Speakers of the Legislative Assembly

Hon. G.J. Clarke (1857-1917)

George Johnson Clarke was born October 10, 1857, in St. Andrews, New Brunswick. He was the son of Nelson and Mary Clarke, both residents of that place.

He was educated at the Saint Andrews public schools and at Fredericton, New Brunswick. He taught school in several places in Charlotte County while still in very early life. Later he studied law and was admitted to the Bar of New Brunswick as attorney on April 29, 1885, and as barrister, June 23, 1887.

He located at St. Stephen, New Brunswick and successfully engaged in the practice of his profession. For some time he was editor, manager and principal owner of the Saint Croix Courier. As a young man he served as town clerk of St. Stephen and he was Mayor of St. Stephen from 1898 through 1899. He also served as Warden for Charlotte County. He was appointed King's Counsel in 1907.

George Clarke was a member of the St. Stephen golf and curling clubs and was an enthusiastic yachtsman. He was a member of the A.F. & A.M.

On September 11, 1889, he married Miss Bessie McKeown, daughter of Rev. Hezekiah McKeown. They had a family of two daughters.

He unsuccessfully contested Charlotte County for the House of Commons at the general election of May 5, 1891.

He unsuccessfully contested Charlotte County for the House of Assembly at the general election of Feb. 18, 1899.

He was first elected to the House of Assembly as one of the members for Charlotte County at the general election of February 28, 1903, and took his seat in the Legislature. He was re-elected at the general elections of March 3, 1908 and June 20, 1912. He was re-elected to the House of Assembly at a by-election held February 19, 1914, made necessary by his acceptance of a Cabinet office. He sat as a member until the dissolution of the Legislature in 1917 when he retired due to ill health.

He was twice honoured with the appointment of Speaker of the House of Assembly. He was first elected to the position on March 18, 1909, and he was re-elected on February 13, 1913. He held the position until 1914. The Gleaner of February 27, 1917 indicates that he: “... held that position in a dignified manner, enjoying the confidence and respect of members on both sides of the House."

On January 22, 1914, he was sworn in as a member of the Executive Council of New Brunswick and received the appointment of Attorney General in the administration of the Hon. James K. Flemming. He held this appointment until Dec. 17, 1914, when he became Premier and Minister of Lands and Mines on the resignation of the Hon. Mr. Flemming. He resigned these offices on February 1, 1917, due to ill health, and was succeeded by the Hon. James A. Murray, Minister of Agriculture, as Premier.

While George Clarke was Minister of the Department of Lands and Mines, he was directly responsible for a large volume of progressive legislation, particularly the measure providing for the reclassification of the Crown lands of the province. At that time the resulting new legislation was declared to be the most advanced policy of any province in Canada.

He died February 26, 1917 at his residence, St. Stephen, New Brunswick, after a lengthy illness.

Source - Speakers of the Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, 1786-1985. 1985, Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, Office of the Clerk, Fredericton, N.B.

Présidents de l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick

L’hon. George Johnson Clarke

George Johnson Clarke est né le 10 octobre 1857, à Saint Andrews, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Il était le fils de Nelson et de Mary Clarke, tous deux résidents de cette ville.

Il a fréquenté les écoles publiques de Saint Andrews et de Fredericton, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Il a enseigné à divers endroits dans le comté de Charlotte lorsqu’il était encore très jeune. Plus tard, il a étudié le droit et a été admis au Barreau du Nouveau-Brunswick comme avocat le 29 avril 1885 et comme avocat plaidant le 23 juin 1887.

Il s’est établi à St. Stephen, au Nouveau-Brunswick, et il a exercé avec succès sa profession. Il a été pendant un certain temps rédacteur, directeur et principal propriétaire du journal Saint Croix Courrier. Jeune homme, il a occupé le poste de greffier de la ville de St. Stephen et il a été maire de St. Stephen de 1898 à 1899. Il a aussi été préfet du comté de Charlotte. Il a été nommé conseiller du roi en 1907.

George Clarke a été membre des clubs de golf et de curling de St. Stephen et adepte de la voile. Il a été membre des Ancients Free & Accepted Masons.

Le 11 septembre 1889, il a épousé Bessie McKeown, fille du rév. Hezekiah McKeown. De cette union sont nées deux filles.

Il a été battu dans le comté de Charlotte aux élections générales fédérales du 5 mai 1891.

Il a été battu dans le comté de Charlotte aux élections générales provinciales du 18 février 1899.

Il a été élu à l’Assemblée législative pour la première fois comme un des députés du comté de Charlotte aux élections générales du 28 février 1903. Il a été réélu aux élections générales du 3 mars 1908 et du 20 juin 1912. Il a été réélu à l’Assemblée législative à l’élection partielle du 19 février 1914 à la suite de son acceptation d’un poste au Cabinet. Il a siégé jusqu’à la dissolution de l’Assemblée législative en 1917 et il s’est retiré pour des raisons de santé.

Il a reçu deux fois l’honneur d’être nommé président de la Chambre. Il a été élu à la charge pour la première fois le 18 mars 1909 et il a été réélu le 13 février 1913. Il a occupé la charge jusqu’en 1914. Le Gleaner du 27 février 1917 indique qu’il a occupé le poste avec dignité et qu’il s’est gagné la confiance et le respect des députés des deux côtés de la Chambre.

Le 22 janvier 1914, il a été assermenté membre du Conseil exécutif du Nouveau-Brunswick et il a été nommé procureur général dans le gouvernement de l’hon. James K. Flemming. Il a occupé le poste jusqu’au 17 décembre 1914, date à laquelle il est devenu premier ministre et ministre des Terres et des Mines, après la démission de l’hon. M. Flemming. Il a démissionné de ces poste le 1er février 1917 pour des raisons de santé, et l’hon. James A. Murray, ministre de l’Agriculture, lui a succédé comme premier ministre.

Pendant le mandat de George Clarke comme ministre des Terres et des Mines, il a été directement responsable d’un grand nombre de mesures progressistes, en particulier celle portant sur la reclassification des terres de la Couronne dans la province. À l’époque, la nouvelle loi qui en a découlé a été qualifiée de politique la plus progressiste de toutes les provinces du Canada.

Il est décédé le 26 février 1917, après une longue maladie, à sa résidence à St. Stephen, au Nouveau-Brunswick.

Source : Nouveau-Brunswick. Assemblée législative. Bureau du greffier. Orateurs de l’Assemblée législative : Province du Nouveau-Brunswick : 1786-1985, Fredericton, 1985.