Speakers of the Legislative Assembly

Hon. H.F.G. Bridges

Hedley Francis Gregory Bridges was born April 7, 1902, at Fredericton, NB of colonial English and Scottish ancestry, the son of Dr. Hedley V. B. and Mabel Eloise Fulton Gregory Bridges.

He was educated at Fredericton High School. He graduated from the University of New Brunswick with a B.A. in 1922. He taught school from 1922 to 1927 and was principal of Hillsborough and Campbellton High Schools. In 1926 he was president of the New Brunswick Teachers' Association.

He studied law in the office of Peter Hughes, Fredericton. He was admitted to the Bar of New Brunswick as attorney in 1927 and as barrister in 1928. He located at Campbellton, New Brunswick, and practiced law.

Shortly after World War II broke out, he enlisted in the army and served in Canada before going overseas. First attached to headquarters of the British Second Army where he served as legal civil affairs officer both in France and Belgium, he later served as part of the 1st Canadian Army. Later he became senior legal military government officer at headquarters of the 2nd Canadian Corps organizing and supervising military courts in that corps area in Germany. Prior to that, he had assisted the Dutch authorities when they re-established their civilian courts.

He was unmarried.

He unsuccessfully contested Restigouche County for the House of Assembly of New Brunswick at the general election of June 19, 1930.

First elected to the House of Assembly of New Brunswick in the general election of June 27, 1935 as one of the Liberal members for Restigouche County, he sat during that Legislature until the House dissolved for the purpose of calling an election and he retired temporarily from politics.

On March 5, 1936, he was chosen Speaker of the New Brunswick House of Assembly. He held this position until he resigned January 9, 1939.

Prime Minister Mackenzie King in The Telegraph Journal of August 11, 1947:

As Speaker he gained a reputation as an authority on constitutional law and procedure, and parliamentary practice. He resigned that position, however, in order that he might participate more freely in debate and express without restraint views he strongly held on the need for a wide Canadian outlook in politics.

He was first elected to the House of Commons, as member for the constituency of York-Sunbury, at the general election of June 11, 1945.

On August 29, 1945, he was sworn in as a member of the Privy Council of Canada and received the portfolio of Minister of Fisheries in the King administration, which portfolio he retained until his death.

He died August 10, 1947, at Ottawa, Ontario, at the age of 45 years.

Further in The Telegraph Journal of August 11, 1947:

From a school teacher who studied law in his spare moments, he had pulled himself into the speakership of the New Brunswick Legislature at the age of 34, broken with his party leaders in that province and then, after war service overseas, swept into the federal field in the 1945 general election. Until swift illness struck him down, he had been marked by political observers here as on the way to higher cabinet posts.

Source - Speakers of the Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, 1786-1985. 1985, Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, Office of the Clerk, Fredericton, N.B.

Présidents de l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick

L'hon. Hedley Francis Gregory Bridges

Hedley Francis Gregory Bridges est né le 7 avril 1902 à Fredericton, au Nouveau-Brunswick. D’ascendance coloniale anglaise et écossaise, il était le fils du Dr Hedley V.B. et de Mabel Eloise Fulton Gregory Bridges.

Il a fréquenté la Fredericton High School. En 1922, il a obtenu un baccalauréat ès arts de l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick. Il a été enseignant de 1922 à 1927 puis directeur à l’école secondaire de Hillsborough et de Campbellton. En 1926, il a été président de la New Brunswick Teachers’ Association.

Il a étudié le droit dans le cabinet de Peter Hughes, à Fredericton. Il a été admis au Barreau du Nouveau-Brunswick comme avocat en 1927 et comme avocat plaidant en 1928. Il s’est établi à Campbellton, au Nouveau-Brunswick, où il a exercé le droit.

Peu après le début de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, il s’est engagé dans l’armée et a servi au Canada avant d’aller outre-mer. Attaché d’abord au quartier général de la Deuxième armée britannique, où il a occupé en France et en Belgique le poste d’officier des affaires juridiques civiles, il a ensuite fait partie de la Première armée canadienne. Il est devenu plus tard fonctionnaire supérieur juridique du gouvernement militaire au quartier général du 2e Corps d’armée canadien et a organisé et supervisé des tribunaux militaires en Allemagne, dans la région où était stationné le corps. Auparavant, il avait aidé les autorités néerlandaises à remettre sur pied leurs tribunaux civils.

Il était célibataire.

S’étant porté candidat dans le comté de Restigouche pour servir à l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick, il a été battu aux élections générales du 19 juin 1930.

Il a été élu pour la première fois à l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick, comme l’un des députés libéraux du comté de Restigouche, aux élections générales du 27 juin 1935. Il a siégé durant cette législature jusqu’à la dissolution de la Chambre en vue du déclenchement d’élections et il s’est retiré temporairement de la politique.

Le 5 mars 1936, il a été choisi président de l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick et a occupé ce poste jusqu’au 9 janvier 1939, date de sa démission.

Le Telegraph Journal du 11 août 1947 rapporte les propos suivants du premier ministre du Canada Mackenzie King :

En tant que président de la Chambre, il a acquis la réputation d’être une autorité en matière de droit constitutionnel et de formalités constitutionnelles ainsi qu’en matière de procédure parlementaire. Toutefois, il a démissionné de la présidence afin de pouvoir participer plus librement aux débats et exprimer sans entraves ses opinions sur le besoin au Canada d’une vision globale en matière de politique. [Traduction.]

Il a été élu pour la première fois à la Chambre des communes, comme député de la circonscription de York-Sunbury, aux élections générales du 11 juin 1945.

Le 29 août 1945, il a été assermenté à titre de membre du Conseil privé du Canada et a reçu le portefeuille de ministre des Pêches dans le gouvernement King, portefeuille qu’il conservera jusqu’à sa mort.

Il est décédé le 10 août 1947 à Ottawa, en Ontario, à l’âge de 45 ans.

Le Telegraph Journal du 11 août 1947 écrit plus loin :

D’enseignant qui a étudié le droit dans ses temps libres, il est devenu, à l’âge de 34 ans, président de l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick, a rompu avec les dirigeants de son parti provincial et, par la suite, après avoir servi outre-mer pendant la guerre, a fait son entrée sur la scène politique fédérale lors des élections générales de 1945. Avant qu’il ne soit terrassé par la maladie, les observateurs politiques de la province avaient prévu son ascension à des postes plus élevés au Cabinet. [Traduction.]

Source : Nouveau-Brunswick. Assemblée législative. Bureau du greffier. Orateurs de l’Assemblée législative : Province du Nouveau-Brunswick : 1786-1985, Fredericton, 1985.