|
|
|
Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick
Home | Français
Index | Previous | Next

Part 9 - New Brunswick Fathers of Confederation


Edward Barron Chandler

Born in Amherst, N.S., in 1800, Chandler became a lawyer and subsequently the member of the Legislative Assembly representing Westmorland County. He was later appointed to the Legislative Council. He was a New Brunswick delegate to the pre-Confederation conferences in Charlottetown, Quebec and London. Following Confederation, Chandler was a member of the New Brunswick government for two years, and later accepted an appointment as lieutenant-governor of the province. He died in Fredericton in 1880.

Charles Fisher

Fisher was born in Fredericton, N.B., in 1808. A lawyer, he was elected to the Legislative Assembly and served twice in the 1850s as premier and attorney-general of the province. A delegate to the Quebec pre-Confederation conference, his advocacy of Confederation led to his defeat in York County. He was later re-elected to the legislature and afterwards to the Parliament of Canada. Following retirement from Parliament, Fisher was appointed a justice of the New Brunswick Supreme Court. He died in 1880.

John Hamilton Gray

Gray was the name of two Fathers of Confederation, from different provinces and unrelated to one another. John Hamilton Gray was born in St. George's, Bermuda, in 1814. He was elected as a member of the Legislative Assembly for Saint John in 1850. Gray was a delegate to the pre-Confederation conferences in Charlottetown and Quebec. He became speaker of the provincial legislature in 1866 and was later elected to the first Canadian House of Commons. Upon retirement, he was appointed a justice of the Supreme Court of British Columbia.

John Mercer Johnson

Johnson was born in Liverpool, England, in 1818. Brought to New Brunswick by his father, he became a lawyer and, in 1850, a member of the Legislative Assembly. He served successively as solicitor-general, postmaster-general, speaker and attorney-general. He was a delegate to the Quebec conference in 1864 and the London conference in 1866. Following Confederation in 1867, Johnson was elected to the new federal House of Commons.

Peter Mitchell

Born in Newcastle, N.B., in 1824, Mitchell was a lawyer and a successful shipbuilder. His long and varied political career as a member of the Legislative Assembly included holding the office of premier from 1865-67. He was then appointed to the Senate and afterwards became the first federal minister of marine and fisheries. Mitchell was the member of Parliament for Northumberland County for 15 years.

William Henry Steeves

Steeves was born in Hillsborough, N.B., in 1814. He was a member of the business community who for several years represented Albert County in the Legislative Assembly. He later became a member of the Legislative Council. A delegate to the pre-Confederation conferences at Charlottetown and Quebec, Steeves was appointed to the Senate after Confederation. He died in Saint John, N.B., in 1873.

Samuel Leonard Tilley

Tilley was born in Gagetown, N.B., in 1818. Tilley served as a member of the Legislative Assembly for many years, and held the office of premier from 1861-65. He was a delegate to the three pre-Confederation conferences and held office in Sir John A. Macdonald's first administration in Ottawa. He later became lieutenant-governor of New Brunswick and minister of finance in the second Macdonald government. Following service in Ottawa, Tilley was reappointed lieutenant-governor of New Brunswick. He died in 1896.

Robert Duncan Wilmot

Wilmot attended only the London pre-Confederation conference, where he represented New Brunswick. He was born in Fredericton, Oct. 16, 1809. An opponent of Confederation, in 1865 he became a member of the government formed by Albert J. Smith, which won the election by fighting against the plan devised at the Quebec conference. Wilmot appears to have been converted to the idea of a federal system. In 1866, he was elected as a Confederationist and became a minister without portfolio in the Peter Mitchell administration. He was sent to London in 1866, and at the dawn of Confederation, became a senator. In 1878, he joined the Macdonald government as a minister without portfolio and became speaker of the Senate. In 1880, he was appointed lieutenant-governor of New Brunswick, a post he held for five years. He died Feb. 11, 1891.




Index
 | Previous | Next

DISCLAIMER

|
|
|
Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick
Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick
Tradition législative
Page d'accueil | English

Index | Précédent | Suivant

Partie 9 - Pères de la confédération du Nouveau-Brunswick


Edward Barron Chandler

Né en 1800 à Amherst (Nouvelle-Écosse), Chandler devient avocat, puis député du comté de Westmorland. Il est nommé ensuite au Conseil législatif. Il est délégué du Nouveau-Brunswick aux conférences de la confédération à Charlottetown, à Québec et à Londres. Après la confédération, il est membre du gouvernement du Nouveau-Brunswick pendant deux ans, puis il accepte d'être nommé lieutenant-gouverneur. Il est décédé en 1880 à Fredericton.

Charles Fisher

Fisher est né en 1808 à Fredericton (Nouveau-Brunswick). Avocat de profession, il est élu à l'Assemblée législative et, dans les années 1850, il est à deux reprises premier ministre et procureur général de la province. Il est délégué à la conférence de Québec, mais il est défait dans le comté de York à cause de son appui à la confédération. Plus tard, il est réélu à l'Assemblée législative, puis élu au Parlement du Canada. Après sa retraite du Parlement, Fisher est nommé juge de la Cour suprême du Nouveau-Brunswick. Il est décédé en 1880.

John Hamilton Gray

Le nom de Gray est porté par deux Pères de la confédération, qui viennent de provinces distinctes et qui n'ont aucun lien de parenté. John Hamilton Gray est né en 1814 à St. Georges (Bermudes). Élu député de Saint John en 1850, il est délégué aux conférences de la confédération à Charlottetown et à Québec. Il devient président de l'Assemblée législative provinciale en 1866, puis il est élu à la première Chambre des communes. À sa retraite, il est nommé juge de la Cour suprême de la Colombie-Britannique.

John Mercer Johnson

Johnson est né en 1818 à Liverpool (Angleterre). Amené au Nouveau-Brunswick par son père, il devient avocat, puis député en 1850. Il est successivement solliciteur général, ministre des Postes, président de la Chambre et procureur général. Il est délégué à la conférence de Québec en 1864 et à celle de Londres en 1866. Après la confédération en 1867, Johnson est élu à la nouvelle Chambre des communes du Parlement fédéral.

Peter Mitchell

Né en 1824 à Newcastle (Nouveau-Brunswick), Mitchell est un avocat, et aussi un constructeur de navires prospère. Il a une carrière longue et variée à titre de député provincial, notamment entre 1865 et 1867, où il est premier ministre. Il est ensuite nommé au Sénat, puis il devient le premier titulaire du poste de ministre fédéral de la Marine et des Pêcheries. Mitchell est député fédéral du comté de Northumberland pendant 15 ans.

William Henry Steeves

Steeves est né en 1814 à Hillsborough (Nouveau-Brunswick). Un homme d'affaires, il représente pendant quelques années le comté d'Albert à l'Assemblée législative, puis il devient membre du Conseil législatif. Steeves est délégué aux conférences de la confédération à Charlottetown et à Québec et il est nommé au Sénat après la confédération. Il est décédé en 1873 à Saint John (Nouveau-Brunswick).

Samuel Leonard Tilley

Tilley est né en 1818 à Gagetown (Nouveau-Brunswick). Il est député pendant de nombreuses années et, de 1861 à 1865, premier ministre. Il est délégué aux trois conférences de la confédération et fait partie du premier gouvernement de sir John A. Macdonald. Il devient ensuite lieutenant-gouverneur du Nouveau-Brunswick, puis ministre des finances dans le second gouvernement Macdonald. Après ses années de service à Ottawa, Tilley est nommé de nouveau lieutenant-gouverneur du Nouveau-Brunswick. Il est décédé en 1896.

Robert Duncan Wilmot

Wilmot assiste à la conférence de Londres, où il représente le Nouveau-Brunswick. Il est né à Fredericton le 16 octobre 1809. Opposé à la confédération, il devient même membre en 1865 du gouvernement formé par Albert J. Smith, qui remporte les élections en raison de sa lutte contre le projet élaboré à la conférence de Québec. Wilmot semble s'être converti à l'idée d'un système fédéral. En 1866, il est élu comme partisan de la confédération et devient ministre sans portefeuille dans le gouvernement de Peter Mitchell. Il est envoyé à Londres en 1866 et, à l'aube de la confédération, il devient sénateur. En 1878, il se joint au gouvernement de Macdonald comme ministre sans portefeuille et devient président du Sénat. Il est nommé en 1880 lieutenant-gouverneur du Nouveau-Brunswick, poste qu'il occupe pendant cinq ans. Il est décédé le 11 février 1891.

Index | Précédent | Suivant

DÉCHARGE