Speakers of the Legislative Assembly

Hon. W. Currie

William Currie was born September 22, 1861, at Upper Charlo, Restigouche County, New Brunswick. He was of Scottish ancestry, the son of Donald D. Currie, farmer, and his wife Margaret McCurdy Currie, both of whom were natives of Kildonan, Arran, Scotland.

William Currie was educated in the Upper Charlo public school system.

He located at Upper Charlo and engaged in farming and railroad employment. In 1892 he established and became president of a lumber mercantile business under the name of William Currie Ltd. He served on the Restigouche County council from 1898 to 1902 and later moved to Campbellton, New Brunswick. He served on the Campbellton town council from 1906 to 1907 and was chairman of the Restigouche Pilotage Commission from 1906 to 1907. He was a member of the A.F. & A.M. and of the I.O.O.F. Lodges. He served as an elder in the Presbyterian Church both at Campbellton and Vancouver, where he once lived.

On January 2, 1890, he married Miss Minnie Murray, daughter of David Murray, Belleisle Creek, Kings County, New Brunswick. They had a family of one son and nine daughters.

He was first elected to the House of Assembly of New Brunswick as one of the members for Restigouche County at a by- election held January 2, 1907, to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of the sitting member Henry F. McLatchey. He was re-elected at the general election held on March 3, 1908 and sat as a member until the dissolution of the Legislature in 1912.

He declined renomination for the general election of that year but was elected to the House of Assembly at the general election of February 24, 1917, and sat as a member until the dissolution of the Legislature in 1920. He then retired from active political life.

On May 10, 1917 he was elected Speaker of the House of Assembly and presided for two sessions retiring March 6, 1919.

He subsequently disposed of his business interests in Campbellton and Upper Charlo and moved to Montreal, Quebec.

He died May 30, 1934 at Campbellton, New Brunswick, while on a visit. He was buried in the Presbyterian Cemetery, Dalhousie, N. B.

The Telegraph Journal of May 31, 1934 had this to say of the late Mr. Currie:

The sudden death of William Currie here today in his 73rd year was a great shock to his many friends. He was formerly Speaker of the New Brunswick Legislature. Mr. Currie had in recent years made his home in Montreal and came to Campbellton a short time ago to attend the funeral of his sister. Mr. Currie took a deep interest in civic affairs as well as in the realm of provincial politics. He sat at the Town Council board and later was elected to the provincial Legislature.

Source - Speakers of the Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, 1786-1985. 1985, Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, Office of the Clerk, Fredericton, N.B.

Présidents de l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick

L’hon. William Currie

William Currie est né le 22 septembre 1861, à Upper Charlo, dans le comté de Restigouche, au Nouveau-Brunswick. D’ascendance écossaise, il était le fils de Donald D. Currie, agriculteur, et de Margaret McCurdy Currie, tous deux natifs de Kildonan, sur l’île d’Arran, en Écosse.

William Currie a fréquenté les écoles publiques d’Upper Charlo.

Après s’être établi à Upper Charlo, il s’est livré à l’agriculture et a travaillé pour les chemins de fer. En 1892, il a créé une entreprise de commerce du bois, appelée William Currie Ltd., et en est devenu président. Il a siégé au conseil du comté de Restigouche de 1898 à 1902 et a déménagé plus tard à Campbellton, au Nouveau-Brunswick. De 1906 à 1907, il a siégé au conseil municipal de Campbellton et a présidé la Restigouche Pilotage Commission. Il a été membre des loges des Ancient Free & Accepted Masons et de l’Independent Order of Odd Fellows. Il a exercé les fonctions d’ancien dans l’Église presbytérienne à Campbellton et à Vancouver, où il avait déjà vécu.

Le 2 janvier 1890, il a épousé Minnie Murray, fille de David Murray, de Belleisle Creek, dans le comté de Kings, au Nouveau-Brunswick. De cette union sont nés un fils et neuf filles.

Il a été élu pour la première fois à l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick comme un des députés du comté de Restigouche lors d’une élection partielle tenue le 2 janvier 1907, à la suite de la démission de Henry F. McLatchey. Réélu aux élections générales du 3 mars 1908, il a siégé jusqu’à la dissolution de l’Assemblée en 1912.

Il a refusé de se porter candidat aux élections générales de cette année-là mais a été élu à l’Assemblée législative aux élections générales du 24 février 1917 et a siégé jusqu’à la dissolution de l’Assemblée en 1920. Il s’est alors retiré de la vie politique active.

Le 10 mai 1917, il a été élu président de l’Assemblée législative, a présidé deux sessions et s’est retiré le 6 mars 1919.

Il a ensuite cédé ses intérêts commerciaux de Campbellton et d’Upper Charlo et a déménagé à Montréal, au Québec.

Il est mort le 30 mai 1934 à Campbellton, au Nouveau-Brunswick, au cours d’une visite. Il est enterré au cimetière presbytérien de Dalhousie, au Nouveau-Brunswick.

Le Telegraph Journal du 31 mai 1934 parle en ces termes de M. Currie :

La mort soudaine à l’âge de 73 ans de William Currie, survenue ici aujourd’hui, a suscité une vive émotion chez ses nombreux amis. Ancien président de l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick, M. Currie s’était établi à Montréal au cours des dernières années et s’est rendu tout récemment à Campbellton pour assister aux funérailles de sa soeur. M. Currie a manifesté un grand intérêt pour les affaires civiques ainsi que pour le domaine de la politique provinciale. Il a siégé au conseil municipal et a été élu plus tard à l’Assemblée législative de la province. [Traduction.]

Source : Nouveau-Brunswick. Assemblée législative. Bureau du greffier. Orateurs de l’Assemblée législative : Province du Nouveau-Brunswick : 1786-1985, Fredericton, 1985.