Speakers of the Legislative Assembly

Hon. Shirley Theresa Dysart

Shirley Theresa Dysart was born in Boston, Massachusetts, U.S.A. Educated in the public school system of Saint John, Mrs. Dysart is a graduate of the New Brunswick Teachers’ College and the University of New Brunswick. She attended the University of London as the recipient of a Beaverbrook Overseas Scholarship.

Mrs. Dysart, a former teacher, has been actively involved in community affairs: chairperson, District No. 20 School Board; vice-president, N.B. Competitive Festival of Music; president, Catholic Women’s League Council; president, University of New Brunswick Alumni Council; member, Saint John Bicentennial Inc.; member of the Board of Governors of the University of New Brunswick. She has also been a member of the Board of Governors of the Beaverbrook Art Gallery, and the Board of Directors of Saint John Family Services.

She was first elected to the New Brunswick Legislature November 18, 1974 as the Liberal representative for Saint John North. She was subsequently re-elected in 1978, 1982, 1987, and 1991 provincial general elections. She was the second female in the history of the province to win a seat in the Legislative Assembly.

While she was a Member of Her Majesty’s Loyal Opposition, Mrs. Dysart was Critic for the departments of Education, Advanced Education, Health, and Justice. She served as a member of the Standing Committees on Contingencies and Library, Economic Development, Estimates, Law Amendments, Municipalities and Corporations, Private Bills, Public Accounts and Social Development. She was a member of the Select Committee on Constitutional Reform. In 1985 she served as Interim Leader of the Opposition.

Following the 1987 general election, she was sworn in October 27, 1987 as Minister of Education. She served in this capacity until 1991. She served on several Cabinet committees.

On October 8, 1991 Shirley Dysart was nominated as the first woman to hold the Office of Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick. She held this position until May 1994, and was subsequently relected to the position of Speaker in December 1994. She did not re-offer in the September 1995 election.

Mrs. Dysart was the first female Liberal candidate elected to the Legislature, the first woman to hold the Education portfolio, and the first woman to be Speaker of the Assembly. In October 1996 she was awarded an honorary L.L.D. by the University of New Brunswick Saint John and in 2000, she was awarded a Red Cross Humanitarian Award. In 2004, Mrs. Dysart was honoured with the Order of Canada and in 2012 she was a recipient of the Queen Elizabeth Diamond Jubilee Medal. Mrs. Dysart was married to the late Dr. H. Eric Dysart for 37 years. Together they had one son and two granddaughters.

Présidents de l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick

L’hon. Shirley Theresa Dysart

Shirley Theresa Dysart est née à Boston, dans le Massachusetts, aux États-Unis. Éduquée dans le système d’écoles publiques de Saint John, elle est diplômée du New Brunswick Teachers’ College et de l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick. Elle a fréquenté la University of London en tant que boursière d’études outre-mer Beaverbrook.

Mme Dysart, ancienne enseignante, a participé activement aux affaires communautaires : présidente du conseil scolaire du district 20, vice-présidente du New Brunswick Competitive Festival of Music, présidente du Catholic Women’s League Council, présidente du conseil des anciens de l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick, membre de Saint John Bicentennial Inc., membre du Conseil des gouverneurs de l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick. Elle a aussi été membre du conseil des gouverneurs de la Galerie d’art Beaverbrook et du conseil d’administration de Saint John Family Services.

Mme Dysart a été élue pour la première fois à l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick le 18 novembre 1974, comme députée libérale de Saint Jean-Nord. Par la suite, elle a été réélue aux élections générales provinciales de 1978, de 1982, de 1987 et de 1991. Elle a été la deuxième femme de l’histoire de la province à remporter un siège à l’Assemblée législative.

Lorsqu’elle faisait partie de l’opposition loyale de Sa Majesté, elle a été porte-parole en matière d’éducation, d’enseignement supérieur, de santé et de justice. Elle a été membre des comités permanents suivants : Comité des dépenses imprévues et de la bibliothèque, Comité de l’expansion économique, Comité des prévisions budgétaires, Comité de modification des lois, Comités des municipalités et des corporations, Comité des projets de loi d’intérêt privé, Comité des comptes publics et Comité de développement social. Elle a été membre du Comité spécial de la réforme constitutionnelle. En 1985, elle a été chef intérimaire de l’opposition.

À la suite des élections générales de 1987, Mme Dysart a été assermentée ministre de l’Éducation le 27 octobre 1987. Elle a occupé le poste jusqu’en 1991. Elle a fait partie de plusieurs comités du Cabinet.

Le 8 octobre 1991, Shirley Dysart a été désignée comme la première femme à occuper la charge de présidente de l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick. Elle a occupé le poste jusqu’en mai 1994 et a ensuite été élue au poste de présidente en décembre 1994. Elle ne s’est pas représentée aux élections de septembre 1995.

Mme Dysart a été la première femme candidate libérale élue à l’Assemblée législative, la première femme à tenir le portefeuille de l’Éducation et la première femme présidente de l’Assemblée législative. En octobre 1996, l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick, à Saint John, lui a décerné un doctorat honorifique en droit et, en 2000, elle a reçu le prix de la Croix-Rouge pour activités humanitaires. En 2004, Mme Dysart a reçu l’Ordre du Canada et, en 2012, elle a reçu la médaille du jubilé de diamant de la reine Elizabeth. Elle était mariée au feu Dr H. Eric Dysart pendant 37 ans. Le couple a eu un fils et deux petites-filles.