Speakers of the Legislative Assembly

Hon. Ch. G. Gallagher

Charles Gunter Gallagher was born in Centreville, New Brunswick on September 21, 1925, and was actively involved in the farming business for 30 years.

After graduation from Centreville High School, he studied at the Nova Scotia Agricultural College and later took a Bachelor of Science degree in Agriculture at Macdonald College in Montreal. Mr. Gallagher was a Nuffield Scholar in 1958 and a District Agriculturist in Carleton County until 1967.

He was first elected to the New Brunswick Legislature in 1970, as one of three members for Carleton County. He was re-elected in 1974, 1978 and 1982, as the member for Carleton North. Mr. Gallagher served in a number of capacities, including Chairman of the Select Committee on Renewable Resources; Chairman of the Committee on Public Accounts, and Party Whip. He was Chairman of the Cabinet Committee on Social Development, and was a member of the Treasury Board.

Mr. Gallagher was appointed Minister of Education on December 20, 1976, as well as the Minister responsible for Historical Resources Administration. On October 2, 1980, he was also named Minister of Continuing Education and following the October 12, 1982 provincial election, he became Minister of Health. He served in this position until he was appointed Speaker of the Legislative Assembly in 1986.

Following his retirement in 1987, Mr. Gallagher continued to be supportive and active in community events.

Mr. Gallagher was married to the former Frances Olmstead. Together they had 8 children.

Mr. Gallagher died in 2007 following a brief illness.

Présidents de l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick

L'hon. Charles Gunter Gallagher

Charles Gunter Gallagher est né à Centreville, au Nouveau-Brunswick, le 21 septembre 1925 et a pratiqué activement l’agriculture pendant 30 ans.

Après avoir obtenu son diplôme de l’école secondaire de Centreville, il a étudié au Nova Scotia Agricultural College, à Truro, pour ensuite faire des études de baccalauréat ès sciences en agriculture au Macdonald College, à Montréal. M. Gallagher a été boursier Nuffield en 1958 et agronome de district dans le comté de Carleton jusqu’à 1967.

Élu pour la première fois à l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick en 1970 à titre d’un des trois députés du comté de Carleton, M. Gallagher a été réélu député de Carleton-Nord en 1974, en 1978 et en 1982. Il a exercé diverses fonctions, dont celles de président du Comité spécial des ressources renouvelables, de président du Comité des comptes publics et de whip du parti. Il a été président du Comité du Conseil des ministres sur le développement social et membre du Conseil du Trésor.

Le 20 décembre 1976, il a été nommé ministre de l’Éducation ainsi que ministre responsable de l’administration des ressources historiques. Le 2 octobre 1980, il a en outre été nommé ministre de l’Éducation permanente et, après les élections provinciales du 12 octobre 1982, il est devenu ministre de la Santé, charge qu’il a occupée jusqu’à sa nomination à titre de président de l’Assemblée législative.

Après sa retraite en 1987, il a poursuivi sa participation aux activités communautaires et son soutien à cet égard.

M. Gallagher et sa femme, Frances Olmstead, ont eu huit enfants.

Il est décédé en 2007 après une brève maladie.