|
|
|
Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick
Home | Français
Index | Previous | Next

Part 4 - The Legislative Process


New Brunswick's system of government, like the federal system in Ottawa and those in other provinces, is based on the British parliamentary system.

It is the only officially bilingual province in Canada, having passed into law an Official Languages Act which recognizes the equality of the English and French languages in the legislature, courts, public service and schools.

Under our system of parliamentary democracy, each of the 55 members of the provincial Legislative Assembly is elected individually to represent the voters in one constituency or district.

Although a member of the Legislative Assembly (MLA) need not be affiliated with an organized political party, historically it has been the case in New Brunswick for members to belong to either the Liberal Party or the Progressive Conservative Party. Only those two parties have been able to win sufficient seats in a general election to form a government. The first member of the legislature to represent the New Democratic Party was elected in 1982. The first members of the Confederation of Regions Party were elected in 1991.

Following a provincial election, the political party with the largest number of elected representatives forms the government. The leader of the party with the majority of seats, the premier, is also an MLA. The premier appoints a cabinet from among the members of his party elected to the legislature. Cabinet ministers are, in our system, collectively responsible to the Legislative Assembly, and thus to the people at large, for implementing legislation (laws) passed by the legislature and for conducting government affairs.

The legislature meets once and sometimes twice a year. It can be dissolved at any time by the lieutenant-governor on the advice of the premier or, in the event the government is defeated, by a vote in the legislature. The latter circumstance is an indication the Legislative Assembly has lost confidence in the government.

The party with the second largest number of seats in the legislature forms the official Opposition, and its leader becomes leader of the Opposition. There can be more than one opposition party and that with the largest number of members is styled the official Opposition.

The role of the Opposition is to question the government policies and actions, and to offer alternatives to government policies.

The speaker of the Legislative Assembly, elected by the members of the legislature by secret ballot, presides over the Legislative Assembly proceedings. It is the speaker who assures that parliamentary rules are observed. Those rules basically provide for orderly debate and free expression of views.

Another important position in our system of government is the lieutenant-governor. The lieutenant-governor is not elected and only appears before the Legislative Assembly on the invitation of its members. Appointed by Canada's Governor General-in-Council, this person is the Queen's representative in New Brunswick. Before any legislation passed by the assembly becomes law, it must have "royal assent" -- that is, approval by the lieutenant-governor.

The opening of the legislature each year is highlighted by the Speech from the Throne. It outlines the program that will be introduced to the legislature by the government party.

Business conducted during a legislative session consists of the following: debate on the Speech from the Throne; budget debate; bills, which become the laws of the province when they are passed and receive royal assent; questions of cabinet ministers, both oral and written, asked by individual MLAs, and motions which can be introduced by government or individual MLAs.

Once decisions are passed by the Legislative Assembly and have received royal assent, they are implemented by cabinet, through the civil service in the various government departments and agencies.

Index | Previous | Next

DISCLAIMER

|
|
|
Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick
Index | Précédent | Suivant

Partie 4 - Processus législatif


Le gouvernement du Nouveau-Brunswick, comme le régime fédéral à Ottawa et le système dans les autres provinces, s'appuie sur le système parlementaire britannique.

Le Nouveau-Brunswick est la seule province officiellement bilingue au Canada. La province a adopté la Loi sur les langues officielles, qui reconnaît l'égalité du français et de l'anglais à l'Assemblée législative, devant les tribunaux, dans les services publics et dans les écoles.

Dans notre système de démocratie parlementaire, chacun des 55 députés provinciaux est élu individuellement pour représenter les électeurs et électrices d'une circonscription électorale.

Bien qu'un député ne soit pas tenu d'appartenir à un parti politique enregistré, les députés au Nouveau-Brunswick sont par tradition membres du Parti libéral ou du Parti progressiste-conservateur. Seuls ces deux partis ont pu remporter un nombre suffisant de sièges aux élections générales pour former un gouvernement. Le premier député néo-démocrate a été élu en 1982. Les premiers parlementaires représentant le parti Confederation of Regions ont été élus en 1991. Le premier député à représenter le Parti vert a été élu en 2014.

À la suite d'élections provinciales, le parti politique ayant fait élire le plus grand nombre de députés forme le gouvernement. Le chef du parti qui a remporté la majorité des sièges, le premier ministre, est également un député. Il choisit les membres du Cabinet parmi les candidats élus de son parti. Dans notre système, les ministres sont collectivement responsables devant l'Assemblée législative, donc, devant l'ensemble de la population, de l'application des lois adoptées à l'Assemblée législative ainsi que de la conduite des affaires du gouvernement.

L'Assemblée législative siège une fois, parfois deux fois, par année. Elle peut être dissoute par le lieutenant-gouverneur sur l'avis du premier ministre ou, advenant la défaite du gouvernement, par un vote à l'Assemblée législative. Un tel vote atteste que le gouvernement a perdu la confiance de l'Assemblée législative.

Le parti venant au deuxième rang pour ce qui est des sièges à l'Assemblée législative forme l'opposition officielle, et son chef devient chef de l'opposition. Il peut y avoir plus d'un parti d'opposition, et celui qui a le plus de députés constitue l'opposition officielle.

Le rôle de l'opposition est de remettre en question les politiques et actions du gouvernement et de présenter des contre-propositions.

Le président de l'Assemblée législative, qui est élu par scrutin secret par les parlementaires, préside les travaux de l'Assemblée. Le président voit à faire respecter les règles parlementaires qui permettent de maintenir l'ordre dans les débats et la liberté d'expression.

Une autre fonction importante dans notre système de gouvernement est celle du lieutenant-gouverneur. Celui-ci n'est pas élu et ne se présente à l'Assemblée législative que sur l'invitation des députés. Il est nommé par le gouverneur général en conseil du Canada et représente la reine au Nouveau-Brunswick. Avant qu'une mesure législative adoptée par l'Assemblée législative devienne une loi, elle doit recevoir la sanction royale, c'est-à-dire l'approbation du lieutenant-gouverneur.

Le discours du trône marque chaque année l'ouverture de l'Assemblée législative. Il décrit le programme que le parti au pouvoir présentera à l'Assemblée législative.

Pendant une session de l'Assemblée législative, les travaux sont les suivants : débat sur le discours du trône; débat sur le budget; projets de loi, qui deviennent les lois de la province après avoir été adoptés et avoir reçu la sanction royale; questions orales ou écrites posées aux ministres par les députés; motions émanant du gouvernement ou des députés.

Une fois que les décisions adoptées par l'Assemblée législative ont reçu la sanction royale, elles sont mises en oeuvre par le Cabinet grâce aux fonctionnaires des divers ministères et organismes du gouvernement.

Index | Précédent | Suivant

DÉCHARGE