Speakers of the Legislative Assembly

Hon. Amos Botsford

Amos Botsford was born January 31, 1744/45, at Newtown, Connecticut. He was a Loyalist of Colonial English ancestry, the son of Gideon and Bertha Bennett Botsford .

He graduated from Yale College in 1763, studied law and was admitted to the Bar. He located in New Haven, Connecticut where he acquired influential standing as a citizen while he practiced law. During 1768-69 he lectured in law at Yale.

In 1770 he married Miss Sarah Chandler, daughter of Joshua Chandler, New Haven, Connecticut. By this marriage there was a family of one son and two daughters.

At the outbreak of the Revolutionary War, Botsford sided with the Crown. He was obliged to leave his home and seek refuge within the British lines while his property, valued at more than £1200, was confiscated.

Appointed by Sir Guy Carleton as agent for the Lloyds Neck Associated Loyalists in 1782, Amos Botsford was sent to Nova Scotia to arrange for settlement of the refugees. A careful survey of the Bay of Fundy and the Saint John River area was conducted and plans were made for settlement upon the arrival of the Loyalists the following year.

Amos Botsford was one of the original grantees of Parrtown where he drew several lots. He did not settle there but went to Westmorland County and located first on Dorchester Island where he built a stone house, the first to be erected in the county. He resided there for several years. Subsequently, he purchased a large tract of land at Westcock near Sackville and, in 1790, he sold his Dorchester Island home to Benjamin Wilson. He continued to live at Westcock the remainder of his life.

He engaged extensively in agriculture and continued to practice law. He also established a retail business. The dictionary of Canadian Biography describes Mr. Botsford:

Upon the formation of the province of New Brunswick in 1784, Botsford moved to Dorchester. He received the appointments of clerk of the peace, judge of the Inferior Court of Common Pleas, and registrar of deeds for the newly created county of Westmorland.

At the first general election for the House of Assembly in the newly constituted province of New Brunswick in November- December, 1785, he was elected as one of the members for Westmorland County . He attended the first session of the new legislative body which met at the Mallard House, King Street, Saint John, January 3, 1786. It was opened by Lieutenant Governor Thomas Carleton and Mr. Botsford was chosen the first Speaker, an office which he held continuously until his death 26 years later. He was reelected as a member at the general elections of January 1793, September 1795, November 1802, and October 1809 and he sat as a member until his death.

He died September 14, 1812, at Saint John, New Brunswick, while on a visit . An article by Edward Chapman Bowes in The Sackville Tribune- Post of July 18, 1984, describes Speaker Botsford::

One of the ‘founding fathers’ of New Brunswick... Botsford also founded a family dynasty which would play a significant role in the development of this province during the next century.

Source - Speakers of the Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, 1786-1985. 1985, Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, Office of the Clerk, Fredericton, N.B.

Présidents de l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick

L’hon. Amos Botsford

Amos Botsford est né le 31 janvier 1744 à Newtown, au Connecticut. D’ascendance loyaliste et coloniale anglaise, il était le fils de Gideon et de Bertha Bennett Botsford.

Il a reçu son diplôme du Yale College en 1763, il a étudié le droit et été admis au Barreau. Il s’est établi à New Haven, au Connecticut, où il a exercé le droit et est devenu un citoyen influent. Il a donné des cours de droit à Yale en 1768-1769.

En 1770, il a épousé Sarah Chandler, fille de Joshua Chandler, de New Haven, au Connecticut. De cette union sont nés un fils et deux filles.

Lorsque la guerre de la révolution américaine a éclatée, M. Botsford a pris parti pour la Couronne. Il a dû quitter sa demeure et se réfugier derrière les lignes britanniques, tandis que ses biens, estimés à plus de 1 200 £, ont été confisqués.

Nommé par sir Guy Carleton mandataire des Lloyd Neck Associated Loyalists en 1782, Amos Botsford a été envoyé en Nouvelle-Écosse pour faire les préparatifs en vue de l’établissement des réfugiés. L’arpentage détaillé des rives de la baie de Fundy et du fleuve Saint-Jean a été effectué, et des plans ont été dressés en vue de l’établissement des loyalistes l’année suivante.

Amos Botsford a été un des premiers à obtenir plusieurs concessions à Parrtown. Il ne s’y est pas établi, mais s’est rendu dans le comté de Westmorland et s’est installé d’abord à Dorchester Island, où il a construit la première maison de pierre du comté. Il y a vécu plusieurs années. Il a ensuite acheté une grande étendue de terre à Westcock, près de Sackville, et, en 1790, il a vendu à Benjamin Wilson sa demeure à Dorchester Island. Il a fini ses jours à Westcock.

Il s’est occupé beaucoup d’agriculture et il a continué à exercer le droit. Il a aussi ouvert un commerce de détail. Le Dictionnaire biographique du Canada décrit ainsi M. Botsford :

Lorsque le Nouveau-Brunswick devint une province en 1784, Botsford alla s’installer à Dorchester. Il obtint les nominations de greffier de la paix, de juge de la Cour inférieure des plaids communs et de receveur de l’enregistrement dans le comté de Westmorland, nouvellement créé.

Lors des premières élections générales de l’Assemblé législative tenues dans la nouvelle province du Nouveau-Brunswick, en novembre-décembre 1785, il a été élu comme un des députés du comté de Westmorland. Il a participé à la première session du nouveau corps législatif, qui s’est ouverte le 3 janvier 1786 à la maison Mallard, sur la rue King, à Saint John. La session a été ouverte par le lieutenant-gouverneur, Thomas Carleton, et M. Botsford a été choisi premier président, charge qu’il a occupée sans interruption jusqu’à sa mort 26 ans plus tard. Il a été réélu aux élections générales de janvier 1793, de septembre 1795, de novembre 1802 et d’octobre 1809, et il a siégé jusqu’à sa mort.

Il est décédé le 14 septembre 1812 à Saint John, au Nouveau-Brunswick, lors d’une visite. Un article rédigé par Edward Chapman Bowes dans The Sackville Tribune-Post du 18 juillet 1984 décrit ainsi le président Botsford :

Un des pères du Nouveau-Brunswick […] M. Botsford a aussi fondé une dynastie qui jouera un rôle important dans le développement de la province au cours du siècle suivant. [Traduction.]

Source : Nouveau-Brunswick. Assemblée législative. Bureau du greffier. Orateurs de l’Assemblée législative : Province du Nouveau-Brunswick : 1786-1985, Fredericton, 1985.