|
|
|
Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick
Home | Français
Back

In 2001, the two magnificent pink brass and crystal chandeliers suspended in the Assembly Chamber underwent extensive restoration which included the replacement of the winch mechanisms to lower and raise the fixtures. (See Legislative Activities 2001 )

On November 8, 2002, almost one year after the restoration and several days before the Legislature was scheduled to sit, the south chandelier crashed to the floor while it was being raised after it had been lowered for cleaning. The accident demolished two of the Members' desks in the Chamber, damaged the Clerk's Table and its original marble top. The most significant damage was to the ornate pink brass chandelier frame and to the majority of the 574 pieces of crystal suspended from the frame (see photo above), including several of the chandelier's 18 lead crystal globes.

The affected desks and table were restored in time for the opening of the new session. Temporary lighting was installed and remained in place until the restoration of the south chandelier was completed. The objective of the restoration was to retain as much of the original artistry as possible.

For more information on the restoration of the south chandelier, refer to Legislative Activities 2005.

Back

DISCLAIMER

|
|
|
Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick

En 2001, les deux magnifiques lustres en laiton rose et cristal suspendus au plafond de la Chambre font l'objet d'une restauration complète, ce qui comprend le remplacement du mécanisme de treuils pour descendre et remonter les luminaires. (Voir Activités législatives, 2001.)

Le 8 novembre 2002, presque un an après la fin des travaux de restauration et plusieurs jours avant le début des travaux de l'Assemblée législative, le lustre du côté sud s'écrase au sol pendant qu'il est monté, après avoir été descendu pour être nettoyé. L'accident détruit deux pupitres des parlementaires dans la Chambre et endommage le bureau du greffier et son plateau original en marbre. Les dommages les plus importants sont causés à l'armature du lustre orné en laiton rose et à la majorité des 574 pendeloques de cristal suspendues à l'armature (voir la photo ci-dessus), y compris plusieurs des 18 globes en cristal au plomb du lustre.

Les pupitres et les bureaux touchés sont restaurés à temps pour l'ouverture de la nouvelle session. Des luminaires temporaires sont installés et demeurent en place jusqu'à la restauration complète du lustre du côté sud. L'objectif des travaux de restauration est de conserver autant que possible le caractère artistique original.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la restauration du lustre du côté sud, consulter Activités législatives, 2005.

Précédent

Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick
Courrier électronique | Coordonnées | Décharge
DÉCHARGE
 
Cliquer sur un lustre pour voir l'un des magnifiques prismes de cristal.