned directly to the member by the Queen's Printer.

INTRODUCTION AND FIRST READING

The Minister or private member then introduces the Bill to the Legislative Assembly on motion "that a Bill entitled . . . . . . be now read a first time". The member introducing the Bill may give a brief explanation on the provisions of the Bill. No debate or amendment is permitted at this stage.

When a Bill is read a first time, it stands ordered for second reading at the next sitting of the House. The Bill cannot be read a second time until it has been printed and copies have been deposited with the Clerk of the House and distributed to the members who can acquaint themselves with its content.

SECOND READING

Second reading is considered the most important stage in the passage of a Bill. At this stage, the principle and object of the Bill are debated and either accepted or rejected. Debate at this stage is general and addresses the Bill as a whole. If a Bill passes second reading in the House, it is referred for a more detailed study to the Committee of the Whole House or to another legislative committee designated by the sponsor of the Bill.

COMMITTEE STAGE

When a Bill is referred to the Committee of the Whole, the House itself is the Committee. When the House resolves itself into a Committee of the Whole, the Speaker leaves the chair and the Deputy Speaker or one of the members acts as Chairman and the Minister responsible for the Bill is the witness. The Minister answers questions on the details of the Bill. Departmental advisors can accompany the Minister into the Chamber to give technical advice, but they cannot speak. Members can speak on any clause of the Bill being studied, ask any number of questions and can propose amendments to any clauses of the Bill. Amendments in Committee must be in keeping with the principle of the Bill as agreed to at second reading in the House. After the Committee has completed its consideration of the Bill, it orders that the Bill be reported to the House.

REPORT STAGE

In its report, the Committee may recommend the Bill favourably to the House with or without amendments. If no amendments are offered, the Bill is reported by the Committee as being agreed to.

THIRD READING AND PASSAGE

The motion at this stage is "that the Bill be now read a third time." As in second reading, during third reading the debate is confined to the contents of the Bill as a whole.

When a Bill has been read a third time, the further question is then put by the Speaker: "This Bill having had three separate readings, is it the pleasure of the House that it does now pass?" This is carried, and the Bill is then ready for Royal Assent.

ROYAL ASSENT

The Constitution Act states that the approval of the Crown, signified by Royal Assent, is required for any bill to become law after passage by the House.

After third reading the Bill stands on the Order and Notice Paper for Royal Assent. The Lieutenant-Governor attends a session of the Legislative Assembly and gives Royal Assent to the Bill.

The ceremony of Royal Assent consists of the reading by the Clerk Assistant of the titles of the Bills to be approved. The Clerk of the Legislative Assembly on behalf of the Crown's representative then announces the Royal Assent in the following words:

In Her Majesty's name, His Honour the Lieutenant-Governor assents to these Bills, enacting the same and ordering them to be enrolled.

It is at this stage that the Bill becomes law.

PROCLAMATION

Normally a Bill comes into force on the day of Assent unless otherwise provided in the Bill itself.

Provision is sometimes made for the Bill to come into force on a certain day or a day fixed by Proclamation. Public Bills are usually subject to proclamation. Some Bills are proclaimed forthwith, others are proclaimed on a specific day and still others are to be proclaimed and must receive the date of proclamation from the Executive Council.

Index | Previous | Next

DISCLAIMER

|
|
|
Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick

Partie III - Filière d’un projet de loi d’intérêt public

FILIÈRE D'UN PROJET DE LOI D'INTÉRÊT PUBLIC

Avant de devenir loi, un projet de loi d’intérêt public suit la filière que voici.

RÉDACTION

Un ministère demande à son ministre de déposer un projet de loi ayant trait à un domaine de sa compétence. Le personnel du ministère de la Justice prépare l’avant-projet de loi. Le ministre présente ensuite cet avant-projet à ses collègues au Cabinet et au caucus, puis, si ceux-ci l’approuvent, il l’envoie à l’Imprimeur de la Reine pour le faire imprimer. L’Imprimeur de la Reine en prépare un certain nombre d’exemplaires, qu’il remet ensuite au ministre.

Un projet de loi d’intérêt public et d’initiative parlementaire est rédigé par le député avec l’aide du personnel de l’Assemblée législative et n’a pas à être présenté au caucus de ce député ni au pouvoir exécutif. Le député qui veut déposer le projet de loi l’envoie à l’Imprimeur de la Reine, qui l’imprime et en remet ensuite des exemplaires directement au député.

DÉPÔT ET PREMIÈRE LECTURE

Le ministre ou simple député dépose ensuite le projet de loi à l’Assemblée législative par une motion portant « que soit maintenant lu une première fois le projet de loi intitulé […] ». Le dépôt du projet de loi peut être accompagné d’une brève explication, mais aucun débat ni amendement n’est permis à cette étape.

Un projet de loi ayant fait l’objet d’une première lecture est inscrit au Feuilleton et Avis, et sa deuxième lecture à une autre séance de la Chambre peut être ordonnée. Le projet de loi ne peut faire l’objet d’une deuxième lecture avant d’avoir été imprimé et avant que des exemplaires aient été déposés au bureau du greffier de la Chambre et distribués à tous les députés afin que ces derniers puissent en prendre connaissance.

DEUXIÈME LECTURE

La deuxième lecture est considérée comme l’étape la plus importante du cheminement d’un projet de loi. C’est à cette étape que le principe et l’objet du projet de loi sont mis en discussion puis adoptés ou rejetés. Le débat est général et porte sur le projet de loi dans son ensemble. Après la deuxième lecture à la Chambre, le projet de loi est renvoyé pour un examen plus détaillé au Comité plénier ou à un autre comité parlementaire désigné par la personne qui défend ce projet de loi.

ÉTUDE EN COMITÉ

Pour l’étude des projets de loi renvoyés au Comité plénier, la Chambre elle-même forme le comité. Lorsque la Chambre se forme en Comité plénier, le président quitte le fauteuil. Le vice-président ou un des députés assume la présidence du comité, et le ministre qui défend le projet de loi témoigne et répond aux questions sur les détails du projet de loi. Des conseillers ministériels peuvent accompagner le ministre à la Chambre pour donner des conseils techniques, mais ils ne peuvent prendre la parole. Les députés peuvent prendre la parole sur chacun des articles du projet de loi à l’étude, poser toutes les questions qu’ils veulent et proposer des amendements de n’importe quel article. Les amendements en comité doivent respecter le principe du projet de loi, principe que la Chambre a approuvé à la deuxième lecture. Après examen du projet de loi, le comité ordonne qu’il soit fait rapport du projet de loi à la Chambre.

RAPPORT

Dans son rapport, le comité peut recommander à la Chambre l’adoption du projet de loi avec ou sans amendements. Si aucun amendement n’est proposé, le projet de loi est renvoyé sans amendement.

TROISIÈME LECTURE ET ADOPTION

La motion à l'étape de la troisième lecture est la suivante : « Que le projet de loi soit maintenant lu une troisième fois » . Comme à la deuxième lecture, le débat se limite à la teneur générale du projet de loi.

Après la troisième lecture d’un projet de loi, le président met aux voix une autre motion : « Le présent projet de loi ayant reçu trois lectures distinctes, plaît-il à la Chambre qu’il soit maintenant adopté? » La motion est adoptée, puis le projet de loi est prêt à recevoir la sanction royale.

SANCTION ROYALE

La Loi constitutionnelle dispose que, pour avoir force de loi, un projet de loi adopté à la Chambre doit être revêtu de la sanction royale attestant qu’il a été approuvé par la Couronne.

Un projet de loi adopté en troisième lecture est ensuite inscrit au Feuilleton et Avis pour la sanction royale. Le lieutenant-gouverneur se rend à une séance de l'Assemblée législative et donne la sanction royale au projet de loi.

Pendant la cérémonie de la sanction royale, le greffier adjoint lit le titre des projets de loi à approuver. Le greffier de l'Assemblée législative, au nom du représentant de la Couronne, annonce ensuite la sanction royale en ces termes :

Au nom de Sa Majesté, Son Honneur le lieutenant-gouverneur sanctionne ces projets de loi, les édicte et en ordonne l'impression.

Le projet de loi devient alors loi.

PROCLAMATION

Sauf disposition contraire du projet de loi, ce dernier entre normalement en vigueur le jour même où il reçoit la sanction royale.

Il est parfois prévu que le projet de loi entrer en vigueur à une date précise ou à un jour fixé par proclamation. Les projets de loi d'intérêt public sont habituellement ainsi proclamés. Certains projets de loi sont proclamés immédiatement, d'autres le sont à une date précise et d'autres, enfin, sont proclamés plus tard à une date que doit déterminer le Conseil exécutif.

Index | Précédent | Suivant

DÉCHARGE