|
|
|
Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick
Home | Français
Index | Previous | Next

Part 2 - King George III and Queen Charlotte


The visitor's attention is likely to turn next to the two large portraits, one on either side of the throne. These are replicas of paintings by Sir Joshua Reynolds of King George III and his consort, Queen Charlotte. Both have undergone extensive restoration.

George III had reigned for 24 years and had 36 years left to live when New Brunswick was separated from Nova Scotia and created a separate province in 1784. The province was named for his family's ancestral seat, Brunswick, in Germany. Previously, it had been known as Sunbury County, Nova Scotia.

The throne, set on a dais under a canopy bearing a carving of the royal coat of arms, serves as such only when the lieutenant-governor enters the house to deliver the Speech from the Throne, which opens a session of the legislature, to perform the formal function of giving royal assent to bills, or to prorogue the legislature. During the legislative session, it is the speaker's chair and is occupied by the member elected by members of the Legislative Assembly to preside.

The speaker's chair and the original clerk's desk were rescued from the fire that destroyed the old legislative building known as Province Hall.

Traditionally, the premier, cabinet and members of the government party are seated on the speaker's right, while opposition members are seated on the left, beneath the visitors' gallery.

Index | Previous | Next

DISCLAIMER

|
|
|
Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick
Index | Précédent | Suivant

Partie 2 - Le roi George III et la reine Charlotte


Deux grands portraits placés de chaque côté du trône attirent également l'attention : un portrait du roi George III et un portrait de son épouse, la reine Charlotte. Les oeuvres, qui sont des copies de toiles peintes par sir Joshua Reynolds, ont récemment fait l'objet d'importants travaux de restauration.

George III règne depuis 24 années déjà lorsque le Nouveau-Brunswick devient une province distincte en 1784; il mourra 36 années plus tard. Brunswick, le nom de son fief ancestral en Allemagne, devient le nom de la nouvelle province, qui était auparavant le comté de Sunbury en Nouvelle-Écosse.

Le trône est placé sur une estrade, sous un dais orné d'un relief sculpté représentant les armoiries royales. Il ne sert de trône qu'au moment où le lieutenant-gouverneur entre à la Chambre pour ouvrir une session en prononçant le discours du trône, pour donner la sanction royale aux projets de loi ou pour proroger l'Assemblée législative. Pendant les séances de l'Assemblée législative, le trône sert de fauteuil de président de la Chambre, c'est-à-dire de celui que les députés ont élu pour présider l'Assemblée législative.

Le fauteuil du président de la Chambre et le pupitre original du greffier ont été sauvés de l'incendie qui a détruit le vieil édifice de l'Assemblée législative, qui était connu sous le nom de Province Hall.

Selon la tradition, le premier ministre, les membres du Cabinet et les députés du parti ministériel siègent à la droite du président de la Chambre, alors que les députés de l'opposition sont assis à sa gauche, sous la tribune des visiteurs.

Index | Précédent | Suivant

DÉCHARGE