Speakers of the Legislative Assembly

Hon. Ward Chipman Jr.

Ward Chipman Jr. was born July 10, 1787 in the Leonard House in Saint John. He was the son of Ward Chipman Sr., the Solicitor General of New Brunswick, and his wife Elisabeth Hazen.

He spent his early years in Salem, Massachusetts, where he lived with his uncle and aunt for the purpose of receiving his education. In 1801, at age 14, he was sent to Harvard College. He graduated in 1805 first in his class with a degree of B.A.

He returned home and began work in his father's law office in Saint John. In 1808 he was admitted to the Bar and four months later was appointed a Clerk of the Circuits and of the Crown, both of which offices had been held by his father from the organization of the province. In 1810 he went to England where he spent several years at the Inner Temple in London completing his legal studies. In 1815 he was appointed Recorder for the city of Saint John, New Brunswick. That same year he was appointed Surrogate General.

On March 24, 1817, he married Elizabeth Wright, daughter of Henry Wright, collector of customs for the port of Saint John. They had no children.

In June of 1820, Ward Chipman Jr. was elected to represent Saint John County and City in the election held upon the death of the Sovereign George III. On January 21, 1824, he was appointed Speaker of the House of Assembly. At that time he was the only member of the Bar in the House. On March 1, 1825, he was appointed a Justice of the Supreme Court to fill the vacancy created by the death of his father. At the same time he was appointed a member of His Majesty's Council. When His Majesty's Executive Council was formed in 1833, he was appointed to that body and held the appointment until his resignation in 1842.

After the Treaty of Ghent in 1814 he was associated with his father as a commissioner in settling the boundary question and was sent to England under the terms of the Treaty of Ghent. In 1825, Mr. Chipman was appointed Umpire of the Canadian Arbitration to settle the apportionment of the duty question of imports into Canada. He was the author of a Report of the commissioners for ascertaining the losses occasioned by the late fires in New Brunswick (Fredericton, 1826), and Remarks upon the disputed points of boundary under the fifth article of the Treaty of Ghent (Saint John, 1839).

He was appointed Chief Justice July 22, 1834 and took his seat as the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court in Fredericton on October 4, 1834. He resigned as Chief Justice on October 17, 1850. An article in the New Brunswick Courier of September 25, 1830 notes:

His Honour Judge Chipman and Lady arrived in Town on Thursday from London, via United States, after an absence of nearly two years. His Honour and Lady came by land from St. Andrews, where they took the new coach, recently established between the city and the latter place, being the first passengers that travelled the route in a stage coach.

A portrait of Chief Justice Ward Chipman, Jr. presently hangs in the Justice Building in Fredericton. It was described by J.W. Lawrence in The Judges of New Brunswick and Their Times as a portrait painted by Mr. Hoit in 1838 which escaped the Province Building fire of 1880 and was later hung in the room of the Supreme Court in the Legislative Building at Fredericton.

Ward Chipman Jr. died November 26, 1851 at his residence in Saint John.

Source - Speakers of the Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, 1786-1985. 1985, Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, Office of the Clerk, Fredericton, N.B.

Présidents de l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick

L’hon. Ward Chipman, fils

Ward Chipman Jr. was born July 10, 1787 in the Leonard House in Saint John. He was the son of Ward Chipman Sr., the Solicitor General of New Brunswick, and his wife Elisabeth Hazen.

Il a passé son enfance à Salem, au Massachusetts, où il a vécu avec son oncle et sa tante afin de recevoir son éducation. En 1801, à 14 ans, il est entré au Harvard College. Il a obtenu en 1805 un baccalauréat ès arts et il a été premier de sa classe.

Il est revenu chez lui et il a commencé à travailler dans le cabinet de droit de son père, à Saint John. En 1808, il a été admis au Barreau et, quatre mois plus tard, il a été nommé greffier des circuits et greffier de la Couronne, les deux postes ayant été occupés par son père depuis la formation de la province. En 1810, il est allé en Angleterre où il a passé plusieurs années au Inner Temple, à Londres, pour terminer ses études en droit. En 1815, il a été nommé greffier de la ville de Saint John, au Nouveau-Brunswick. La même année, il a été nommé juge des successions et tutelles.

Le 24 mars 1817, il a épousé Elizabeth Wright, fille de Henry Wright, percepteur des douanes au port de Saint John. Le couple n’a pas eu d’enfant.

En juin 1820, Ward Chipman, fils, a été élu aux élections tenues à la mort du roi George III, pour représenter le comté et la ville de Saint John. Le 21 janvier 1824, il a été nommé président de l’Assemblée législative. Il était alors le seul membre du Barreau qui siégeait à la Chambre. Le 1er mars 1825, il a été nommé juge de la Cour suprême pour pourvoir la vacance laissée par le décès de son père. Il a été nommé en même temps membre du Conseil de Sa Majesté. Lors de la création en 1833 du Conseil exécutif de Sa Majesté, il a été nommé au conseil et il y a siégé jusqu’à sa démission en 1842.

Après le Traité de Gand en 1814, il a travaillé en collaboration avec son père à titre de commissaire chargé de régler la question des frontières et a été envoyé en Angleterre aux termes du Traité de Gand. En 1825, M. Chipman a été nommé arbitre entre les deux Canada pour régler la répartition des droits sur les importations. Il a été l’auteur d’un rapport des commissaires visant à déterminer les dégâts causé par des incendies au Nouveau-Brunswick (Fredericton, 1826) et l’auteur de remarques sur les tronçons de frontières en litige en vertu du cinquième article du Traité de Gand (Saint John, 1839).

Il a été nommé juge en chef le 22 juillet 1834 et il est entré en fonction à titre du juge en chef de la Cour suprême, à Fredericton, le 4 octobre 1834. Il a démissionné de ce poste le 17 octobre 1850. Un article du New Brunswick Courrier du 25 septembre 1830 note :

S.H. le juge Chipman et sa femme sont arrivés en ville jeudi, de retour de Londres en passant par les États-Unis, après une absence de près de deux ans. Son Honneur et sa femme sont venus par la voie terrestre de Saint Andrews, où ils ont pris la nouvelle diligence, qui est entrée en service récemment entre cette ville et Saint John. Ils ont été les premiers passagers à faire ce parcours en diligence. [Traduction.]

Un portrait du juge en chef Ward Chipman, fils, se trouve actuellement à Fredericton, au Palais de justice. J.W. Lawrence l’a décrit dans The Judges of New Brunswick and their Times comme étant un portrait peint par M. Holt en 1838, portrait qui a échappé à l’incendie de Province Hall en 1880 et qui a ensuite été accroché dans la salle de la Cour suprême, dans l’édifice de l’Assemblée législative, à Fredericton.

Ward Chipman, fils, est décédé le 26 novembre 1851 à sa résidence, à Saint John.

Source : Nouveau-Brunswick. Assemblée législative. Bureau du greffier. Orateurs de l’Assemblée législative : Province du Nouveau-Brunswick : 1786-1985, Fredericton, 1985.