Speakers of the Legislative Assembly

Hon. Danny Gay

Donald David (Danny) Gay was born December 12, 1950 in Chatham, N.B., the son of Donald and Myrtle (Robichaud) Gay. He received his early education in the public schools of Neguac, New Brunswick and graduated from St. Michael’s School in Alma, Quebec. He has a Bachelor of Arts degree from St. Francis Xavier University in Antigonish, N.S., and a Bachelor of Education degree from Mount St. Vincent in Halifax, N.S. He completed additional courses at the University of Ottawa.

Mr. Gay has a broad range of work experience: labourer in the gold mines in Yellowknife, N.W.T.; officer with the Canadian Armed Forces, and course facilitator with Native peoples at the New Brunswick Community College. He was employed as a teacher at Harkins Junior High School in Newcastle before entering politics.

He was first elected to the Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick October 13, 1987. A Liberal, he was re-elected September 23, 1991 and September 11, 1995 to represent the constituency of Miramichi Bay. He served on the Legislative Assembly’s Special Committee on Social Policy Development (Integration, Beverage Containers Act); the Select Committee on Land Use and the Rural Environment, and on several Standing Committees (Public Accounts, Crown Corporations, Estimates, Private Bills, Procedure, and Law Amendments). During the 52nd Legislature he served as Party Whip.

On October 25, 1995, Mr. Gay was elected Speaker of the 53rd Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick. As Speaker, he chaired the Legislature’s Standing Committee on Legislative Administration. He held the position of Speaker until July 1997. At this time, he was appointed to Cabinet as the Minister of Fisheries and Aquaculture by then Premier, the Honourable Frank McKenna. He served in this capacity until the 1999 election. He was defeated at this time and retired from provincial politics.

Mr. Gay returned to teaching for the Algonquin and Lakeshore Catholic School District in Kingston, Ontario in September 2001. In addition to teaching in Kingston for 2 years, he also taught in China for several years until he retired from teaching in 2008.

He is married to Doreen Grattan and they have three children, Matthew, Mauryah and Genevieve. Presently, Mr. and Mrs. Gay own and operate a small oyster aquaculture business in Neguac, New Brunswick.

Présidents de l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick

L’hon. David (Danny) Gay

Donald David (Danny) Gay est né le 12 décembre 1950 à Chatham, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Il est le fils de Donald et Myrtle (Robichaud) Gay. Il a commencé ses études dans les écoles publiques de Neguac, au Nouveau-Brunswick, et a obtenu son diplôme de l’école St. Michael’s, à Alma, au Québec. Il détient un baccalauréat ès arts de St. Francis Xavier University, à Antigonish, en Nouvelle-Écosse, et un baccalauréat en éducation de la Mount Saint Vincent University, à Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse. Il a suivi des cours supplémentaires à l’Université d’Ottawa.

M. Gay jouit d’une vaste expérience de travail : ouvrier dans les mines d’or de Yellowknife, aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest ; officier dans les Forces armées canadiennes et animateur-formateur auprès des Autochtones au Collège communautaire du Nouveau-Brunswick. Il travaillait comme enseignant à la Harkins Junior High School, à Newcastle, avant de se lancer en politique.

Il a été élu pour la première fois à l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick le 13 octobre 1987. Libéral, il a été réélu le 23 septembre 1991 et le 11 septembre 1995 pour représenter la circonscription de Baie-de-Miramichi. À l’Assemblée législative, M. Gay a fait partie du Comité spécial d’élaboration de la politique sociale (qui a étudié l’intégration et la Loi sur les récipients à boisson), du Comité spécial sur l’utilisation des terres et l’environnement rural et de plusieurs comités permanents (comptes publics, corporations de la Couronne, prévisions budgétaires, projets de loi d’intérêt privé, procédure et modification des lois). Au cours de la 52e législature, il a été le whip du parti.

Le 25 octobre 1995, M. Gay a été élu président de la 53e législature du Nouveau-Brunswick. En tant que président, il a présidé le Comité permanent d’administration de l’Assemblée législative. Il a occupé le poste de président jusqu’en juillet 1997. À ce moment-là, il a été nommé au Cabinet en tant que ministre des Pêches et de l’Aquaculture par le premier ministre de l’époque, Frank McKenna. M. Gay a occupé la charge jusqu’aux élections de 1999. Il y a été battu et s’est retiré de la politique provinciale.

M. Gay a repris l’enseignement en septembre 2001 pour le Algonquin and Lakeshore Catholic School District, à Kingston, en Ontario. En plus d’enseigner à Kingston pendant 2 ans, il a enseigné en Chine pendant plusieurs années avant de prendre sa retraite en 2008.

Il est marié à Doreen Grattan, et le couple a trois enfants : Matthew, Mauryah et Genevieve. Actuellement, M. et Mme Gay sont propriétaires et gestionnaires d’une petite entreprise d’aquaculture à Neguac, au Nouveau-Brunswick.

Source : Nouveau-Brunswick. Assemblée législative. Bureau du greffier. Orateurs de l’Assemblée législative : Province du Nouveau-Brunswick : 1786-1985, Fredericton, 1985.