Speakers of the Legislative Assembly

Hon. John Campbell Allen

The Hon. John C. Allen was born October 1, 1817 in the parish of Kingsclear, York County, New Brunswick. He was the grandson of Isaac Allen, United Empire Loyalist, who left New Jersey in 1783 to settle in the province of Nova Scotia. His father, John Allen, was active in the militia and represented York County in the Legislative Assembly from 1809 until 1846.

John Campbell Allen was educated at the Fredericton grammar school and studied law with the Hon. John Simcoe Saunders. He was admitted to the Bar of New Brunswick as attorney in 1838 and as barrister in 1840.

Mr. Allen took an active interest in the militia. In 1835 he joined a volunteer company of artillery in Fredericton which later became the New Brunswick Regiment of Artillery. He rose to the position of Second Lieutenant, First Lieutenant, Adjutant and Captain. From 1844 to 1848 he was aide-de-camp to Sir William Colebrooke, the Lieutenant Governor of New Brunswick.

In 1845 he married Margaret A. Drury, daughter of the late Charles Drury. They had a family of seven sons and two daughters.

In 1845 he was appointed one of the commissioners for settling land claims under the Treaty of Washington. In 1847 he published a digest of rules of the Supreme Court and the Acts of the Assembly relating to the practice of the courts. For several years he was a reporter for the Supreme Court. In 1851 Mr. Allen was appointed Clerk of the Executive Council and held that office until January 1856 when he resigned and offered as a member of the House of Assembly for York County.

First elected to represent York County in a by-election on February 28, 1856, made necessary by the death of James Taylor, he was re-elected in the general election of June 13, 1856. Subsequently, he was appointed Solicitor General, a position he held until May 1857 when the government resigned, having been defeated at the general election. He was re-elected May 8, 1857, and again on June 4, 1861.

Mr. Allen was Speaker of the House of Assembly from February 13, 1863 until the dissolution of that body in 1865 for the purpose of ascertaining the opinion of the people on the question of Confederation, as agreed upon by the delegates assembled at Quebec the previous September. He was re-elected March 2, 1865 and April 17, 1865 as a representative opposed to Confederation.

In April 1865 he was appointed Attorney General, an office he held until September. During the same year, he was sent by the provincial government with the Hon. Albert J. Smith as a delegate to the British government, for the purpose of urging the objections of New Brunswick to Confederation. Soon after his return from England he was appointed a puisne judge of the Supreme Court of New Brunswick. On October 8, 1875 he was appointed Chief Justice of New Brunswick, a position he held until 1896.

Mr. Allen received the degree of Doctor of Laws from the University of New Brunswick in 1882 and that of Doctor of Civil Law from King's College, Windsor in 1890. In 1888, to commemorate his fiftieth anniversary as an attorney, he was presented with a valuable piece of plate by the members of the Saint John Bar. He was knighted by Her Majesty Queen Victoria in 1889.

He died on September 27, 1898.

Source - Speakers of the Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, 1786-1985. 1985, Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, Office of the Clerk, Fredericton, N.B.

Présidents de l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick

L’hon. John Campbell Allen

L’hon. John C. Allen est né le 1er octobre 1817 dans la paroisse de Kingsclear, comté de York, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Il était le petit-fils d’Isaac Allen, loyaliste de l’Empire-Uni, qui avait quitté le New Jersey en 1783 pour s’établir en Nouvelle-Écosse. Le père de John C. Allen, John Allen, avait été actif dans la milice et avait représenté le comté de York à l’Assemblée législative de 1809 à 1846.

John Campbell Allen a fréquenté la Fredericton Grammar School et a étudié le droit avec l’hon. John Simcoe Saunders. Il a été admis au Barreau du Nouveau-Brunswick comme avocat, en 1838, et comme avocat plaidant, en 1840.

M. Allen s’est intéressé vivement aux activités de la milice. En 1835, il s’est engagé dans une compagnie d’artillerie composée de volontaires et basée à Fredericton, compagnie qui est devenue plus tard le régiment d’artillerie du Nouveau-Brunswick. Il a gravi les échelons, occupant les rangs de sous-lieutenant, de lieutenant, d’adjudant et de capitaine. De 1844 à 1848, il a été l’aide de camp de sir William Colebrooke, lieutenant-gouverneur du Nouveau-Brunswick.

En 1845, il a épousé Margaret A. Drury, fille de Charles Drury. Le couple a eu sept fils et deux filles.

En 1845, il a été nommé l’un des commissaires chargés de régler les revendications territoriales en vertu du traité de Washington. En 1847, il a publié un résumé des règles de la Cour suprême et des lois de l’Assemblée législative ayant trait au fonctionnement des tribunaux. Pendant plusieurs années, il a été sténographe à la Cour suprême. En 1851, M. Allen a été nommé greffier du Conseil exécutif, poste qu’il a occupé jusqu’à ce qu’il démissionne en janvier 1856 pour se présenter dans le comté de York comme candidat à l’Assemblée législative.

Élu pour la première fois pour représenter le comté de York lors d’une élection partielle tenue le 28 février 1856, à la suite du décès de James Taylor, il a été réélu aux élections générales du 13 juin 1856. Il a ensuite été nommé solliciteur général, charge qu’il a assumée jusqu’à la démission du gouvernement en mai 1857, celui-ci ayant été battu aux élections générales. Il a été réélu le 8 mai 1857 et de nouveau le 4 juin 1861.

M. Allen a été président de l’Assemblée législative du 13 février 1863 jusqu’à sa dissolution en 1865, dissolution réalisée afin de connaître l’opinion de la population sur la question de la confédération, selon l’accord intervenu entre les délégués réunis à Québec l’année précédente. Il a été réélu le 2 mars 1865 et le 17 avril 1865 en tant que représentant opposé à la confédération.

En avril 1865, il a été nommé procureur général, charge qu’il a exercée jusqu’en septembre. Au cours de cette même année, le gouvernement provincial l’a dépêché, ainsi que l’hon Albert J. Smith, comme délégué auprès du gouvernement britannique afin d’exposer les objections du Nouveau-Brunswick à la confédération. Peu après son retour d’Angleterre, il a été nommé juge puîné de la Cour suprême du Nouveau-Brunswick. Le 8 octobre 1875, il a été nommé juge en chef du Nouveau-Brunswick, poste qu’il a occupé jusqu’en 1896.

M. Allen a reçu en 1882 un doctorat en droit de l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick et, en 1890, un doctorat en droit civil de King’s College, à Windsor. En 1888, les membres du barreau de Saint John lui ont remis une pièce d’orfèvrerie de valeur pour souligner son 50e anniversaire à titre d’avocat. En 1889, il a été fait chevalier par Sa Majesté la reine Victoria.

Il est décédé le 27 septembre 1898.

Source : Nouveau-Brunswick. Assemblée législative. Bureau du greffier. Orateurs de l’Assemblée législative : Province du Nouveau-Brunswick : 1786-1985, Fredericton, 1985.