Speakers of the Legislative Assembly

Hon. Frank Richard Branch

Frank Richard Branch was born May 7, 1944, in Bathurst, New Brunswick, the son of Richard E. and Lauretta (Whelton) Branch.

He was educated in the Bathurst public school system, and graduated from the former LeBlanc High School. He holds a Bachelor of Arts degree from St. Thomas University in Fredericton, and a Bachelor of Education from the Université de Moncton.

A former teacher at the Collège de Bathurst and the New Brunswick Community College, Mr. Branch was first elected to the Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick on October 26, 1970. He was one of five representatives from the constituency of Gloucester County, and the first elected representative for the new single-member riding of Nepisiguit-Chaleur on November 18, 1974. He was re-elected in 1978, 1982, and October 13, 1987.

While in Opposition, Mr. Branch served on the Select Committees on Mining and Non-renewable Resources; Mining and Renewable Resources; Fisheries; and Science, Technology and the Future. He was a member of the Standing Committees on Agriculture, Corporations, Economic Development, Law Amendments, Library, Municipalities and Corporations, Natural Resources, Natural Resources and Fisheries, Procedure, Public Accounts, Social Development, and Veterans’ Affairs. He was also House Leader.

On October 27, 1987, Premier Frank McKenna designated Frank Branch as the Speaker of the House of Assembly to be elected at the First Session of the Fifty-First Legislature. Mr. Branch served in this capacity until 1991.

Mr. Branch resigned from the Legislature in 1995, after 25 years of service.

Mr. Branch was re-elected to the Fifty-Fifth Legislature in the provincial general election held on June 9, 2003. He chaired the Standing Committee on Public Accounts. As a member of the Official Opposition, he was the critic for areas of interest relating to mines. Mr. Branch did not seek re-election in 2006.

He is married to the former Karen Ingrid Targett, and the couple has three children and three grandchildren. They reside in Big River, New Brunswick.

Présidents de l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick

L’hon. Frank Richard Branch

Frank Richard Branch est né le 7 mai 1944 à Bathurst, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Il est le fils de Richard E. et de Lauretta (Whelton) Branch.

Il a fréquenté les écoles publiques de Bathurst et il a obtenu son diplôme de l’ancienne école secondaire LeBlanc. Il détient un baccalauréat ès arts de la Saint Thomas University, à Fredericton, et un baccalauréat en éducation de l’Université de Moncton.

M. Branch, qui a été enseignant au Collège de Bathurst et au Collège communautaire du Nouveau-Brunswick, a été élu pour la première fois à l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick le 26 octobre 1970. Il a été l’un des cinq députés de la circonscription du comté de Gloucester et a été élu le premier député de la nouvelle circonscription uninominale de Nepisiguit-Chaleur le 18 novembre 1974. Il a été réélu en 1978, en 1982 et le 13 octobre 1987.

Comme député du côté de l’opposition, il a été membre des comités spéciaux suivants : Comité des mines et des ressources non renouvelables, Comité des mines et des ressources renouvelables, Comité des pêches et Comité de la science, de la technologie et de l’avenir. Il a été membre des comités permanents suivants : Comité de l’agriculture, Comité des corporations, Comité de l’expansion économique, Comité de modification des lois, Comité de la bibliothèque, Comité des municipalités et des corporations, Comité des ressources naturelles, Comité des ressources naturelles et des pêches, Comité de la procédure, Comité des comptes publics, Comité de développement social et Comité des affaires des anciens combattants. Il a aussi été leader parlementaire.

Le 27 octobre 1987, le premier ministre Frank McKenna a désigné Frank Branch président de l’Assemblée législative pour la première session de la 51e législature, charge que M. Branch a occupée jusqu’à 1991.

M. Branch a démissionné de l’Assemblée législative en 1995, après 25 ans de service.

Il a été réélu à la 55e législature aux élections générales provinciales tenues le 9 juin 2003. Il a été président du Comité permanent des comptes publics. En tant que député du côté de l’opposition officielle, il a été porte-parole dans les domaines d’intérêt liés aux mines. M. Branch n’a pas brigué un nouveau mandat en 2006.

M. Branch et sa femme, Karen Ingrid Targett, ont trois enfants et trois petits-enfants et habitent Big River, au Nouveau-Brunswick.