Speakers of the Legislative Assembly

Hon. J.P. Burchill

John Percival Burchill was born at Beaubears Island, Northumberland County, New Brunswick, on February 6, 1855, of English descent. He was the son of George and Bridget Percival Burchill.

He was educated at the public school and at the Chatham grammar school, Chatham, New Brunswick.

He located at Nelson, Northumberland County and engaged in the lumber business of the firm of his father, George Burchill & Sons. He was for some time president of the Miramichi River Service Limited and the Northwest Boom Company Limited.

He served as a director of the Miramichi Agricultural Exhibition and the Miramichi Pilotage Commission. He was a prominent member of the A.F. & A. M.

On January 4, 1882 he married Eliza Bacon Wilkinson, the eldest daughter of Judge William Wilkinson, of Bushville and Chatham, a Judge of the County Court of New Brunswick. By this marriage there was a family of one son and two daughters.

For six years Mr. Burchill served as a member of the Northumberland County Municipal Council from Nelson, Northumberland County. He also held the office of Warden for one term.

He was first elected to represent Northumberland County in the Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick on June 22, 1882. At the general election of April 26, 1886, he was defeated on the stumpage question, but at a by-election held March 16, 1887 he was elected to the seat made vacant by the resignation of Hon. Michael Adams, who ran for the House of Commons.

On January 20, 1890 he was elected in opposition to the government on the stumpage question, but that matter being satisfactorily adjusted, he gave them his support. He was re-elected October 22, 1892; October 16, 1895; and February 18, 1899.

Defeated in the general election of February 28, 1903, he was re-elected again in a by-election December 1, 1908 called to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Donald Morrison. He sat until the dissolution of 1912 when he temporarily retired.

Re-elected again in the general election of February 24, 1917, he sat until the dissolution of the Legislature in 1920. He was subsequently defeated at the general election of October 9, 1920. He then retired from active political life.

Mr. Burchill was twice elected Speaker of the House of Assembly. He was first elected on March 9, 1893 and retained the position until the dissolution of the House in 1895. He was re-elected Speaker again on February 13, 1896 and remained until the dissolution of the House in 1899.

John Percival Burchill died on December 18, 1923 at the Miramichi Hospital at the age of 68 and was buried in St. Paul's Anglican Cemetery, Bushville, New Brunswick.

Source - Speakers of the Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, 1786-1985. 1985, Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, Office of the Clerk, Fredericton, N.B.

Présidents de l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick

Hon. John Percival Burchill

John Percival Burchill est né le 6 février 1855 à l’île Beaubears, dans le comté de Northumberland, au Nouveau-Brunswick. D’ascendance anglaise, il était le fils de George et de Bridget Percival Burchill.

Il a fréquenté l’école publique et la Chatham Grammar School, à Chatham, au Nouveau-Brunswick.

Il s’est établi à Nelson, dans le comté de Northumberland, où il a travaillé dans l’entreprise de bois d’oeuvre de son père, Geo. Burchill & Sons. Il a été pendant une certaine période président du Miramichi River Service, Limited et de la Northwest Boom Company Ltd.

Il a été administrateur de la Miramichi Agricultural Exhibition et de la Miramichi Pilotage Commission. Il a été membre important des Ancients Free & Accepted Masons.

Le 4 janvier 1882, il a épousé Eliza Bacon Wilkinson, la fille aînée du juge William Wilkinson, de Bushville et de Chatham, juge de la Cour de comté du Nouveau-Brunswick. Le couple a eu un fils et deux filles.

Pendant six ans, M. Burchill a été membre du conseil municipal du comté de Northumberland représentant Nelson, dans le comté de Northumberland. Il a également accompli un mandat à titre de préfet.

Il a été élu pour la première fois à l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick le 22 juin 1882 pour représenter le comté de Northumberland. Il a été battu aux élections générales du 26 avril 1886 sur la question des droits de coupe, mais il a été élu à une élection partielle tenue le 16 mars 1887 pour pourvoir le siège laissé vacant par l’hon. Michael Adams, qui avait démissionné afin de se faire élire à la Chambre des communes.

Le 20 janvier 1890, il a été élu en s’opposant au gouvernement sur la question des droits de coupe, mais, lorsque la question a été réglée de manière satisfaisante, il a donné son appui au gouvernement. Il a été réélu le 22 octobre 1892, le 16 octobre 1895 et le 18 février 1899.

Battu aux élections générales du 28 février 1903, M. Burchill a été réélu dans une élection partielle tenue le 1er décembre 1908 pour pourvoir la vacance créée par la démission de Donald Morrison. Il a siégé jusqu’à la dissolution de l’Assemblée en 1912, date à laquelle il a pris une retraite temporaire.

Il a été réélu aux élections générales du 24 février 1917 et a siégé jusqu’à la dissolution de l’Assemblée législative en 1920. Il a été battu aux élections générales du 9 octobre 1920 et s’est retiré ensuite de la vie politique active.

M. Burchill a été élu deux fois à la présidence de l’Assemblée législative. Il y a été élu pour la première fois le 9 mars 1893 et a occupé la charge jusqu’à la dissolution de la Chambre en 1895. Il a été réélu à la présidence le 13 février 1896 et a occupé la charge jusqu’à la dissolution de la Chambre en 1899.

John Percival Burchill est décédé à l’âge de 68 ans le 18 décembre 1923, à l’hôpital de Miramichi. Il est enterré au cimetière anglican St. Paul, à Bushville, au Nouveau-Brunswick.

Source : Nouveau-Brunswick. Assemblée législative. Bureau du greffier. Orateurs de l’Assemblée législative : Province du Nouveau-Brunswick : 1786-1985, Fredericton, 1985.