Speakers of the Legislative Assembly

Hon. Bernard Jean

Bernard Alfred Jean was born March 2, 1925 at Lamèque, New Brunswick, of French-Canadian ancestry, the son of Azade C. and Esther Duguay Jean.

He was educated at Couvent Jésus-Marie, Lamèque, N.B., at St. Joseph's University, Memramcook, N.B. (B.A. 1946), and at Laval University, Quebec City (B.A, M.A. (Economics) 1949). He studied law and was admitted to the Bar of New Brunswick in October 1951.

He located at Caraquet, Gloucester County, N.B. where he practiced law. He was the first President of the Gloucester County Liberal Association. He is a past treasurer of the Boy Scout Association, President of the Caraquet Local Improvement District Council, a founding member of the Caraquet, Shippagan and Miscou Chamber of Commerce and of the Caraquet Richelieu Club.

From 1963 to 1967 Mr. Jean was a member of the Canadian Centennial Commission. From 1965 to 1971 he was a member of the Board of Governors of the University of New Brunswick.

On September 3, 1955, he married Miss Corinne Lanteigne of Caraquet. By this marriage there was a family of two sons and four daughters.

He was first elected to the House of Assembly of New Brunswick as a Liberal member for Gloucester County at the general election of June 27, 1960. He was re-elected at the general elections of April 22, 1963; October 23, 1967; and on October 26, 1970. He sat as a member in the House until his resignation in August 1972 when he was appointed County Court Judge.

On May 28, 1963, he was elected Speaker of the House of Assembly of New Brunswick, a position he held until April 12, 1966.

On April 6, 1966, he was sworn in as a member of the Executive Council of New Brunswick and received the appointment of Minister of Justice and Attorney General in the administration of Hon. Louis J. Robichaud. Mr. Jean resigned as an elected member in 1972 and was appointed County Court Judge in August of that year. On April 9, 1979 he was appointed Supreme Court Judge and on September 4, 1979, he was named Judge of the Court of Queen's Bench of New Brunswick, Trial Division. He served in this position until his retirement in 1994.

Mr. Jean died on June 4, 2012, at the age of 87.

Source - Speakers of the Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, 1786-1985. 1985, Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, Office of the Clerk, Fredericton, N.B.; Bernard Jean Obituary, Telegraph Journal, June 2012.

Présidents de l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick

L’hon. Bernard Jean

Bernard Alfred Jean est né le 2 mars 1925 à Lamèque, au Nouveau-Brunswick. D’ascendance canadienne-française, il était le fils d’Azade G. et d’Esther Duguay Jean.

Il a fréquenté le Couvent Jésus-Marie de Lamèque et l’Université Saint-Joseph de Memramcook, au Nouveau-Brunswick, où il a obtenu un baccalauréat ès arts en 1946, et l’Université Laval, à Québec, où il a obtenu un baccalauréat ès arts et une maîtrise en économie en 1949. Il a étudié le droit et a été admis au Barreau du Nouveau-Brunswick en octobre 1951.

Il s’est établi à Caraquet, dans le comté de Gloucester, au Nouveau-Brunswick, où il a exercé le droit. Il a été le premier président de l’association libérale du comté de Gloucester. Il a été trésorier de l’association des scouts, président du conseil de district d’amélioration locale de Caraquet, membre fondateur de la chambre de commerce de Caraquet, Shippagan et Miscou, ainsi que du Club Richelieu de Caraquet.

De 1963 à 1967, M. Jean a été membre de la Commission du Centenaire. De 1965 à 1971, il a été membre du Conseil des gouverneurs de l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick.

Le 3 septembre 1955, il a épousé Corinne Lanteigne, de Caraquet. De cette union sont nés deux fils et quatre filles.

Il a été élu pour la première fois à l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick comme député libéral du comté de Gloucester aux élections générales du 27 juin 1960. Il a été réélu aux élections générales du 22 avril 1963, du 23 octobre 1967 et du 26 octobre 1970. Il a siégé à la Chambre jusqu’à sa démission en août 1972, lorsqu’il a été nommé juge de la cour de comté.

Le 28 mai 1963, il a été élu président de l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick et il a occupé ce poste jusqu’au 12 avril 1966.

Le 6 avril 1966, il est devenu membre du Conseil exécutif du Nouveau-Brunswick et il a été nommé ministre de la Justice et procureur général dans le Cabinet de l’hon. Louis J. Robichaud. M. Jean a démissionné comme député en 1972 et a été nommé juge de la cour de comté en août de la même année. Le 9 avril 1979, il a été nommé juge de la Cour suprême et, le 4 septembre 1979, il a été nommé juge de la Cour du Banc de la Reine du Nouveau-Brunswick, division de première instance. Il a occupé ce poste jusqu’à son départ à la retraite en 1994.

M. Jean est décédé le 4 juin 2012, à l’âge de 87 ans.

Sources : Nouveau-Brunswick. Assemblée législative. Bureau du greffier. Orateurs de l’Assemblée législative : Province du Nouveau-Brunswick : 1786-1985, Fredericton, 1985. Telegraph-Journal, notice nécrologique pour Bernard Jean, juin 2012.