|
|
|
Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick
Home | Français

PROCEDURE FOR APPLYING FOR PRIVATE LEGISLATION

General

The procedure in connection with Private Bills differs very materially from that which governs Public Bills. A Public Bill relates to a matter of public policy and is usually general in application and character and is initiated by a Minister or Member.

A Private Bill, on the other hand, relates to a matter of special benefit to a particular person or group of persons and is the vehicle by which a member of the public may initiate a Bill by applying to the Legislative Assembly. A Private Bill has as its object a privilege, i.e., an exception from the general law or a provision for something that cannot be obtained under the general law. Where one or more individuals, an association or other organization, a company, municipality or other local authorities seeks any special privilege requiring legislative sanction, the legislation can only be obtained by means of a Private Bill on the application of the parties concerned.

Before any special privilege of this nature is granted, the Legislative Assembly requires to be satisfied that no other rights or interests would be prejudiced by granting the special legislation sought to be obtained.

Requirements Concerning Publication of Notices

In this regard, the Standing Rules of the Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick requires the publication of notices of all private legislation.

Standing Rule 111 states that a person intending to apply for the enactment of a Private Bill shall publish notice, in both official languages, stating clearly and distinctly the nature and objects of the proposed Bill, and the name and address of the applicat as follows:

(a) once in the Royal Gazette at least two weeks before filing the application;

(b) once a week for three successive weeks in a newspaper having a general circulation in the area where reside the parties or the majority of the parties, interested in, and affected by, the Bill.

In summary, a notice of the application must be published once in the Royal Gazette at least two weeks prior to filing the application and once a week for three successive weeks in at least one newspaper circulated in the locality most affected by the Bill. The notice must appear in English and French and must specify clearly and distinctly the nature and objects of the proposed legislation. The notice must also include the name and address of the applicant.


With regard to publication of notice, the Legislative Assembly must be satisfied that the majority of parties interested in and affected by a Private Bill are sufficiently notified that an application has been made to the Legislature.

The Clerk's Office, which has in the past accepted the Telegraph Journal as a newspaper having province-wide distribution, will no longer accept the publication of notice in this one newspaper as satisfying the requirements of Standing Rule 111(b) as a newspaper having general circulation within the meaning and spirit of the rule. Although it is difficult to define "general circulation", newspapers which reach a significant proportion of households is a starting point for informing the public. No newspaper reaches all the people in a community and it is not necessary that everyone be informed directly. Since no newspaper has a circulation wide enough in all localities so as to cover the province sufficiently, the Legislative Assembly will require for Private Bills of general public interest, publication of notices in the following newspapers:

Moncton Times-Transcript
L'Acadie Nouvelle
Daily Gleaner
Telegraph Journal

Publication of notices in these four provincial newspapers will ensure that the majority of the parties interested in and affected by a Bill have reasonable notice of the proposed Bill.

Private Bills affecting a municipality or Bills of local interest will require publication of notice, in at least one newspaper with a circulation wide enough in the area affected to ensure that the community as a whole has reasonable notice of the proposed Bill. (For example, a Private Bill affecting the City of Saint John may be advertised in the Evening Times Globe or in the Telegraph Journal).

Proof by affidavit or statutory declaration that the requirements of Standing Rule 111 have been complied with must be furnished at the time of filing the application. The dates of the publication should be set out in the affidavit or statutory declaration and a copy of the notice attached.

The application for a Private Bill is effected by the filing with the Clerk of the House:

1. A copy of the Bill in both official languages.
2. Proof of publication of advertisements.
3. Name of Member sponsoring the Bill.
4. Prescribed fees.

These requirements are indispensable conditions to the reception and passage of a Private Bill.

Timing

An application for a Private Bill may be commenced at any time in the year. However, it is recommended that the advertising be completed early in the calendar year or in early fall so that the Bill may be considered in the fall sitting. Since 1996, the Legislative Assembly has been summoned into session in late November. It is recommended that the application be filed prior to the start of the fall sitting to avoid delays in the consideration of the Bill. Applications filed later after the commencement of the session may not be considered until the next calendar year when the session normally resumes following a period of adjournment.

The consideration of Private Bills will be facilitated and delays avoided if the aforementioned instructions are observed.


October 2002

DISCLAIMER

|
|
|
Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick

PROCÉDURE DE DEMANDE D'ÉDICTION D'UN PROJET D'INTÉRÊT PRIVÉ

Généralités

La procédure à suivre relativement aux projets de loi d'intérêt privé diffère beaucoup de celle relative aux projets de loi d'intérêt public. Les projets de loi d'intérêt public s'appliquent à des orientations collectives ; ils sont habituellement de portée et de nature générales et sont mis de l'avant par des ministres ou d'autres parlementaires.

Un projet de loi d'intérêt privé, par contre, porte sur une question favorisant particulièrement une personne ou un groupe et sert de moyen par lequel un membre du public peut demander à l'Assemblée de légiférer. L'objet du projet de loi d'intérêt privé est un privilège, à savoir une exception au droit général ou des mesures non applicables par exécution du droit général. Lorsqu'un particulier ou un groupe de particuliers, une association ou autre organisation, une compagnie ou encore une municipalité ou d'autres autorités locales veulent obtenir un privilège spécial devant être consacré par loi, la mesure habilitante ne peut être qu'un projet de loi d'intérêt privé déposé sur la demande des parties intéressées.

Avant que le privilège spécial ne soit consenti, l'Assemblée législative s'assure que le projet de loi d'exception visé ne porterait pas atteinte à d'autres droits ou intérêts.

Conditions de publication des avis

À cet égard, le Règlement de l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick exige que des avis soient publiés pour tous les projets de loi d'intérêt privé.

L'article 111 du Règlement déclare que quiconque a l'intention de demander l'édiction d'un projet de loi d'intérêt privé doit faire publier, dans les deux langues officielles, un avis indiquant clairement la nature et l'objet de ce projet de loi ainsi que le nom et l'adresse du demandeur

a) une fois dans la Gazette royale, deux semaines au moins avant le dépôt de la demande,

b) une fois par semaine, pendant trois semaines consécutives, dans un journal ayant une diffusion générale dans la région dans laquelle résident les parties ou la majorité des parties visées par le projet de loi ou qui y sont intéressées.

En bref, un avis de la demande doit être publié une fois dans la Gazette royale au moins deux semaines avant le dépôt de cette demande et une fois par semaine pendant trois semaines de suite dans au moins un journal distribué dans l'agglomération où résident les gens les plus touchés par le projet de loi. L'avis doit être publié en français et en anglais et doit indiquer clairement la nature et l'objet du projet de loi ainsi que le nom et l'adresse du demandeur.

Pour ce qui est de la publication des avis, l'Assemblée législative doit être convaincue que la majorité des parties intéressées et touchées par un projet de loi d'intérêt privé sont informées avec assez de temps de la demande soumise à l'Assemblée.

Le bureau du greffier, qui a dans le passé tenu le Telegraph Journal pour quotidien provincial, ne juge plus que la publication d'un avis dans ce seul journal satisfait aux conditions de l'alinéa 111b) du Règlement et que ce journal a une diffusion générale selon le sens et l'esprit de l'alinéa. Bien qu'il soit difficile de définir « diffusion générale », joindre une proportion considérable des ménages est un point de départ pour ce qui est d'informer le public. Aucun journal ne joint tous les membres d'une collectivité, et il n'est pas nécessaire d'informer tout le monde directement. Puisque aucun journal ne peut prétendre à une diffusion provinciale complète, l'Assemblée législative exige, pour les projets de loi d'intérêt privé de portée générale, que des avis soient publiés dans les journaux suivants :

Times & Transcript de Moncton,
L'Acadie Nouvelle,
Daily Gleaner,
Telegraph-Journal.

La publication des avis dans ces quatre journaux de la province fait que la majorité des parties intéressées et touchées par un projet de loi ont un préavis suffisant quant à son dépôt.

Pour les projets de loi d'intérêt privé touchant une municipalité ou des intérêts locaux, il faut publier un avis dans au moins un journal ayant une diffusion assez large dans les environs, pour que les gens, dans l'ensemble, soient mis au courant du projet de loi suffisamment à l'avance. (Par exemple, un projet de loi d'intérêt privé qui touche la municipalité de Saint John peut faire l'objet d'un avis dans le Evening Times-Globe ou le Telegraph-Journal.)

Un affidavit ou une déclaration solennelle attestant que les conditions de l'article 111 du Règlement ont été respectées doit accompagner la demande d'édiction. Les dates de publication devraient y être inscrites, et copie de l'avis devrait être jointe.

La demande d'édiction d'un projet de loi d'intérêt privé nécessite le dépôt de ce qui suit au bureau du greffier de la Chambre :

1) le texte du projet de loi dans les deux langues officielles,
2) la preuve de la publication des avis,
3) le nom du ou de la parlementaire qui parraine le projet de loi,
4) les droits réglementaires.

Ces conditions doivent absolument être respectées pour qu'un projet de loi d'intérêt privé soit reçu et adopté.

Facteur temps

Une demande d'édiction de projet de loi d'intérêt privé peut être présentée à n'importe quelle période de l'année. Cependant, il est recommandé de publier tous les avis au début de l'année civile ou au début de l'automne, de manière que le projet de loi puisse être étudié pendant la séance d'automne. Depuis 1996, l'Assemblée législative est convoquée en session à la fin novembre. Il est recommandé de déposer la demande avant le début de la séance d'automne afin de ne pas retarder l'étude du projet de loi. Les demandes déposées après le début de la session peuvent être reportées à l'année civile suivante, lorsque la session reprend normalement après une période d'ajournement.

L'étude des projets de loi d'intérêt privé sera facilitée et les retards seront évités si les consignes précédentes sont respectées.

Octobre 2002

DÉCHARGE