Speakers of the Legislative Assembly

Hon. Bliss Botsford

Bliss Botsford was born November 26, 1813 at Westcock, Sackville, Westmorland County, New Brunswick. He was of Loyalist ancestry, the seventh son of the Hon. William Botsford, a Justice of the Supreme Court of New Brunswick, and his wife, Sarah Lowell Hazen.

His grandfather, Hon. Amos Botsford, was a United Empire Loyalist and the first Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick. His father, Hon. William Botsford also occupied the position of Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick.

Bliss Botsford was educated at the public school and at King's College, Fredericton, New Brunswick. He studied law in the office of William End, Bathurst, New Brunswick and was admitted to the Bar of New Brunswick as attorney on June 8, 1836, and as barrister on June 14, 1838.

He located at the "Bend", now Moncton, New Brunswick, and practiced law until 1870. A Cyclopaedia of Canadian Biography describes Hon. Bliss Botsford:

he had a fair share of criminal as well as an extensive civil practice, and gained well-merited distinction at the bar of his native province. He was brought into special prominence by the celebrated Albertite suit, in which he was the defendant's attorney, and won the case. While at the bar, his vigorous, earnest, and persuasive style of delivery always made a favorable impression on a jury, being, like most of the members of his family, of commanding presence, with a personal magnetism that was often irresistible.

He was a prominent member of the A.F. & A.M. for more than 40 years. In 1842 he married Miss Jane Chapman, daughter of John Chapman, Cumberland, England. They had a family of two sons and three daughters.

He was first elected to the House of Assembly as one of the members for Westmorland County at the general election of June 1850, and sat in that Legislature until its dissolution in 1854. At the general election of June 16, 1854, he was defeated but was re-elected in the general elections of June 24, 1856 and April 1857. He sat until the dissolution in 1861 when he temporarily retired.

He was again elected to the House of Assembly in the Anti-Confederation interests at the general elections of March 3, 1865 and June 5, 1866, and also at a by-election held in April 1865. He was re-elected at the general election of July 5, 1870 and sat as a member until his appointment as Judge of the County Court.

In April 1865, he was sworn in as a member of the Executive Council of New Brunswick and received the appointment of Surveyor General in the administration of the Hon. A. J. Smith. He held this appointment until April 14, 1866, when the administration resigned following its defeat at the general election of that year. From February 13, 1868 to 1870, he was Speaker of the House of Assembly, succeeding the Hon. John H. Gray.

In October of 1870 he was appointed a Judge of the County Court of New Brunswick for the district comprising the counties of Westmorland, Kent and Albert, upon the death of Hon. J .W. Chandler. He held this appointment until his death.

He died April 6, 1890, at Moncton, New Brunswick, at the age of 76.

Source - Speakers of the Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, 1786-1985. 1985, Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, Office of the Clerk, Fredericton, N.B.

Présidents de l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick

L’hon. Bliss Botsford

Bliss Botsford est né le 26 novembre 1813 à Westcock, près de Sackville, dans le comté de Westmorland, au Nouveau-Brunswick. D’ascendance loyaliste, il était le septième fils de l’hon. William Botsford, juge de la Cour suprême du Nouveau-Brunswick, et de Sarah Lowell Hazen.

Son grand-père, l’hon. Amos Botsford, était un loyaliste de l’Empire-Uni et le premier président de l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick. Son père, l’hon. William Botsford, a occupé lui aussi le poste de président de l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick.

Bliss Botsford a fréquenté l’école publique et le King’s College, à Fredericton, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Il a étudié le droit dans le cabinet de William End, à Bathurst, au Nouveau-Brunswick, et a été admis au Barreau du Nouveau-Brunswick comme avocat le 8 juin 1836 et comme avocat plaidant le 14 juin 1838.

Il s’est établi au « Bend », le Moncton actuel, au Nouveau-Brunswick, et a exercé le droit jusqu’en 1870. A Cyclopaedia of Canadian Biography décrit ainsi l’hon. Bliss Botsford :

il s’est occupé d’un bon nombre d’affaires criminelles, ainsi que d’un nombre important d’affaires civiles, et a acquis une réputation bien méritée au Barreau de sa province natale. Il a été mis particulièrement en valeur lors du fameux procès Albertite, qu’il a gagné et où il était avocat de la défense. Lorsqu’il plaidait, son élocution vigoureuse, sincère et persuasive produisait toujours une impression favorable sur un jury, car il possédait une personnalité imposante, comme la plupart des membres de sa famille, et il était doté d’un magnétisme personnel qui était souvent irrésistible. [Traduction.]

Il a été pendant plus de 40 ans un membre important des Ancients Free & Accepted Masons. En 1842, il a épousé Jane Chapman, fille de John Chapman, de Cumberland, en Angleterre. De cette union sont nés deux fils et trois filles.

Il a été élu pour la première fois à l’Assemblée législative comme un des députés du comté de Westmorland aux élections générales de juin 1850 et a siégé à la Chambre jusqu’à sa dissolution en 1854. Il a été battu aux élections générales du 16 juin 1854, mais il a été réélu à celles du 24 juin 1856 et à celles d’avril 1857. Il a siégé jusqu’à la dissolution en 1861 et il a pris une retraite temporaire.

Il a été réélu à l’Assemblé législative, dans le camp des adversaires de la Confédération, aux élections générales du 3 mars 1865 et à celles du 5 juin 1866, ainsi qu’à une élection partielle tenue en avril 1865. Réélu aux élections générales du 5 juillet 1870, il a siégé jusqu’à sa nomination au poste de juge de la Cour de comté.

En avril 1865, il a été assermenté membre du Conseil exécutif du Nouveau-Brunswick et il a été nommé arpenteur général dans l’administration de l’hon. A. J. Smith. Il a occupé le poste jusqu’au 14 avril 1866, jour où le gouvernement a démissionné à la suite de sa défaite aux élections générales. Succédant à l’hon. John H. Gray, il a été président de l’Assemblée législative du 13 février 1868 jusqu’à 1870.

En octobre 1870, après la mort de l’hon. J. W. Chandler, il a été nommé juge de la Cour de comté du Nouveau-Brunswick pour le district comprenant les comtés de Westmorland, de Kent et d’Albert. Il a occupé la charge jusqu’à sa mort.

Il est décédé le 6 avril 1890, à Moncton, au Nouveau-Brunswick, à l’âge de 66 ans.

Source : Nouveau-Brunswick. Assemblée législative. Bureau du greffier. Orateurs de l’Assemblée législative : Province du Nouveau-Brunswick : 1786-1985, Fredericton, 1985.