Speakers of the Legislative Assembly

Hon. C.H. Blakeny

Charles Blakeny was born December 2, 1888, at Moncton, New Brunswick, of Irish-Loyalist and English ancestry. He was the son of Sherman C. and Alice Warman Blakeny.

He was educated at Moncton High School and graduated from Mount Allison University in 1915 with the degree of B.A.

He located at Moncton and engaged in the businesses established by his father: Blakeny Cartage, Coal & Ice; Blakeny Hardware Store Limited., and Blakeny Concrete Products Limited. He was also president of Blakeny & Sons Ltd.

He was alderman for the city of Moncton for several years and Mayor in 1929 and from 1931 to 1934. He was a former president of Maritime Board of Trade. He was a member of A.F. & A.M., K. of P. Rotary Club, and the Canadian Club. He was one of the originators of the Atlantic Provinces Economic Council.

He received honorary degrees from both the University of New Brunswick and from St. Joseph's University.

On September 14, 1916, he married Lilah E. Lockhart, daughter of E.N. Lockhart. By this marriage there was a family of two girls.

He was first elected to the House of Assembly as a Liberal member to represent Moncton City at the general election of June 27, 1935. He was re-elected at the general elections of November 20, 1939 and August 28, 1944. He sat as a member unti1 1948, when he was defeated in the nomination for the general election of that year. He unsuccessfully contested Moncton City at the general election of September 22, 1952.

At the opening of the session of February 16, 1939, he was chosen Speaker of the House of Assembly, vice Hon. H.F.G. Bridges, who resigned. He retained the position during that session.

On January 10, 1940, he was sworn in as a member of the Executive Council of New Brunswick and received the appointment of Minister of Education, Federal and Municipal Affairs in the administration of the Hon. A.A. Dysart. He retained this appointment in the administration of the Hon. J .B. McNair and continued in these duties until 1948, when he retired from the House.

He died May 23, 1961, at Moncton, N.B., at the age of 72.

Source - Speakers of the Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, 1786-1985. 1985, Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, Office of the Clerk, Fredericton, N.B.

Présidents de l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick

L’hon. Charles Hanford Blakeny

Charles Blakeny est né le 2 décembre 1888 à Moncton, au Nouveau-Brunswick. D’ascendance loyaliste irlandaise et anglaise, il était le fils de Sherman C. et d’Alice Warman Blakeny.

Il a fréquenté la Moncton High School et a obtenu en 1915 un baccalauréat ès arts de la Mount Allison University.

Il s’est établi à Moncton et a travaillé dans les entreprises fondées par son père : Blakeny Cartage, Coal & Ice ; Blakeny Hardware, Limited ; Blakeny Concrete Products Limited. Il a aussi été président de Blakeny and Son, Limited.

Il a été conseiller municipal de Moncton pendant plusieurs années et maire en 1929 et de 1931 à 1934. Ancien président de la Maritime Board of Trade, il a été membre des Ancients Free & Accepted Masons, des Knights of Pythias, du club Rotary et du Canadian Club. Il a été l’un des instigateurs du Conseil économique des provinces de l’Atlantique.

Il a reçu des diplômes honorifiques de l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick et de l’Université Saint-Joseph.

Le 14 septembre 1916, il a épousé Lilah E. Lockhart, fille de E.N. Lockhart. Le couple a eu deux filles.

M. Blakeny a été élu pour la première fois à l’Assemblée législative, comme député libéral de la cité de Moncton, aux élections générales du 27 juin 1935. Il a été réélu aux élections générales du 20 novembre 1939 et du 28 août 1944. Il a siégé jusqu’en 1948, année de sa défaite lors des mises en candidature pour les élections générales de cette année-là. Il s’est porté candidat dans Moncton aux élections générales du 22 septembre 1952 et a été battu aux urnes.

À l’ouverture de la session, le 16 février 1939, il a été choisi président de l’Assemblée législative, à la suite de la démission de l’hon H.F.G. Bridges. Il a assumé les fonctions de président pour la durée de la session.

Le 10 janvier 1940, il a été assermenté à titre de membre du Conseil exécutif du Nouveau-Brunswick et nommé ministre de l’Éducation et des affaires fédérales et municipales dans le gouvernement de l’hon. A.A. Dysart. Il a conservé ces portefeuilles dans le gouvernement de l’hon. J.B. McNair jusqu’à son départ de la Chambre en 1948.

M. Blakeny est décédé le 23 mai 1961 à Moncton, au Nouveau-Brunswick, à l’âge de 72 ans.

Source : Nouveau-Brunswick. Assemblée législative. Bureau du greffier. Orateurs de l’Assemblée législative : Province du Nouveau-Brunswick : 1786-1985, Fredericton, 1985.